We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little oasis in the heat of the big city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Casa San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa San Francisco
Calle Corral #207, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET ONE FREE NIGHT!
Ranked #8 of 35 hotels in Granada
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a great little oasis in the heat of the big city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel was a recommendation from a colleague so I was excited to see it - and was so happy for the quaint quiet location - the city is really really HOT, but the rooms, pool and common areas are NOT! Franklin made sure I had what I needed from the bar - Elena made sure we had what we needed for excursions - must do's the isleta kayak tour from Nicaagua Dulce and Mombacho Volcano with Jovanni - The two nights it rained the hotel turtles all came out to say hello in the garden...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    54
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
75
163
57
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Boutique hotel - atually more like a hacienda - with an inviting courtyard and resident parrots. Excellent service and very helpful managaer who is knowlegeable about the area. Trips are more expensive than ones you canget elsewher. Good resraurant although more fresh fruit and variety at breakfast would be good.

Room Tip: upper level in the back quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at Casa San Francisco twice with our toddler on a family holiday and couldn't recommend it enough. It was very comfortable, great location, the staff were all extremely helpful and charming, the food was delicious and I loved the feel of the hotel - beautifully designed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owls Head, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Granada, Nicaragua during the heat of the dry season can be challenging to a couple of first time visitors from Maine, and the "Casa San Fran" quickly became our home away from home. Sisters, Terry and Nancy, pulled out all the stops to make my partner and I feel welcomed, comfortable, and at home. The staff was at all times professional and friendly, doing all that was necessary to make sure our first impression of their hotel and city were the best. They arranged for English speaking airport transport to and from the airport, which as non Spanish speaking visitors we appreciated. Especially great was the English speaking tour guide they arranged for us to Volcan Mombacho tour, the La Islatas boat tour on Lake Nicaragua, and the forest canopy zipline tour! Be sure to ask for Geovanny if you would like the best and most informative guided tours anywhere in the region. His knowledge made everything so much more enjoyable and interesting. And everything was arranged through the front desk at this charming hotel. Lastly, do not leave Granada without having at least one dinner at Casa San Francisco's restaurant - Los Chocoyos (though I suspect you will be back for more). Being former New Yorkers we have had the good fortune to eat at some very fine restaurants from time to time, but I have to say that the menu at Los Chocoyos would stand up to the finest restuarants anywhere in the world! Everything, I mean EVERYTHING on their menu was delicious!

Yes, I would recommend the Casa San Francisco to anyone planning a visit to Nicaragua. Visit there website, call their US number if you're coming from stateside, or email. They answered all my questions and my first stay was great! So much so that after touring the southwest corner of Nicaragua we have returned for a couple of days before we return home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have been to Granada, Nicaragua many times this past year, and I always stay at the Casa San Francisco Hotel. The design and layout of the hotel and restaurant make for an inspiring introduction to one of the best things about Granada- shaded courtyards with beautiful gardens, open to verandas where most daily activities take place. One of the best things about this hotel is its staff, always friendly and helpful. There is the sense of a small community surrounding this hotel, and you will meet both visitors and local residents. The food in the restaurant is excellent, and make sure to try the caipirinha's during happy hour! There are several courtyards, and a roof terrace with a magnificent view of the volcano and the convent and church (from Robert M).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boaco, nicaragua
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have been lucky enough to stay at Casa San Francisco a few times over the past couple years when friends and family have visited Nicaragua. The staff is incredibly kind, accommodating, knowledgeable and generous. I feel like I am part of a/the family. The hotel is centrally located and incredibly charming. The rooms are thoughtfully designed, the pool is quaint and quiet, and the breakfasts are delicious. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Granada. Mil gracias, Casa San Francisco!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My recent stay at Casa San Francisco was wonderful. The hotel is charming, my room beautiful, breakfasts were great. And the staff were so friendly, helpful and everyone smiles! They arranged a day trip for us with Geovanny who is smart, interesting, funny and knows Granada and Nicaraguan history. I had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was very good and beautifully presented. I was a bit sad to leave and definitely recommend a stay at Casa. Charming!

Room Tip: My room was upstairs overlooking the pool. It was nice, and quiet. I enjoyed seeing and hearing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Address: Calle Corral #207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Los Boquitos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.