We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hiking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mombacho Volcano

Mombacho Volcano
Mombacho Volcano Natural Reserve, Granada, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$140*
and up
Ranked #4 of 17 Attractions in Granada
Type: Volcanos, Outdoors
Attraction details
Bridgeport
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The transportation up in the truck can be bumpy and you usually have to wait . You will also need to get a guide (they won't let you go through alone). As soon as our hike started , so did the rain! Thank goodness someone in our group had a water proof bag for our cameras. The hike itself can be strenuous at a few points but worth every drop of sweat! Just don't expect to see smoldering craters- as the walk is mostly forest and clouds.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    118
    29
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting but could be cloudy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

To be sure, the crater and fumaroles are cool- but when my friend and I were there the longer hike was closed, so we walked about 1.5k. The volcano crater was neat, and very cool to see the steaming fumaroles - but views were largely obstructed by the cloud forest. Given the logistics of getting to the volcano and cost involved I would aim to go when you can see that it's not cloudy. Bring a layer even if its very hot in granada.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mix of Adrenaline and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This tour was so much fun! The guides very focused and safety a no. 1 issue! Price was great (28.00 US dollars) considering we had 3 guides for ourselves and no extra fees for pictures etc. (they had a guide take your camera and film you as you go)---Lots of fun and definetly worth the money!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing crater but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The ride up was fun, in a 4WD truck, but was a bit of an indulgence at $16 a head. Still, we timed our trip a bit late, and walking up looked like a bad idea as the day wore on. At the top, we we're told that to walk the longest trail you had to pay another $17 mandatory fee for a guide. Cheeky. So we went ambling around the rest of the crater area and had a great view and saw our first fumaroles (volcano farts!). Despite the cost, they have not been investing much in upkeep, and I hope that they do, as paths are getting quite eroded, and the tree filled main crater really is stunning.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Shakedown”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Sure, it's cool, there's a nice, short hike through the jungle, and good views of the lake, volcano, other volcanoes, Granada. But it's not 'Jesus-Christ-slap-me-in-the-face-that-was-amazing'. My big gripe is that they charge you a $16 entrance fee (which includes mandatory truck transport up a steep road), and then when you get to the top they hit you up again to pay for a mandatory hiking guide. First they said there were a maximum of 5 hikers per guide at $17 per group, and we talked this down to $2 apiece for 10 hikers with one guide for a 90 minute tour. The main trail (Puma Trail), which is the star attraction of the Reserve, is currently closed to entry. So you end up paying for a guided hour and a half hike on top of the exorbitant entrance fee. Of course, this isn't a ton of money, but this isn't exactly an all-day activity, and this is a country where most things don't cost a whole lot. There are a lot more impressive places in Central America at a better value. I think they're really milking the hell out of this one.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mombacho Volcano also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Mombacho Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mombacho Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.