We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix of Adrenaline and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mombacho Volcano

Mombacho Volcano
Granada, Nicaragua
2248-8234
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$140*
and up
Mombacho Volcano Nature Reserve Hiking and...
Ranked #5 of 44 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mix of Adrenaline and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This tour was so much fun! The guides very focused and safety a no. 1 issue! Price was great (28.00 US dollars) considering we had 3 guides for ourselves and no extra fees for pictures etc. (they had a guide take your camera and film you as you go)---Lots of fun and definetly worth the money!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    170
    44
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing crater but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The ride up was fun, in a 4WD truck, but was a bit of an indulgence at $16 a head. Still, we timed our trip a bit late, and walking up looked like a bad idea as the day wore on. At the top, we we're told that to walk the longest trail you had to pay another $17 mandatory fee for a guide. Cheeky. So we went ambling around the rest of the crater area and had a great view and saw our first fumaroles (volcano farts!). Despite the cost, they have not been investing much in upkeep, and I hope that they do, as paths are getting quite eroded, and the tree filled main crater really is stunning.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznań
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was one of our best days out in Nicaragua.
Beautiful scenery, wild flowers and a great hiking trail El Puma.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mouth of Hell?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Well, if this is hell...it is a place well worth visiting. We went during Holy Week and could not do the night time tour that includes bats and cave hiking because it was closed due to the busy week ... that is something I may just have to return to Nicaragua to do! Katia at Nicaragua Adventures and their wonderful guide Ramon made this a day to remember. Only downside...hell indeed involves a little sneezing from breathing in the sulfur!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shakedown”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Sure, it's cool, there's a nice, short hike through the jungle, and good views of the lake, volcano, other volcanoes, Granada. But it's not 'Jesus-Christ-slap-me-in-the-face-that-was-amazing'. My big gripe is that they charge you a $16 entrance fee (which includes mandatory truck transport up a steep road), and then when you get to the top they hit you up again to pay for a mandatory hiking guide. First they said there were a maximum of 5 hikers per guide at $17 per group, and we talked this down to $2 apiece for 10 hikers with one guide for a 90 minute tour. The main trail (Puma Trail), which is the star attraction of the Reserve, is currently closed to entry. So you end up paying for a guided hour and a half hike on top of the exorbitant entrance fee. Of course, this isn't a ton of money, but this isn't exactly an all-day activity, and this is a country where most things don't cost a whole lot. There are a lot more impressive places in Central America at a better value. I think they're really milking the hell out of this one.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mombacho Volcano also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Mombacho Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mombacho Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.