We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shakedown” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mombacho Volcano

Mombacho Volcano
Granada, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$140*
and up
Mombacho Volcano Nature Reserve Hiking and...
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Granada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Volcanos, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Shakedown”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Sure, it's cool, there's a nice, short hike through the jungle, and good views of the lake, volcano, other volcanoes, Granada. But it's not 'Jesus-Christ-slap-me-in-the-face-that-was-amazing'. My big gripe is that they charge you a $16 entrance fee (which includes mandatory truck transport up a steep road), and then when you get to the top they hit you up again to pay for a mandatory hiking guide. First they said there were a maximum of 5 hikers per guide at $17 per group, and we talked this down to $2 apiece for 10 hikers with one guide for a 90 minute tour. The main trail (Puma Trail), which is the star attraction of the Reserve, is currently closed to entry. So you end up paying for a guided hour and a half hike on top of the exorbitant entrance fee. Of course, this isn't a ton of money, but this isn't exactly an all-day activity, and this is a country where most things don't cost a whole lot. There are a lot more impressive places in Central America at a better value. I think they're really milking the hell out of this one.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    153
    35
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Walking on cloud 9”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A lovely tour at the top of an active volcano, where at 1150m above seawater, you are up among the clouds. It is quite cool and windy up there, so a pullover would not go amiss. Walk through damp rainforest and then out into open mountainside littered with field orchids and pock marked with vents, which range from mildly warm to scalding hot and sulphurous. From here you can get fantastic views of Granada, the volcanic islets of Granada, the Apoyo lagoon (a crater lake) and the smoking Masaya Volcano. Then down to the coffee plantation where you can have a light meal and a tour and finally back at the bottom where you can do the zip lining and canopy walk. Zip lining was awesome, though for the faint-of-heart you may want to stay away from the superman and upside down flights.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diriamba, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

It's a nice place to see but one of the most expensive attractions in Nicaragua. We came there (after a phone call) and their bus to go up has already been full. So, be aware. I personally thinks when they ask for so much money they should offer more transportation up there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfully cool temperatures after blistering Granada heat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Although we had made a reservation for an English speaking guide with the intent of doing the 2.5 hour tour around two craters, something was amiss and no guide was available. So instead of paying for a guide who would not be understood, we wandered the crater path on our own, at leisure, taking in the fumaroles and natural beauty of the volcano.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the crater rim trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The crater rim trail of Mambacho was very enmjoyable. One can see a few steaming lava vents, beautiful views of Granada, lake Nicaragua and the surrounding area and best of all views of the steep crater itself. The hike takes around 90 minutes. Though it has many steps it is not otherwise challenging.
We went with the tour company Favio's Express. The car and driver were excellent and I highly recommend this company.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mombacho Volcano also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Mombacho Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mombacho Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.