We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Granada to your Saves list
Hotel Granada
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle La Calzada | A tan sólo 300 Mts. De la catedral hacia el lago, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Granada
san jose, costa rica
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Everything about our stay was fantastic!
The service we received from Winston and the rest of the staff was excellent. They made every effort to be helpful and ensure we were well taken care of, even when outside of the hotel.
The location is great. Close enough to the nightlife to walk wherever you want to go without the noise when you are trying to sleep.
The restaurant in the hotel was great. Not a huge selection, but what they have is very well prepared.
The pool and tiki-bar were awesome. Huge pool and plenty of staff on hand.
The rooms are on the smaller side but nicely decorated and with all the standard amenenities.
The hotel is huge considering the small number of rooms but the decor and feeling of the hotel fits the colonial feeling of the town of Granada.

Room Tip: The colonial king rooms are well worth the few extra dollars they cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    56
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
39
63
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I travel to Granada for business, I really like this place and it is my second stay here. It has a huge swimming pool which is a salt water pool which I prefer, the property is very large, and it has several restaurants and sometimes it feels endless..the pool in fact is a bit of a walk..but all in all it is very clean and the staff goes out of its way to help, i have to commend Alejandra for being very helpful and she and other staff members speak excellent English. It is located across the street from the cathedral and it is the end of the walking street where there are excellent bars and restaurants. Granada is a great city and this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room with two beds first time but the next time i had a room with a king which i preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed with my wife for our 12th anniversary. I had been to Nicaragua previously and I wanted to ease her into to Nicaragua and this is the perfect place with 1st world amenities. We arrived late on the red-eye into Managua and got a car service to take us directly the Hotel Granada. The staff was alert and polite to check us in even at 3:00AM. The room was beautiful, clean, quite, and comfortable. We awoke refreshed and breakfast was included in our rate and it was fantastic each day. The pool area is spectactular and huge and when you walk around the property you realize it is a sizable resort. If you have any photography skills you will love the sights within and right outside the hotel. The location is great and the closest hotel to the lake and away from the hustle and loudness of the square, which we appreciated being from Miami. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing time in Granada.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A., California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This hotel is what we say in the business, a "classic". From the reservations dept, Alexandra Castillo was outstanding. She arranged a car service from Managua that was punctual, friendly, and the driver was very careful. The hotel staff is one of the best I've encountered, from the Front Desk: America, Carlos, Gema and Fernando. From the restaurant: both Rauls were attentive but I have to give special thanks to Don Tito who always had my glass of wine ready for me. The chef Gustavo cooked a terrific chicken soup at 10:00 pm when the restaurant was officially closed. (I eat very late)This was a special act of kindness. After one week I felt I had a new family. The suite itself was spacious, clean and well designed. The pool is the best in Granada and a perfect place to read. Now I look forward to returning next year.

Alex C

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights, after moving from a very noisy hotel up the Calle. Our main draw was the quiet location and huge pool. We were not disappointed. The room was well appointed, although fairly small. The pillow top bed was very welcome. We did find the room to be very dark, even with the pot lights on (too dark to read) - some extra lamps would be a welcome addition. The buffet breakfast, included with the room rate, was well done with a selection of fresh fruits, cheese and cold cuts, pastries and eggs made to order. We were surprised that drinking water was not provided, either in large coolers in the hallway or in the rooms - it was inconvenient when we ran out of water whilst brushing our teeth at night. The location is very handy - right at the lake end of Calle de Calzada, but far enough away from the action to be quiet for sleeping at night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Gema, America, and Fernando at the front desk were charming and helpful, ensuring that our stay was comfortable and rememberable. The rooms are clean and very nice, by any standards and the pool is a 10. Helping us find a great deal on a tour, allowing us a very late check out and being very good with a blender are only some of the ways they helped us enjoy our stay!

Thanks we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have stayed here on previous trips to Granada and stayed there for about 3 weeks on my most recent trip in October/November 2011. The rooms are decent and the staff is friendly and better than average for Central America. The food is better than average also. It's a little more pricey than most hotels, but worth the extra cost if only staying a few days.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granada

Address: Calle La Calzada | A tan sólo 300 Mts. De la catedral hacia el lago, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.