We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concerned Concierge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Colon to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Colon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Concerned Concierge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

One of the great assets of Hotel Plaza Colon is it's concierge, Virginia, who is in charge of guest relations. Virginia helped plan the whole vacation and Hotel Plaza Colon is a world class hotel and a highlight of the trip. Excellent buffet breakfast, efficient and professional staff and room 204 overlooking the plaza gives you an action view of the sights and sounds of the Nicaraguan people.

Room Tip: We liked the room with a balcony facing the plaza but naturally they are more noisy. The room number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    85
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
135
253
40
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We rented 4 rooms on a family vacation and everyone not only liked the rooms but the breakfasts were great. The staff were very attentive to all of our needs. The location in the center of Granada cannot be beat. We will stay there again on our next trip to Grenada.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've stayed in plenty of hotels, but the cleanliness of this one amazed me. The workers were constantly cleaning, even caring for the plants and winding the vine up the post. The breakfast was fresh and delicious with a wonderful buffet.

I'm so glad the Hotel Plaza Colon is the one we chose.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room with 2 queen beds, although I thought they looked like kings. The room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UP NORTH
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We enjoyed our three night stay here - it is an old colonial building facing the main square and Cathedral and as such is well placed for everything in the beautiful town of Granada. Inside, there is a small but very attractive swimming pool at the centre of a lovely courtyard - a real oasis of calm bringing relief from the hustle and bustle of the town. The excellent breakfasts are served here. There is no restaurant, but there is a coffee shop serving cakes which is physically part of the hotel, though not owned by it.
Our room was large and comfortable, overlooking a side street just off the square, but unfortunately the balcony was not accessible as it needed repair.
There were a couple of 'niggles' which led to us taking off one star - on one of the days our rooms were not cleaned until very late afternoon; and in the evening (about 9.00 pm) it was not possible to get a cup of coffee i.e. coffe is simply not available - we were just advised to go to a cafe across the square. However, it was a very good place to stay overall - the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
One of the issues which some other reviews have mentioned is street noise in some rooms - we are very sensitive to this when travelling but we did not find it a problem - you have to bear in mind that if you stay in the centre of a town, on the main square, there will undoubtedly be some noise, but actually it was surprisingly quiet between about 11.00pm and around 6.00 am and was never particularly bad, despite our stay coinciding with the final night of a festival.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICGranada, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for such a detailed review of our property! I am very glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and service.

I appreciate your feedback about the 'niggles' you experienced on your stay. In general, housekeeping services the rooms between 9AM and 2PM; by your comment, I understand your room might have been cleaned on the latter end of that period. I am very sorry if this presented an inconvenience for you and your wife, I wish you had let us know your discontent while still on the premises, as we would have found a way to make it up to you (even though the cleaning schedule is disclosed in the information booklet in the room, we strive to make our guests happy).

I hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the future, if we do, we will make sure that those 'niggles' are gone and you leave satisfied. :)

Warm regards from La Gran Sultana,

Maria Isabel Canton
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in room 202, which as you look from the square, is in the left hand corner of the building.The large balcony is ideal for relaxing in the late afternoon, enjoying a cocktail, whilst sitting in a rocking chair, watching the people below in the square. Also fascinating to watch the gathering of hundreds of birds in the trees in the square, which happens at dusk each day - the noise is amazing!
All the staff are very helpful and everyone has a smile, particularly Carlos, who always seemed to be there at the appropriate time to offer whatever assistance you required.
The rooms are a good size and we had 2 Queen sized beds, good wardrobe space and a fridge. 2 complementary bottles of water were provided on arrival, but were not replenished during our stay.
The bathroom is small, but perfectly adequate and the shower works well
Breakfast, served by the pool is very good and we did enjoy a swim whilst we were there as well.
The only downside is that the birds make a great deal of noise at dawn as well as dusk and the banging of the Cathedral bell is a bit irritating at 7am, but it's worth it for the upsides.
Granada is a lovely city and we thoroughly recommend both the city and the Plaza Colon. If you are looking for an excellent guide, try Careli Tours and ask for Elvis Madrigal, who certainly made our time in Nicaragua a fantastic experience. He takes care of anything and everything you need, has a great sense of humour coupled with an in depth knowledge of his country and, like his namesake can sing and play the guitar as well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCity,SD
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our second time to Granada. We were able to book this room with credit card points. Very nice and luxurious hotel centrally located in Granada. It is walking distance to most everything. Very large and clean rooms with comfortable beds. The room had a safe and fridge. The hotel had a restaurant, bar and pool which we did not have time to use. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel if it fits your budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is charming and the staff there is great and could not be nicer. For a stay in Granada this hotel is highly recommended. We stayed over the holidays in two balcony rooms; however one of the balcony rooms they gave us was actually part of a 2 bedroom suite. The two bedroom suite consists of a large living area that leads to two smaller balcony rooms that share a very large balcony. As we did not book the suite or know the other couple in the room next door it was not ideal. We ended up sharing a balcony with strangers which can be a bit awkward when you are sitting out there at night or want to walk outside your bedroom in the morning. When booking a balcony room (which is recommended) I would ensure you specify that you do not want the balcony rooms from the suite (27 and 28). Also of note is that all rooms do not seem to have windows, but have doors with high windows within them. Room 25 appeared to be different in that it had these doors, but also glass doors that lead out to a very large balcony.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.