We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granada

Save Saved
You added Hotel Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Granada
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle La Calzada | A tan sólo 300 Mts. De la catedral hacia el lago, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 35 hotels in Granada
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“Good Hotel, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the third time in this year and we found it to be great, comparing with the other places in Nicaragua. The shower needs an improvement as well as an access to Internet was only intermittent, but overall, we would recommend it. We have been there in a high season as well as in October and found it functioning quite efficiently and the pool is itself worth a trip! The service was excellent by all the staff and the food was as good as expected. Would stay there again - we are planning to get back in February..

Room Tip: if you can get a room on the second floor, it is much bigger and newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    47
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
36
58
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero, Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed four nights at this property. I thought that the location would be better (more central). The shower was the worst that I have used in years. At the very least the staff was kind and profecional with us. I would not reconmend this hotel you anyone. If the shower would have worked properly and had hot water, may stay would have been better.

Room Tip: I don't think there is any room with a proper working shower, it you do not mind being dirty and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and we love it! Our room was on the bottom floor facing the courtyard. The room itself was beautiful; it was air conditioned,loved the hardwood floors, nice bathroom, free wifi. The service was excellent; everyone from the receptionists to the restaurant staff to the cleaning staff were very attentative to the guest's needs.

The pool was awesome. So great that we wasted an entire day hanging out at the pool. Poolside drinks are cheap, a great way to spend an afternoon (or all day if you have time). The only thing I didn't particularly like is that the hotel allows non-hotel guests access to the pool, so it got a bit busy with kids at times but other than that, it was fine.

The hotel is located a tthe end of the calzada, its close to the lake and the restaurants and shops. The hotel restaurant was good but we mostly ate in town (the burger at Hotel Dario was our favorite).

We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area; highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Overall, the hotel was great. Lovely old colonial style with newly redone rooms. Obviously new bedding, furniture, etc...but nice that they kept to the old style. Pool was lovely, but oo many kids during the day! Location was great...slightly out of the loud hustle and bustle of the busy section but still within easy walking distance. Unfortunate was that while it was a huge room and bathroom, the back view was of a roof of another part of the hotel and the front was of a construction area and road. Also, the ceiling in the shower looked as if it hadn't been swept out in weeks...spiders and dust webs abound, and the towels were not only limited in number but need to be upgraded. Overall, a great room and hotel with good value, especially for the size of the room, but needs a tad more attention to detail in the bathroom/shower specifically.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Nice room, beautiful grounds, and a lovely breakfast buffet, The bad: no hot water in our bath. Management did not offer to move us nor any credit for the inconvenience. And the pool is lovely but with all of the locals using it, not so relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, El Salvador
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a good hotel for rest during the weekend, the location is perfect as local attractions are very close. It has been renewed since our last visit two years ago. Colonial style is great, clean pool area. Breakfast was very good, it has inproved over the last two years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingelom, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a nice hotel in colonial style close to the center of Granada. There are also a lot of restaurants nearby.
The rooms where a bit dark.
The swimming pool was big and clean.
Breakfast was very nice.
They also have free internet on a computer in the main hall.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granada

Address: Calle La Calzada | A tan sólo 300 Mts. De la catedral hacia el lago, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granada 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.