We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing crater but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mombacho Volcano

Mombacho Volcano
Mombacho Volcano Natural Reserve, Granada, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Attractions in Granada
Type: Volcanos
Attraction Details
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing crater but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The ride up was fun, in a 4WD truck, but was a bit of an indulgence at $16 a head. Still, we timed our trip a bit late, and walking up looked like a bad idea as the day wore on. At the top, we we're told that to walk the longest trail you had to pay another $17 mandatory fee for a guide. Cheeky. So we went ambling around the rest of the crater area and had a great view and saw our first fumaroles (volcano farts!). Despite the cost, they have not been investing much in upkeep, and I hope that they do, as paths are getting quite eroded, and the tree filled main crater really is stunning.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    113
    29
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Shakedown”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Sure, it's cool, there's a nice, short hike through the jungle, and good views of the lake, volcano, other volcanoes, Granada. But it's not 'Jesus-Christ-slap-me-in-the-face-that-was-amazing'. My big gripe is that they charge you a $16 entrance fee (which includes mandatory truck transport up a steep road), and then when you get to the top they hit you up again to pay for a mandatory hiking guide. First they said there were a maximum of 5 hikers per guide at $17 per group, and we talked this down to $2 apiece for 10 hikers with one guide for a 90 minute tour. The main trail (Puma Trail), which is the star attraction of the Reserve, is currently closed to entry. So you end up paying for a guided hour and a half hike on top of the exorbitant entrance fee. Of course, this isn't a ton of money, but this isn't exactly an all-day activity, and this is a country where most things don't cost a whole lot. There are a lot more impressive places in Central America at a better value. I think they're really milking the hell out of this one.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Walking on cloud 9”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A lovely tour at the top of an active volcano, where at 1150m above seawater, you are up among the clouds. It is quite cool and windy up there, so a pullover would not go amiss. Walk through damp rainforest and then out into open mountainside littered with field orchids and pock marked with vents, which range from mildly warm to scalding hot and sulphurous. From here you can get fantastic views of Granada, the volcanic islets of Granada, the Apoyo lagoon (a crater lake) and the smoking Masaya Volcano. Then down to the coffee plantation where you can have a light meal and a tour and finally back at the bottom where you can do the zip lining and canopy walk. Zip lining was awesome, though for the faint-of-heart you may want to stay away from the superman and upside down flights.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diriamba, Nicaragua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“nice but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

It's a nice place to see but one of the most expensive attractions in Nicaragua. We came there (after a phone call) and their bus to go up has already been full. So, be aware. I personally thinks when they ask for so much money they should offer more transportation up there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfully cool temperatures after blistering Granada heat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Although we had made a reservation for an English speaking guide with the intent of doing the 2.5 hour tour around two craters, something was amiss and no guide was available. So instead of paying for a guide who would not be understood, we wandered the crater path on our own, at leisure, taking in the fumaroles and natural beauty of the volcano.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mombacho Volcano also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Mombacho Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mombacho Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.