We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Club

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Club
Calle La Libertad and Avenida Barricada, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Granada
london
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“decent enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we found this hotel to be clean ,comfortable and only a safe easy stroll to the main square.
there is a small pool to cool off in the heat.
the wifi worked fine and the staff were very friendly.
we stayed for 3 nights and were quite happy except for the staff shouting to each other outside the rooms very early in the morning.,the breakfast was the usual nicaraguan fare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
7
23
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TBD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is average at best but the major concern here is the theft. After getting my iPhone stolen and talking with several others and the police is was easy to tell that this was an inside job. If you value your stuff you may want to think twice about staying at this hotel. It is filled with con artist and thieves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If walls could talk... my room was clean,cool and large.. if even had an upstairs loft.. fresh bottles of drinking water were delivered every morning along with a fresh towel.. If I must complain I found the water not terribly hot.. I rather enjoyed the complimentary breakfasts.. and good coffee.. bar drinks very reasonable.. a good spot for a rummy... the distance to the lake makes a good straight walk for some exercise.. I have and will stay here again... a few steps away is a great little restaurant.. where you can eat on the cheap if that is your thing.. under 3.00 , I dont see how I can complain.

Room Tip: ask for room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

So you will get AC and hot water which is nice. Complimentary breakfast is kind of like prison food so plan on eating desayuno elsewhere. Small pool to chill out in which is great during he day. The negatives are it takes 10-15 minutes to walk to the calzada (main road), and it used to be $25.00 a night now $40.00 which is absurd. There are better places for less $ now.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I spent a couple of nights there and loved it. For $25 a night including a decent breakfast this is definitely a very good value. From the hotel everything in Granada is in walking distance and I felt safe to walk, even at night.
The people from the hotel are very friendly, warm and helpful.
In the rooms close to the Jacuzzi and the reception/bar it can be a bit noisy at times, in particular when there is a party. But it seems this is not the party place it once was. Since the room was close to the reception I had a good WiFi connection in the room.
Room service can be a little bit sluggish. My room was not cleaned everyday and I had to ask for it. But this did not bother me much.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We spent two nights in El Club during our trip from Honduras to Costa Rica, both ways, because we liked it so much.
Our room had a very nice little view at the plunge pool and garden. With AC, wireless internet, TV simple but nice decorated, European style.
Obviously the owner Cor is Dutch like us, and was very hospitable!
We felt right away at home and felt 'with our nose in the butter' because we could attend a birthday party that night.
The bar and the small restaurant has a very good vibe. The breakfast was included and very good.
I like the fact, that we could enjoy our breakfast still at 11:00.

Unfortunately we could not stay longer, next time we will definitely stay for a couple more nights.
The location is perfect, right where you want to be in the center, close to the beautiful square

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our room was clean, the shower had good pressure and temperature control, and the AC worked beautifully. We had the yogurt and fruit for breakfast and it was very nice, (though the coffee is instant and the orange juice is powdered.) Rooms are small, but completely functional. Beware that the bathrooms do not have doors - just wild west style swinging shutters, which makes for very limited privacy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Club

Address: Calle La Libertad and Avenida Barricada, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel el Club is a unique hotel with an original composition of a casual style, comfort and coziness in an authentic colonial building from 1869. Centrally located near the center of Granada and easily accessible by car, our hotel is a good operating base for many interesting places nearby to visit. The pleasant atmosphere of our hotel invites you to a wonderful and relaxing stay. Visit us for an experience and a stay like never before. The staff of Hotel el Club gives you and your guests a hearty welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.