We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alhambra to your Saves list
Hotel Alhambra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Oeste del Parque Central | (West side of Central Park), Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Centrally located on the main square with easy walking access to many resaurants, bars and places of interest. Nice colonial style building with big open spaces and public areas. Small inside pool and garden area. Rooms seem to vary and ours had a "view" of a tiny courtyard and walls all around. Some have balconies overlooking the square or street. Rooms are well-equipped with decent bathroom and facilities. Breakfast can be eaten outside on the front terrace which is nice as long as you dont mind the odd passing street vendor.

Room Tip: Many rooms are "inside" with poor, or no, view. But they might be quieter than those with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    49
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
35
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoodsport
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Located on the square with the horse drawn carages lined up in front. Price of one person for 4 nights $280.00 US. Eatting out side was a nice experience and the staff would inform the sellers of goods to keep moving. Some of the sellers are fine but it can get out of hand real fast and beggers for money. The staff was very courtious and pleasent. Smoking outside, that would include cigars, was acceptable.

Room Tip: Granada is difficult to get a hotel for long periods of time during Febuary as the Poetry festable t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pretty Hotel with lovely terrace for breakfast and peoplewatching. on Granadas main square.
Unfortnately they dont serve dinner there at night and the snacks are limited.
I was given a small room on the third floor and after complaining had a much larger one.
Indoor pool is tiny.
The hotel is fine for a short visit and is a good base for exploring Granada.

Room Tip: ask if you dont get something decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was a great hotel - we spent 3 nights here at the end of a long trip around Central America. The rooms were huge and very comfortable. It was centrally placed for exploring Granada, which we also loved. We didn't try the breakfasts here but the restaurant looked very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel is a little overrated in my opinion. We stayed there twice in two weeks. First stay was in a room with double baths (showers) refrig and small tv. Second stay, about two weeks later, smaller room, one bath, small tv and no refrig. but same price $ 70.00.
I did notice small insects on the bathroom sink..fruit mites, maybe? But no bed bugs!!!!
Beds were comfortable, parking in front of hotel seemed to be secure. We had no problem..not many options in this city unless you stay at a hostel. We wanted hot water shower and I suppose you pay extra for this.
The front desk help was awesome..as were the bellhops...
Again, nice old hotel..I think the rich tourist have driven up the prices here. I believe we call it ..Supply and demand.
If you are looking for newer stop at one of the new hotels along the highway coming from Managua.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is my fourth visit to the Alhambra. The bed bug problem is fixed!! The hotel is moderately priced and lovely. The central courtyard is elegant , large and beautiful. Excellent art and antiques in the lobby. The rooms are large,plain, and adequate. The bathrooms are excellent
with beautiful tile. work and large showers. The hot water and air conditioning work well.

The pool is small but beautiful. If the pool is a priority I would choose another hotel. The location
on the main square is five star. The restaurant is good. They have the best fruit plate in town.
They staff is very friendly. The rates are very reasonable. This hotel is a great value. The newer
rooms are on the 3rd floor.

I love this hotel. It has a warm and old colonial feel to it.

Room Tip: Newer rooms are on the 3rd floor. The front rooms are smaller but have balconies overlooking the sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

On no account should anyone stay here. We stayed in Room 205 facing the park in a room which proved to be heavily infested with bed bugs. The high level of infestation did not happen overnight, nor were the staff surprised when the problem was explained & we asked to be moved. Another guest in another room found a bed bug attached to his body in the night. The room we vacated was re-let the same day! Don't be fooled by the grand foyer. Room cleaning is apathetic - confirmned by a quick check under the bed where dirt & food had been swept. The water from the water dispenser was foul. Do not risk staying here as I doubt if this difficult problem will be addressed & is unlikely to be confined to a couple of rooms.
Marilyn Staib, UK

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Address: Costado Oeste del Parque Central | (West side of Central Park), Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alhambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.