We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views and great hiking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mombacho Volcano

Mombacho Volcano
Granada, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Visit Mombacho Volcano like an insider
Top Rated
$140*
and up
Mombacho Volcano Nature Reserve Hiking and...
Ranked #4 of 39 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views and great hiking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

A really fun experience, from the huge truck that transports people to the top of the mountain, to the views and the hiking, it is really wonderful. Takes about 1 1/2 hours to hike the rim. Quite windy and chilly at that altitude and we were glad for long pants and long sleeved shirts. We had a good lunch in their restaurant at the end of our hike.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    162
    39
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My second visit to Mombacho. A fascinating and unique ecosystem, awesome views down over the isletas and a chance to eer down into the steaming fumaroles. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Can't See Much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

It's exciting to peer over the edge of a live crater, but all we saw was steam. Arenal's fireworks in Costa Rica and crater flyovers in Hawaii provide better volcano experiences.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Toured with Tierra Tours and this was a portion of the trip which included the Masaya Market and a ceramic pottery demonstration. Was fun, informative and interesting.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neckarsulm, Germany
2 reviews
“coffee plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited the production of coffee. The guide Eric was very kind. He has always a response to our questions.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mombacho Volcano also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Mombacho Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mombacho Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.