We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Granada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Colon to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Colon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Granada
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best in Granada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Spent three nights at the hotel. perhaps the best thing about teh hotel is the terrific staff. We were a family of 26, ranging from 7 to 89 years and they could not have been more accommodating. Perfect location. Could not have been better. rooms very nice. breakfast included and good. would definitely return.

Room Tip: may be a little nosier on the square but then a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    104
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
157
293
45
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AUSTIN TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Following 3 nights at the most pleasant La Perla Hotel in Leon, my adult daughter and I just returned from 4 wonderful nights at Hotel Plaza Colon in Granada. Perhaps the most remarkable thing about the hotel is its delightful staff. EVERYONE - from front desk, to Virginia the concierge, to bellmen, waiters and camareras - was warm, genuinely welcoming, knowledgeable and exceedingly helpful. Hotel itself - a restored 150 year old hacienda - is incredibly beautiful and perfectly maintained. Beautiful lobby, breathtaking interior courtyard with manicured plants and softly running water, blue-tiled pool with lovely pure water. Delicious breakfast served on wooden tables close to the pool, and our favorite waiter Juan ever so kindly helped us (at our request) with writing and speaking spanish (the persons at front desk were totally patient and helpful in that regard as well). Our room (203) was large, lovely (with wood floors, doors, shutters and cabinetry) and ever so clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our generous balcony overlooking the central square and cathedral. During daylight and early evening hours, the plaza was lined with horse carts and filled with local vendors and families enjoying a bit of leisure. During masses at the cathedral - especially in the evening - lights and singing emanating from the church were almost magical. My only suggestions were for stronger WIFI (it works perfectly in the common areas but is sometimes spotty in the rooms) and that the hotel offer lunch and dinner as well as breakfast (we were told that additional meals may be offered within the year). I am already dreaming of returning for a second visit within the year. I offer my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies overlooking the plaza are on the second floor; ours was #203, and there are per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The location here is right on the plaza, which is right where you want to be. The architecture was beautiful colonial, which is what we were looking for. They do an excellent job setting you up with drivers, excursions, or whatever you want. Breakfast is REALLY nice! I would definitely choose this place again, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The balcony was great but often too hot to use it. The VERY noisy birds at 4:30 AM were not particularly enjoyable but they were most entertaining at night as the sun set. Service was impeccable everywhere in the hotel. Housekeeping was good but not great. The daily breakfasts were truly gourmet including their homemade granola with yogurt, and service here was stellar. The pool area is nice and comfortable, just perfect after a hot day around town.

Virginia, the concierge, was terrific: knowledgable, helpful, and fast. She arranged several drivers and trips for us, along with transport to/fr the airport.

El Bar is a great spot with great mojitos made with local rum. Good snacks in there too.

Overall, just a wonderful place to stay in Granada. Bring an umbrella as the clouds open up at any time.

Room Tip: if you cannot sleep with a lot of noise ask for a room off the Parque Central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks in Nicaragua yesterday and we ended our stay with 5 days at Plaza Colon in Granada! It is without a doubt the best hotel in town and you cannot beat the location! Spend the extra $10 a night and get a balcony room overlooking Central Park, great people watching and always on top of the action! The staff, food, drinks, room quality were all top notch! Make sure you go the bar and get your free welcome drink, the national drink of Nicaragua the Macua, it is fantastic!!!

The one thing they need to work on at this hotel is their assistance in planning day trips and things to do in town. Other than that it is a fantastic place that you should stay when in Granada!

Room Tip: Any balcony room overlooking Central Park. Noise is not a concern and you are always on top of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Centrally located beautiful hotel. Thread count to $ ratio can't be beat. Quiet, great service. Nice treat. Service is friendly and very helpful. Courtyard is beautiful. Price also includes welcome drink, filtered water fill-ups, and breakfast. Exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

In my opinion the Hotel Plaza Colon is the best hotel in Town. Looks beautiful from the outside and the same from the inside. Beautiful colonial hotel. The rooms are nice, not very big but everything worked perfect. The beds were good and we slept wonderful. The staff are nice and quite serviceminded. Some actually spoke English. The breakfast was nice and plenty. The hotel is located just in front of the Central park. You will have good value for your money in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Splendia so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.