We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mombacho Volcano

Mombacho Volcano
Granada, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Visit Mombacho Volcano like an insider
Top Rated
$140*
and up
Mombacho Volcano Nature Reserve Hiking and...
Ranked #4 of 39 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Diriamba, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

It's a nice place to see but one of the most expensive attractions in Nicaragua. We came there (after a phone call) and their bus to go up has already been full. So, be aware. I personally thinks when they ask for so much money they should offer more transportation up there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    162
    39
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfully cool temperatures after blistering Granada heat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Although we had made a reservation for an English speaking guide with the intent of doing the 2.5 hour tour around two craters, something was amiss and no guide was available. So instead of paying for a guide who would not be understood, we wandered the crater path on our own, at leisure, taking in the fumaroles and natural beauty of the volcano.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the crater rim trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The crater rim trail of Mambacho was very enmjoyable. One can see a few steaming lava vents, beautiful views of Granada, lake Nicaragua and the surrounding area and best of all views of the steep crater itself. The hike takes around 90 minutes. Though it has many steps it is not otherwise challenging.
We went with the tour company Favio's Express. The car and driver were excellent and I highly recommend this company.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Steep price... but it's a steep road up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I hike a good bit so was a little on the fence about my groups decision to pay $16 to take the ride up the volcano. But despite it being dry season, the cobblestone road up was still slick and kindof mossy due to the cloud forest. In the end I was really grateful not to be fighting my way up and sliding down - just able to enjoy hiking at the top! We had great views and a really fun guide to point out all the flora and fauna.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice walk around the crater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Went all the way up with our own car. Make sure it is a 4wd car as the road gets very very steep. The trails are good and they take around 1 hour (except el puma trail which goes up up to 4 hours)., not extremely challenging (except for the humidity) which allows to enjoy the landscape and the vegetation around. Do not miss the fumarolas!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mombacho Volcano also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Mombacho Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mombacho Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.