We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Club

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Club
Calle La Libertad and Avenida Barricada, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 35 hotels in Granada
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I spent a couple of nights there and loved it. For $25 a night including a decent breakfast this is definitely a very good value. From the hotel everything in Granada is in walking distance and I felt safe to walk, even at night.
The people from the hotel are very friendly, warm and helpful.
In the rooms close to the Jacuzzi and the reception/bar it can be a bit noisy at times, in particular when there is a party. But it seems this is not the party place it once was. Since the room was close to the reception I had a good WiFi connection in the room.
Room service can be a little bit sluggish. My room was not cleaned everyday and I had to ask for it. But this did not bother me much.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    9
    7
    10
See reviews for
6
22
27
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roatan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We spent two nights in El Club during our trip from Honduras to Costa Rica, both ways, because we liked it so much.
Our room had a very nice little view at the plunge pool and garden. With AC, wireless internet, TV simple but nice decorated, European style.
Obviously the owner Cor is Dutch like us, and was very hospitable!
We felt right away at home and felt 'with our nose in the butter' because we could attend a birthday party that night.
The bar and the small restaurant has a very good vibe. The breakfast was included and very good.
I like the fact, that we could enjoy our breakfast still at 11:00.

Unfortunately we could not stay longer, next time we will definitely stay for a couple more nights.
The location is perfect, right where you want to be in the center, close to the beautiful square

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our room was clean, the shower had good pressure and temperature control, and the AC worked beautifully. We had the yogurt and fruit for breakfast and it was very nice, (though the coffee is instant and the orange juice is powdered.) Rooms are small, but completely functional. Beware that the bathrooms do not have doors - just wild west style swinging shutters, which makes for very limited privacy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at Hotel El Club for a week while attending a Photo workshop in Granada. The rooms are small but very comfortable. A/C worked FANTASTIC - which was a welcome relief during the very hot and humid days. Showers had great pressure and hot water (for Central America standards). During our stay, we had a provided continental breakfast - not sure if that was for our large group or normal. The food was GREAT - very fresh, authentic, and homemade. Fresh fruit and some of the best coffee in town.

The hotel has WiFi access and is mostly accessed in the front area of the hotel. Had reception at times in our room. Each room has a TV - but only 1 English speaking station that I was thankful for - Animal Planet! Staff did not speak much English and relied on our translator for any changes. But were very attentive to any request that we made.

Great value for the money - would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It is not recommended that you flush toilet paper in Granada. A tiny waste basket sits next to the toilet. It hadn't been emptied when I arrived. This I find absolutely unacceptable. I'm no germ/neat freak, but come on. Empty. The. Trash.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Made a booking online however was not received by the management. It wasn't a issue though as the receptionist quickly got us a room. However there's a mixed up on rooms that we were transferred several times. Due to that we were offered a complimentary beverages each. The room we got wasn't that small as described by other reviewers (maybe we got lucky) and it was just in front of the mini pool, so it felt as if we had the pool to ourselves. For every night stay we received 2 complimentary bottles of water. The room was clean and equipped with air-con, hot shower and TV. Also it is located near to the central park. At the front of the hotel there is a bar/restaurant- not sure too sure if it will get noisy over the weekends as our stay was on a weekday. Breakfast was average (a choice of fruits with yogurt/ eggs with ham) would have been great if there were more options. The receptionist& staff speak very little english but was very helpful nonetheless.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool are bigger than the smaller rooms behind but closer to the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 10 days while visiting Granada this summer. I stayed in one of the single rooms which had a double or queen bed. The room is small and not made for hanging out in, but it was a nice relief from the heat sometimes because of the air conditioning. The service is good, but they know very little English so be patient. There is wifii, and this is mostly just accessible in the front part of the hotel which is considered the bar/lobby spot. There is a nice little relaxing pool in the open courtyard and a fantastic continental breakfast with fresh hot food. As a vegan I was able to eat the beans & rice, fresh fruit, and granola. The rooms have hot water which is always a plus. Didn't try my TV so not sure if it worked or not. This is a great spot for the money.

Room Tip: If you aren't going to spend much time in your room, this is great spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Club

Address: Calle La Libertad and Avenida Barricada, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel el Club is a unique hotel with an original composition of a casual style, comfort and coziness in an authentic colonial building from 1869. Centrally located near the center of Granada and easily accessible by car, our hotel is a good operating base for many interesting places nearby to visit. The pleasant atmosphere of our hotel invites you to a wonderful and relaxing stay. Visit us for an experience and a stay like never before. The staff of Hotel el Club gives you and your guests a hearty welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel El Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.