We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service. Nice breakfast in a garden.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante to your Saves list
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Granada
vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location and service. Nice breakfast in a garden.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Nicaragua, taking a cab to the airport the next day.
(only 35 bucks – no need to spend your last night in Managua). This hotel is within a short walking distance of everything you need, and the rooms are huge. Lots of room to spread your stuff out and ‘re-pack’ for an int’l flight.
Our AC was a bit weak when we arrived, but the front desk immediately dispatched a repair guy and he fixed it within minutes. The front desk staff were lovely and very helpful, and the breakfast was really good, served in a leafy garden area just across the street! I recommend the omelette. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    82
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
59
88
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My brother and I made a reservation for a room at La Gran thru Booking.com. Everything processed successfully, and we arrived to find that our reservation was "invalid" and that the hotel was full. The receptionist said that it was Booking.coms fault and that the hotel was full through the entire month. The receptionist took around 15 min to initially talk to us after we arrived since he was on the phone with a prospective customer. Awful customer service.

Here are my thoughts on the overall experience:

1. They should have been / should be proactive when they know they will not honor reservations thru third parties. Why wasn't my brother sent an email or called after he made the reservation through Booking, letting us know it was invalid?
2. They should realize that their location is a huge draw so sending us to a hotel a 15 min walk away for the same price is not equivalent.
3. Blaming Booking for their problems is unacceptable. They have the power to get themselves off Booking or at least have Booking email us a notification letting us know about the situation.
4. Giving us a gift certificate to the La Gran restaurant or bar would have at least allowed us to enjoy the location of the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Situated right by the main square the Gran Francia is a boutique hotel with some faded elegance.

Room 12 on the upper floor was a good size with comfortable bed and large bathroom (with bath and hand held shower). Decorated in creams and beige is is light and airy and has a small balcony on a side road which is a pleasant place to while away on hour or two being slightly away from the hussle and bustle of this quite busy UNESCO preserved colonial town.

Breakfast is served in a lovely courtyard in the second building opposite the road and although fairly basic was adequate. We tried lunch when we arrived and although the restaurant seemed to be well regarded we thought the fare a little simple and relatively expensive - there are better dining options in Granada.

On the ground floor of the main hotel building is an internal courtyard with small swimming pool - we never had the time to try it out.

Staff are very friendly but we had a problem on both days of our stay having to ask more than once for the bath towels for the room and they could do better in this respect.

All in all though the position is excellent and far outways any minor irritations.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms on the side road (we were in 12 - a "junior suite" are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is very charming. The staff is cordial and helpful. The hotel and the rooms are very clean.The rooms are spacious with high ceilings with large wooden beams which add to the uniqueness and charm. The breakfast was tasty and consisted of fresh fruit and your choice of various entrees. It is located at the corner of the central park so it it close to everything. It is a very nice property. You cannot go wrong by selecting this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had our wedding at the restaurant and stayed at the hotel for a week. Great location, beautiful rooms and very friendly staff. Special praises to Armando at the front desk who provided excellent customer service, Juan who provided great, friendly service at the bar and restaurant and Claudia who was our contact for the wedding. It was the perfect site for our wedding - a beautiful, colonial style venue. We had 80 guests at our reception which fit perfectly in the ballroom.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel is a gem; beautiful architecture, spacious rooms, great location. The entire staff was just wonderful, special mention goes to Mrs. Claudia Mora and the reception staff. We stayed at the hotel for a family wedding and I must say, everything was perfect! The hotel provided the perfect backdrop for that Old World, romantic feel the bride and groom were looking for. And the food was delicious!!! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

It's no secret an longer - we all want to end up in Granada! I read the NY Times article (http://www.nytimes.com/2009/12/11/greathomesanddestinations/11nica.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0) and decided to see for myself. I found what I was looking for here at La Gran Francia.

What I want when I travel is to see the best of a culture, which turns out to be the things that have survived time itself. This hotel has been meticulously (obviously meticulously) restored and, is maintained, with an aura of respect for the past, the real.

If you don't know Nicaraguan cuisine, then you will discover it here - and it will make a lasting grand impression on you. You have to have the gallo pinto!

This is an escape from all that that stresses you. A real escape. Never felt more relaxed in my life,

Room Tip: Balcony rooms on the second floor - for the view. The junior suites are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Address: Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
#9 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a delicately restored historical landmark building, La Gran Francia offers its guests 21 comfortable and clean rooms with all modern amenities; 24-hour security and front-desk service; pool; free wifi; full restaurant and bar; banquet hall and event facilities; and is conveniently located right off Granada’s mail square. La Gran Francia has been recommended by Conde Nast Traveller and Samantha Brown from The Discovery Channel, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Francia Granada
La Gran Francia Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.