We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Patio del Malinche

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Patio del Malinche
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Granada
Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were traveling with a large group and all stayed at the Hotel Malinche....it was a great experience. Check in and out were easy and quick, the rooms were very clean, the staff super helpful. The grounds were beautiful and so well kept. We loved the location off the square by about three blocks, but one block over from the restaurant row. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    57
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
199
56
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We were here on a family trip, got three rooms and were constantly impressed with the staff and service here. One night during the NBA Finals we wanted to order dinner in so the guy from the front desk called our order in to a local pizza place and went and picked it up for us! The staff was so awesome, the food was delicious, the pool was awesome. Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My 7 year old daughter, my husband and I stayed her while we were in Granada, and I have to say that Hotel Patio Del Malinche is one of the best places we have ever stayed!
The hotel staff was so friendly and always very helpful whenever we needed something or needed advice on places to go see or to find things to do. They always seemed to have smiles on their faces.
The rooms were very clean and the grounds were neatly manicured. There never seemed to be a thing out of place. You can tell that they take great pride in the work they do around there.
The hotel is centrally located, so it's an easy walk to Downtown Granada, the Cathedral, and Central Park. There are a number of excellent restaurants in this area, so you can try something new every day.
Breakfast is included in the price of the room and is also very delicious. It is however the only meal they serve, but the bar stays open, and there is someone there to refill your water bottle when needed.
I do hope to travel back to Nicaragua someday, and if we stop in Granada, I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor, as the view of the volcano is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This beautiful hotel is definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed. The people actually seemed happy to be working here. Always smiling and helpful. It started with the hotel sending a driver to Managua airport to pick us up. He was there when we got through customs, holding a sign with our name on it. His car was comfortable and thankfully air-conditioned and he was courteous and helpful. When we got to the hotel, the staff helped us to our beautiful room (#17) with a patio, with rockers and a view of Mombacho Volcano. The room was immaculate, comfortable and had a ceiling fan and air-conditioning. The hotel grounds are kept beautifully groomed with a variety of flowering plants and a gorgeous in ground swimming pool. Breakfast choices were all delicious and very filling. We had a chance to sample them all since we stayed a week. then a few days after we left, we cut our trip to San Juan Del Sur short and returned to the Hotel Patio Del Malinche. It was like coming home! The staff was very helpful and accommodating. If there was anything we needed, they were more than willing to accommodate our requests with a smile. All of the staff were very friendly, smiling and greeting us and making us feel at home. We loved this place and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 17 is best view and perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I rarely give my highest ranking to a hotel, but Patio del Malinche deserves a 1+ in my opinion.
The rooms are very clean, the grounds are perfectly maintained, the included breakfast was delicious, and the staff is perhaps the most accommodating of any hotel we've stayed at. The hotel is what I would describe as "Granada Colonial" and perfect in that description. I have only good to say about this hotel and I would return anytime. Considering all of the good things I can say about the hotel, I can't say enough about how helpful and kind the delightful and beautiful Isaura and Jessica at the hotel front desk were. They gave excellent advice on restaurants, shopping, and sight-seeing. They are perfect representatives for the country of Nicaragua!

Room Tip: During our stay at the hotel we didn't hear any guest complain about their accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

LOVE this place! I have stayed here twice and both times, it was great. The first time was with my husband, 2 month old daughter, and 78-year-old grandparents. There were great at accommodating all of the different ages. The second time was with my brother and sister-in-law who do not speak Spanish and, who we left to fend for themselves. The place was great at helping them figure out how to get around. As others have commented, the rooms are on the smaller side, but who spends all their time in their room. The room are clean and quiet. Breakfast is great! The owners are very hospitable. The workers appear to have been trained with good customer service, which is still lacking in many places in Nicaragua. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel was absolutely beautiful. It did not matter where you looked it was very tastefully decorated. The furniture and surrounding vegetation beautifully matched the building. From upstairs one could see the volcano Mombacho. Apparently everybody wanted to be there for, the hotel was full.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

The beds were good, and the room was clean. Breakfast was included and it was very tasty. You had a several choices and then extra could be added for a price.

I thought the room was too small for the price of $70. Hot water in the shower was not functioning well. So again, $70 was too much for the room. But, on the other hand, I am not sure if we could have had such a beautiful place at a cheaper price in Grenada.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Patio del Malinche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Patio del Malinche to your Saves list