We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Mombacho Volcano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mombacho Volcano

Mombacho Volcano
Mombacho Volcano Natural Reserve, Granada, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 attractions in Granada
Type: Volcanos
Attraction Details
Boston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Visiting Mombacho Volcano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Mombacho is very nice and the views are great, but I prefer Volcano Masaya. My husband and I hired Ramone from No Rush Tours and he was so wonderful. He picked us up at our hotel and drove us in an air conditioned vehicle to the Volcanos. He was informative and a great guide.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    107
    29
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oshawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

a lot was blocked off for safety concerns but it was still interesting
The view was excellent when the mist cleared.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Crazy cool...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went at sunset and got to stand at the edge of a volcanic crater and watch the sun go down, then go explore bat caves at night . Watch what shoes you wear...guano is all in those caves

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Exciting Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nicaragua was a highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. This region is an up-and-coming tourist destination and the people are working hard to promote the best of what Nicaragua offers. The Mombacho Volcano Natural Reserve is magnificent. No matter how many volcanoes I visit I will always be filled with awe. The posted signs require that cars are parked for a speedy exit and serve as a reminder of Mother Nature's power.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Splendid setting and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A great nature experience because of the view of Lake Nicaragua and the surroundings, the diversity of the rain forest, the volcano's crater. The trip too the top on an old truck is part of the experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mombacho Volcano also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Mombacho Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mombacho Volcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mombacho Volcano to your Saves list