We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hiking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mombacho Volcano

Mombacho Volcano
Granada, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Visit Mombacho Volcano like an insider
Top Rated
$140*
and up
Mombacho Volcano Nature Reserve Hiking and...
Ranked #4 of 39 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bridgeport
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The transportation up in the truck can be bumpy and you usually have to wait . You will also need to get a guide (they won't let you go through alone). As soon as our hike started , so did the rain! Thank goodness someone in our group had a water proof bag for our cameras. The hike itself can be strenuous at a few points but worth every drop of sweat! Just don't expect to see smoldering craters- as the walk is mostly forest and clouds.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    161
    39
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The natural reserve is 1250 m above the sea level. I have been there several times since I was a child because my father used to work in their telecom towers.

In the past 20 years, it has evolved to become, what I would call, the nicest Volcano Reserve of the country. You can get to the top either by riding their big truck, which leaves between one and three times a day, or by driving your own 4x4 (if you have experience).

They have three types of hikes, an easy, a medium and a hard one. The last two must be accompanied by a guide.

The weather is usually very nice, cloudy, there is breeze that just relaxes you. You can breathe fresh and unpolluted air for as long as you are wondering around the reserve. The flora and fauna of the reserve are also amazing. You can see a lot of butterflies and exotic flowers such as orchids.

As a local and a tourist who loves travelling around the world, I can tell you that this is one of the places you must visit if you come to this country.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Puma Trial on Mombacho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

There are different walks to do once you are on Mombacho. We did the Puma trial. It is quite a hard walk especially as it can be quite slippery under foot and very steep in places. Well worth the effort though. We also had lunch at the coffee plantation but you could skip that bit and not miss much!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Eerie and Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We went on the short hike during the dry season. It was very foggy and views weren't that great. This created a very cool and creepy feeling in the woods. This place is mysterious and beautiful. I highly recommend visiting it. Even though it was cloudy, the clouds parted for a few minutes to give us a view of the city and the Isletas.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting but could be cloudy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

To be sure, the crater and fumaroles are cool- but when my friend and I were there the longer hike was closed, so we walked about 1.5k. The volcano crater was neat, and very cool to see the steaming fumaroles - but views were largely obstructed by the cloud forest. Given the logistics of getting to the volcano and cost involved I would aim to go when you can see that it's not cloudy. Bring a layer even if its very hot in granada.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mombacho Volcano also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Mombacho Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mombacho Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.