We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my all time favorite places to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Patio del Malinche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Patio del Malinche to your Saves list
Hotel Patio del Malinche
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Piermont, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of my all time favorite places to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

I simply can't rave enough about the Patio del Malinche. The places is nearly perfect. It all begins with Lidia and Ramon. Not only did they make us feel welcome during our stay they were invaluable in helping us to make our entire trip to Nicaragua a great experience. If your seeking a secluded beach on the Laguna del Apoyo or a nice place to stay in the south, they have all the answers.

The hotel is an amzaing value. The rooms are comfortable but nothing extraordinary, and are on the small side. But it makes no difference. This hotel has so much wonderful public space you hardly find yourself in the room. While I'm not a big drinker, I couldn't help but end each nice with a Namuwake by the pool.

I LOVED this place.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    61
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
217
60
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Fl
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

This small beautiful hotel is a gem. The owners are on site 24/7 so the service is impeccable. We stayed for two nights and they were so helpful findind a restaurant or anything else you might need. They arranged for a driver to take us to Managua's airport. Their staff is well trained and very thoughtful and kind. The pool is really nice after a hot day in Granada.

  • Liked — The service, location
  • Disliked — rooms are a bit small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Patio del Malinche for two nights while in Nicaragua, as well as had them arrange our pick-up at the airport in Managua.

It was by far our favorite hotel we stayed in. It's beautifully re-done. Amazing court yards, convenient pool and bar. The rooms are small, but very comfortable and clean. You're not there to sit in your room anyway. It's a great location.

The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. The breakfast is delicious. We loved it so much here, we considered changing our travel plans to stay in Granada so we could come back to the hotel. We pushed on to Leon, but missed this place.

And gay friendly.

  • Liked — Loved everything!
  • Disliked — Small Rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

This is a great choice for a stay in Granada! The hotel is very welcoming and almost feels like home. Conveniently located only a few blocks from the Parque Central. The rooms are very simple and small (the only down side). There is basically room for the bed and a little walking space (no chair, desk, etc.), but they are clean and open up to the beautiful courtyard where you can sit on one of the rocking chairs, hammocks, etc. The owners and staff are very nice and helpful. It feels like everyone is part of the family. The courtyard areas are beautifully appointed and the breakfast is bountiful! It's a great deal for the price as well.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, R.I.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We are here for out second stay with Lidia and Ramon , the owners of this terrific hotel! The minute we arrive we feel like family. After staying here last year there was no question about where we would stay this time around. This is the only place for us!
The hotel is immaculate with wonderful service. The staff here does not turnover and it shows in every aspect. The garden, surrounded by a patio on which everyone enjoys the delicious breakfast (included in the room rate), is beautifully kept. The rooms are spotless! The rooms look onto a courtyard with a lovely pool and banana trees! Internet is available in the rooms but better in the courtyard or on the patio.
Lidia and Ramon always help us plan our itinerary once we arrive. They have never steered us wrong! They are able to answer any questions and provide us with any necessities we may have forgotten like an umbrella! The staff is wonderful and seems more like a family than a group of employees.
And let's not forget Pedro, everyone's favorite Nicaraguan dog!
For us there is no other place to stay while we are in Granada!

  • Liked — friendliness, ease, comfort and cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

In May 2008 we chose this accommodation for several days in Granada. Cost was $80 for a triple room.

This converted colonial house with courtyards had modern amenities such as AC, pool and even WiFi.

Breakfasts were fabulous (see photographs) with several choices including eggs, muesli, tropical (great fruit selection) and cereal. All accompanied by fresh juice and coffee.

Front desk staff helped with booking for great local tours, local guides and taxis as needed.

What stood out the most is that the staff at this hotel made you feel like family. They were always smiling, shared their music and experiences with us. We did not want to leave.

  • Liked — felt like home....always welcome
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

We stayed at Patio del Malinche for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. All the employees at PDM are extremely helpful and full of smiles and recommendations of places to see, and things to do. The rooms and environs are very clean, and the garden and pool meticulous. The owners Ramone and Lydia have done a beautiful restoration job of a classic colonial. Their attention to detail is evident in the Nicaraguan pottery and art scattered around the property, the relaxing hammock slung by the pool, and the delicious breakfast. We were heartened to see Ramone and Lydia eating breakfast with their staff in the mornings, and through 3rd party sources learnt that they donate to local charities regularly. We really miss PDM, and the cute black and white stray dog that they have adopted, and who's wagging tail is a fixture around the hotel!!

  • Liked — The staff, who were incredibly friendly and helpful
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Granada
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Patio del Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Patio del Malinche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.