We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel/guest experience ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa San Francisco to your Saves list
Casa San Francisco
Calle Corral #207, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Venice
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The best hotel/guest experience ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had the good fortune of staying one month at this excellent boutique hotel while taking spanish classes in Granada. It's friendly owner, Terry, made me feel like a guest in her home from the very first day. She and her sister are actively involved with many good projects in the community and are a hub for the Granada expats and volunteers. During my month, they generously hosted both a Day of the Dead celebration and a Thanksgiving Dinner for 50 which included many past and present Peace Corps workers and other area volunteers. The staff were all helpful and friendly...especially Jason who cooked the most amazing breakfasts and automatically brought out a full thermos of hot coffee no matter what time I showed up each morning and the always smiling Maria behind the desk. There are many good hotels in Granada, but this hotel has the biggest heart and made me feel at home. Really loved it, Thank You!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    63
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
76
180
62
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and I like the beds, I was happy because I asked for extra pillows and they brought them to me. The air conditioning in our room doesn't cool very well, so I told the staff and they sent someone to our room right away, but they didn't fix the air. We were in an end room and they didn't turn on the lights in the walkway, so it was difficult to see at night. We would turn on the lights when we reached the switch, but the lights were turned off soon after we closed our door. The owner and staff are very nice. I had the steak at the restaurant in the building and it was so good and tender. The water sprays all over the bathroom floor if your not careful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helena g, Gerente at Casa San Francisco, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. I just wanted to add some extra explanations about the A/C. In fact it was working fine but the remote control was set to work in the automatic program, which works from 20C on, but if it is set at a lower temperature it doesn't turn on. Our failure was that we did not explain this, I hope this comment will help us not fail again in this sense. We take note about the lights during the night and about the courtains in the shower, thank you for your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel only for one night but this hotel was very good. It's actually very european and clean. It has a small pool where you can cool down after a long day at the center (it's not for actual swimming, only for cooling..) The showers were amazing! Kingzise beds, very good breakfast, nice owner and parrots :) The location is very good, just a walking distance from the center but the area is a little bit more quite.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I always use Tripadvisor to choose my hotels and I couldn't have made a better choice!
Feel so happy to have discovered this nice boutique hotel. Rooms are spotless clean and with a personal touch decorated. Each room has a balcony and the communal top roof balcony is an extra treat! Breakfast is super! Especially the Nicaraguan breakfast (gallo pinto) is very rich and tasteful. Best coffee I ever had in Nicaragua! Staff is very friendly and helpful. This boutique hotel offers a perfect service at all levels for a very acceptable price. I was lucky to meet the owner, Terri. Very special and interesting lady who has a big talent for interior design. Without doubt will stay here again during my next visits to Granada.

Room Tip: Every room is different decorated in this boutique hotel. I had a glimpse in some of them, they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Enjoyed staying here, really pleasant; especially happy to have a balcony. The staff were very nice, the owner, Terry, very interesting. Her parrots were hysterical - listening to them was like being at a cocktail party. If I return to Nicaragua, I'll stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson West, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent several days at Casa San Francisco and totally enjoyed the visit. The staff are exceptional in their efforts to meet your every need. the hotel is spotless, well organized and well run. The rooms were perfect in every way and the housekeeping staff did a fine job. The restaurant served excellent food. I will certainly stay here again on future trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We selected this hotel through tripadvisor and agree with most reviews; however, during our stay, we didn't have Internet access inside the rooms. That's too bad because that was a deciding factor for our decision. The breakfast was just ok. The hotel was cute and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Address: Calle Corral #207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Los Boquitos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.