We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-end but reasonably priced hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dario

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dario to your Saves list
Hotel Dario
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle La Calzada | De la Catedral 1 1/2 cuadra al lago, Granada 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Williams Lake
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“High-end but reasonably priced hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just a couple of minutes walk from Parque Central sits this upscale hotel, right on the street where all the restaurants with outdoor seating are located.

Pricing is consummate with a hotel of such calibre but we lucked out with a special they were offerering at the time; which made it a relative bargain.

Very large and modern rooms with tasteful decor and meticulous upkeep. The pool and courtyard peaceful oasis to hang out in between walks and excursions.

The attached restaurant is fine dining. Small and intimate with excellent food and decent service.

Room Tip: If one bed is fine, ask for a room with a "king" instead of 2 "doubles" as that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    58
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
37
72
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

20 of us had cycled for charity through Panama, Costa Rica and Nicaragua, finishing in Granada. 13 of us decided at short notice to eat at the Dario. The head waiter was very accommodating, setting up tables for us in the courtyard and he looked after us extremely well. The food was really good, lots of it and great value. A truly memorable evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Nicaragua
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good menu with great fish dishes...cooked a bit more Spanish style than the typical Granada fish dish.

Great service, even when busy and a very nice atmosphere.

Both lunch and dinner are worth a trip ...especially when you get tired of the typical Calzada meals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have been here and staying at the Hotel Dario. It is on La Calzada very very good location close to everything. the hotel staff are wonderful, bilingual and very helpful. The breakfasts are the best I have in this country. The rooms impecable with reliable wifi, hot water, air conditioning. A beautiful courtyard, great pool, fantastic terrace outside in front on w walking street and very very good security. I was staying on the second floor which required climbing a number of stairs, unfortunatly I had a scooter accident that left me with a Nica Tattoo, they immediatly offered me a room on the ground floor even helped me pack and move my bags. This has been a truly great experiance! I travel alot been to over 40 countries and I can not say enough about the Hotel Dario.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Dario based on a recommendation from a Nicaraguan friend, even though it wasn't listed in the Lonely Planet guide. Well, my friend was right, this place is a gem. In a country where it is still difficult to find a decent hotel outside of the capital, Hotel Dario is a refreshing exception. The building is a beautifully restored 19th century Spanish colonial building, where the rooms border a courtyard garden with the classical center fountain. The rooms have all been recently renovated and are adorned in beautiful tropical woods. The hotel has Wi-fi, a small gym and pool, restaurant and European style cafe with the marble top round tables and ceramic black and white tile floor. The location is also perfect as it sits on Granada's pedestrian mall alongside lots of restaurants and bars. The staff were all friendly and helpful in arranging a tour of the little islands in the nearby lake. I am sorry that our itinerary did not allow us more time to stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back and away from the busy pedestrian mall will be far quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I have been traveling around and were recently and were in Granada. We wanted to stay on the main street and found a good rate for this hotel on the internet. Dispite some of the previous reviews regarding guests from the USA, we decided to give it a go. The problems started at the front desk; as soon as we gave them our USA passports for registration, the clerk started giving us a "look" and it proceeded to get worst when we requested a room with only one bed. All of the sudden their use of the English disapeared. After a long few minutes we got to our room which smelled of smoke, a bit dated and the matress was horrendous. We requested another room but were told this was only one left. Since we had already pre-paid for the room we were stuck at this hotel. Under normal circumstances we would have just left.

The problems continued with I guess their local "bouncer" who maked crude remarkes everytime we left the hotel and returned. The morning breakfast wasn't anything special and again the "look" and quite poor service was provided to only our table.

I know that we were treated in such a manner because we from the USA and lesbian.

I would strongly recommended staying far away for Hotel Dario.

Room Tip: Stay away form this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good rooms, decent pool. Above average restaurant, EXCELLENT location right on "La Calzada". Hotel Colonial (about the same price range) has better roomsand 2 pools but location for Dario can't be beat... I would definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dario

Address: Calle La Calzada | De la Catedral 1 1/2 cuadra al lago, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dario 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL DARIO is UNIQUE FIVE STAR HOTEL IN GRANADA situated in the historical center of Granada, on the famous La Calzada Street, and only 100 meters away from the central park, Hotel Dario is an elegant neoclassic building from the 19th century. The hotel offers guests a tranquil and private environment, we are a gay friendly. The grounds include beautiful gardens, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, gym and business center. For dining on the premises, guests can choose from the El Tranvia Restaurant or from the Chocolate Coffee Shop. El Tranvia Restaurant is a small but charming dining room located within the main hall of Hotel Dario. The restaurant has been refurbished but remains true to the style of the colonial mansion. The specialties of the restaurant, where food is served with four to seven pieces of cutlery, include meats, seafood, international gourmet food and authentic Nicaraguan dishes. Beyond the elegant cuisine, guests can also expect a variety of wines (including local, Spanish and Chilean offerings), as well as professional and attentive service. The Chocolate Coffee Shop is the in-house cafe at Hotel Dario. Visitors to the shop can enjoy the best coffee in the city of Granada, as well as a variety of other exotic drinks containing coffee and chocolate. Fresh fruit juices, smoothies, milkshakes, cocktails, and a wide selection of the best national and international beverages are also offered at the Chocolate Coffee Shop, in addition to casual bites including sandwiches, snacks, salads, light meals, and fine deserts. All our rooms have A/C, International TV-cable, direct access tel., Private bathroom, safe deposit box and hair dryer. We also offer our "Tranvia" restaurant with International Gourmet Cuisine and our coffee shop "Chocolate" with fine pastries. The facilities include our swimming pool - jacuzzi, gym, internet + (WIFI), laundry & room service, concierge and 24hrs. Reception + security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dario Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.