We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Colon to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Colon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in room 202, which as you look from the square, is in the left hand corner of the building.The large balcony is ideal for relaxing in the late afternoon, enjoying a cocktail, whilst sitting in a rocking chair, watching the people below in the square. Also fascinating to watch the gathering of hundreds of birds in the trees in the square, which happens at dusk each day - the noise is amazing!
All the staff are very helpful and everyone has a smile, particularly Carlos, who always seemed to be there at the appropriate time to offer whatever assistance you required.
The rooms are a good size and we had 2 Queen sized beds, good wardrobe space and a fridge. 2 complementary bottles of water were provided on arrival, but were not replenished during our stay.
The bathroom is small, but perfectly adequate and the shower works well
Breakfast, served by the pool is very good and we did enjoy a swim whilst we were there as well.
The only downside is that the birds make a great deal of noise at dawn as well as dusk and the banging of the Cathedral bell is a bit irritating at 7am, but it's worth it for the upsides.
Granada is a lovely city and we thoroughly recommend both the city and the Plaza Colon. If you are looking for an excellent guide, try Careli Tours and ask for Elvis Madrigal, who certainly made our time in Nicaragua a fantastic experience. He takes care of anything and everything you need, has a great sense of humour coupled with an in depth knowledge of his country and, like his namesake can sing and play the guitar as well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    86
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
135
253
40
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RapidCity,SD
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our second time to Granada. We were able to book this room with credit card points. Very nice and luxurious hotel centrally located in Granada. It is walking distance to most everything. Very large and clean rooms with comfortable beds. The room had a safe and fridge. The hotel had a restaurant, bar and pool which we did not have time to use. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel if it fits your budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is charming and the staff there is great and could not be nicer. For a stay in Granada this hotel is highly recommended. We stayed over the holidays in two balcony rooms; however one of the balcony rooms they gave us was actually part of a 2 bedroom suite. The two bedroom suite consists of a large living area that leads to two smaller balcony rooms that share a very large balcony. As we did not book the suite or know the other couple in the room next door it was not ideal. We ended up sharing a balcony with strangers which can be a bit awkward when you are sitting out there at night or want to walk outside your bedroom in the morning. When booking a balcony room (which is recommended) I would ensure you specify that you do not want the balcony rooms from the suite (27 and 28). Also of note is that all rooms do not seem to have windows, but have doors with high windows within them. Room 25 appeared to be different in that it had these doors, but also glass doors that lead out to a very large balcony.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

If you want to stay in the middle of everything in scenic Granada, then this is the place. I didn't notice any other nice hotels in such a perfect setting. It's right on the Central Park with all of the street vendors, and it's very close to Calle La Calzada which is the best place for outdoors dining under the stars. I really liked the inner courtyard of the hotel by the pool, and breakfast was good. The room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I loved this hotel! It is beautiful, the room was very spacious, very comfortable bed, soundproof room, the staff is excellent and so helpful and friendly. Perfect location across the street from the plaza and close walking distance to restaurants. The breakfast buffet is delicious. We loved sitting on the patio in the evening for cocktails and watching all of the plaza activity. We will be back! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Plaza Colon is the perfect place to stay in Granada. Right on the main square facing the cathedral. Lovely big rooms, smiling and attentive staff. Great breakfasts by the poolside. A nice coffee shop and pre-dinner drinks on the balcony overlooking all of the action in the main square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our favorite hotel on the Nicaraguan mainland! Why?

Location: The attached coffee shop porch is across the street from the horse carriage line-up and the bustling “town square” and provides lots to watch day or night. Plus, the hotel is walking distance to Grenada’s main attractions -- both colonial and contemporary.

Staff: All are astonishingly friendly and helpful, most speak some English, and everybody up front speaks excellent English.

Rooms: They are spotless, have high ceilings, atmospheric design, and an ambience of colonial “grand”. Beds are comfortable. There are no coffee pots in the rooms at check-in, but that wonderful staff will bring one if you ask.

Pool: It anchors the courtyard and is surrounded by lush landscaping and tall palms. There are plenty of chairs and towels. However, it is of medium size and many guests during our January visit found it cold.

Breakfast: It is a lush buffet complete with omelet chef and excellent table service.

All rooms, but no outdoor areas, are non-smoking.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.