We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Save Saved
You added La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 35 hotels in Granada
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Service was excellent, personnel really go the extra mile. Room and bathroom cleanning could be improved, blackouts could be an improvement for good morning sleep. Great breakfast! and good food at restaurant

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Jose A,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is only with honest feedback like yours that we can hope to improve our service. I'm glad you found our staff and restaurant met your expectations but I'm very sorry you experienced some blackouts during your visit. They are not always the case but unfortunately, Union Fenosa, the Spanish company that provides electrical service in Nicaragua is not always the best services provider. Alas, they are our only option though. But we have generators that readily kick in when ever the lights go out. I will report your comment regarding the needed attention to the cleanliness of the rooms right away. Thanks again for your feedback. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    56
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
46
65
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I would totaly recomend this hotel. The acomodations were clean, nicely distributed, comfy, but what I liked the most was the service, people were so kind and so warm. The food in the restaurant was good. Loved the whole experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Claudia_cmp,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your experience during your stay with us. We are very proud and happy to know you enjoyed of our service most of all, as our staff prides itself in giving the best in Nicaraguan hospitality. Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A pleasant surprise, spacious interior, lovely tiles, large gracious rooms, very helpful staff. A couple of minor issues, the room safe is not fixed to anything so can be lifted out and removed with a minimum of difficulty, ie not safe at all, and the shower wasn't the greatest. Everything else A1

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear akalegall,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It is only through the candid feedback of valued guests like you that we can hope better our service day by day. We will send out a maintenance crew to inspect the showers and safes in the rooms so they will be in proper working condition, as they should be. Thank you again for this valuable information. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saugerties, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We found this bit of history was an accidental find. From the outside you would never imagine what goodies are found on the inside. The rooms are huge and decorated very nicely including custom made and painted bathroom sinks, 12 foot high ceilings, even a small walled in patio and a huge closet. The king size bed was very comfortable and there was no street noise that invaded our space. The overhead fan and A/C made even the hot days quite comfy. The included breakfast was across the street in a courtyard with flowering plants and visited by at least two types of hummingbirds and overhead fly bys of parrots. Without a doubt we will return to this fine old building, the staff was friendly and quite helpful.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have many art works on the walls and the lower level has an ornate small swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear skibob_7,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are happy to know that the attention and service you received at La Gran Francia exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves in delivering the best in Nicaraguan hospitality. We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again in the future. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The price isn't bad for what it is really, lovely charming building with a lot of history... But the staff is hightly arrogant, taking down at us (maybe because we came in with a backpack..?) The breakfast is a joke : 1 slice of completely overcooked bacon, one piece of bread, and a few beans... Disgusting ! I wouldn't recommend this place knowing there are some lovely places on the other side of the square.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Grigouillon,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is only through candid feedback from like yours that we can hope to improve our service. I was very sad and disappointed to hear the details of your experience with us, as our team works very hard and prides itself in being courteous and welcoming to all our guests. I want to assure you that we take these kinds of complaints very seriously and would like to invite you to write our general manager directly (gcamille@lagranfrancia.com) with the details of which one of our employees you felt mistreated you so we can take a proactive role in the matter. I am surprised to hear about your breakfast and would like to assure you that what you experienced is by far not the norm at our restaurant. I apologize for your breakfast not being up to our usual standards. Should you find yourself in Granada again soon, we would love to have an opportunity to rectify the situation. Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern new jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at La Gran Francia for several days and its a very nice hotel. Breakfasts were great and made to order daily .. New Year's Eve dinner was a bust though. Food was so so and service was worse. Missing food, undercooked, long time between courses etc. hotel service itself was very nice..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear KarenK59,

First, I want to thank you for your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience in our restaurant, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.

We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it’s apparent that in the case of your NYE dinner, we fell short. For that I apologize. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that your dining experience will be to your satisfaction. If you find yourself in Granada in the near future, I would be happy to make your dinner reservation personally and see to it that you enjoy the experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. You can reach me at: promociones@lagranfrancia.com

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had previously visited Granada five years ago and being disappointed in the Hotel Alhambra, I used an evening to visit many hotels in the city at the time. I had been impressed with the beautiful architecture of La Gran Francia and decided to stay there on my return visit. I was not disappointed. It is one of the best examples of Spanish Colonial construction in Nicaragua dating back to afew years later than 1524. I have traveled to El Veijo in San Juan, Puerto Rico and El Casco Viejo in Panama City. This stands as a hotel in the finest tradition of ancient colonial cities in Latin America. The staff are diligent, polite and so eager to provide good service. The restaurant serves delicious food. You can not go wrong here. The tours they arranged for us were led by an excellent tour guide, Juan Ponco. Osnar at the desk of the hotel is a eager young man, most concerned that your service is excellent.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony , request the street side of the hotel upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Isabel W, It was so gratifying to read your review. My family was very meticulous in restoring the main building of La Gran Francia in as true a fashion to its original style as possible and it's very nice to hear you appreciated our "labor of love." I am also very proud to know our team exceeded your expectations and will immediately relay your review to them with my congratulations on their ongoing performance. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in La Gran Francia. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Address: Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
#11 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a delicately restored historical landmark building, La Gran Francia offers its guests 21 comfortable and clean rooms with all modern amenities; 24-hour security and front-desk service; pool; free wifi; full restaurant and bar; banquet hall and event facilities; and is conveniently located right off Granada’s mail square. La Gran Francia has been recommended by Conde Nast Traveller and Samantha Brown from The Discovery Channel, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Francia Granada
La Gran Francia Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.