We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Patio del Malinche

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Patio del Malinche
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Granada
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I recently visited this hotel and we loved it! The rooms are airy and very clean, the staff are professional, and the breakfast is delicious. It's a little expensive but worth every penny. We had a great time here. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    57
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
199
56
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichiriviche, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Patio Malinche is for me one of the best Hotels in Granada, I stayed two nights and can tell that they have wonderful and very helpful staff and owners. The hotel is in a very beatiful building has a nice pool and the rooms are nice with A/C which work very well. The presssure of the shower could be better. The breakfast ist very nice try the fruit plate with a 12 of different fruits. I will come back to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The whole team of the hotel is friendly and helpful. We started our 6 weeks travel in Nicaragua in this hotel and we were still contemplating on our itinerary when we arrived. Ramon and Lidia gave us the best tips and we left the hotel with a plan :-). We had a fantastic stay in Nicaragua. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel Patio del Malinche is a very good place to enjoy Granada feeling comfortable and warm. It's a very nice place where the owners and the staff take care of each detail. I felt like I was in home because of the friendly, helpful and quiet atmosphere. The rooms are very nice, in a rustic and simple style which makes you feel you have everything you need. There are also two quiet and nice courtyards to spend the afternoons relaxing and swimming in the pool.

Therefore, I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were visiting a friend in Granada . We always stay here as Ramon and Lidia give such a great welcome. The rooms are very comfortable. The hotel is very clean . It has a great atmosphere . The breakfast is good and we recommend the malinche cocktail.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Patio del Malinche is a superb place to stay in every aspect. There are the friendly, helpful Catalan owners who are happy to share with you their knowledge of Granada and its beautiful hinterland. By all means let them recommend restaurants and sights. They ensure you both a restful and exciting visit. The entire staff complements them with their smiles and efficiency.

The property itself is a gem, with a pretty garden, a pool to float in, a pleasant little bar, nooks to sit in to read, a comfortable bed to sleep in, WiFi, etc. All is very clean. The breakfast is outstanding. And, there is no street noise.

You are in the midst of all that Granada's safe historic district has to offer--much more than just fine eateries and beautiful colonial architecture. There is the vast lake and its lush tropical isles, cloud-forested volcanoes, one extinct with a swimmable crater lake, bucolic countryside, etc. best of all are the Nicaraguan people or "Nicas." Plan to fall in love with these kind folk.

Enough said. It is a no-brainer. When in Granada you must stay at Hotel Patio del Malinche. There is another added-plus. The very fair price.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The two-star review (below) is annoying and unkind. We stayed here a few days later, and found it so charming. It's a beautifully-renovated hacienda, so, of course, the rooms are not hotel huge. No need. And bugs? This is the season for small insects to come off the lake, so, be reasonable -- just shut your windows and put on your room a/c. The staff is remarkably friendly and helpful and many speak excellent English. It's also wonderful to have the owners, Ramon & Lida (originally from Barcelona) on the property in their office much of the time. My husband had a medical problem and Ramon called his own doctor to the hotel and Ramon insisted on going to the pharmacy himself for the medicine. That is outstanding service and pure simple kindness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Patio del Malinche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Patio del Malinche to your Saves list