We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bocadillos - Tapas Kitchen & Bar

Bocadillos - Tapas Kitchen & Bar
207 Calle Corrales | in Hotel Casa San Francisco, Granada, Nicaragua
(505) 8767-4666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 108 Restaurants in Granada
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Tapas, Vegetarian, Californian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Bocadillos Tapas Kitchen & Bar is located inside Hotel Casa San Francisco, just three blocks from Granada's central park. With sidewalk and rooftop dining options, Bocadillos is a must-do while in Granada. Bocadillos features small plates that are perfect for sharing or dining alone. With an eclectic menu and local ingredients, you can enjoy bold flavors like Hoisin Ribs and Chicken Tamales. Save room for dessert because this is one of the only places in town you can enjoy authentic Ghiradelli Chocolate Cheesecake. Bocadillos also has a full service bar that features Signature Cocktails with Fresh Squeezed Juices and a Daily Happy Hour with 2*1 drink specials and free House Yucca Chips. Whether you come for dinner, a light snack or Happy Hour, Bocadillos is a great place for casual dining in a friendly atmosphere. The rooftop terrace offers amazing city views and can be reserved for special events or romantic evenings.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Picture this. You're leading a group of 6 nervous gringos on their first-time visit to Nicaragua, staying at Casa San Francisco, and want to eat dinner nearby, a "safe" yet interesting meal. I've eaten at other "name" restaurants in Grenada and thought of those, but wondered about this adjacent place, Bocadillos? Ooops, they're closed on Tuesday nights, the only night we'll be there. What to do? The hotel put me in touch with Shane and Carina, and they said they'd open up Bocadillos just for us, and put on a special meal. We were comforted by the assurance of purified water, we drank Shane's fabulous Macuas, we feasted on Carina's delicious tapas and desserts, all presented beautifully in a gorgeous setting. But above all we were treated as friends or welcome guests. It doesn't seem right to call Bocadillos just a restaurant. It's a special place where the hosts really take care of you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    17
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Maybe it needs some time to grow?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Well, perhaps my expectations were a little too high. Based on the other reviews here on TripAdvisor I was hoping to sit down to some epic tapas. Unfortunately, Bocadillos simply did not deliver.
Let me first say that the service was outstanding. Our server was lovely and very attentive; she suggested the right drink for me, based on my taste and made sure we knew what each dish was arriving at the table. I also think the location is beautiful and offered a wonderful atmosphere. I wish the playlist consisted of more than top 40's from 3 years ago, but maybe that was just for the sake of the touristy tourists?
In regards to the food - I feel as though there was a lot to be desired. We ordered almost all of the savory dishes on the menu and were impressed only with the panko-crusted potato and pepperjack cheese balls. Most of the dishes were lacking in flavour and I hate to say it, but it felt as though they were made without love. Everything was executed well and as advertised. However, when I order roasted garlic hummus, I'd like to taste some roasted garlic. Or hummus for that matter. What we got was watered down chickpea puree. The pulled pork sliders were alright, as were the short ribs.
I think this restaurant has a lot of potential and hope to see it succeed in the future. I'm just not sure why it currently sits as Granda's number one restaurant on TripAdvisor.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another Hidden Granada Jewel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Good bar and service with great selection of tapas in afternoon. Can eat tapas in downstairs bar or up on rooftop patio.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Tapas twice as good and half the price of those in Barcelona, Spain. It is owned by ex-pats and they are doing a great job of preparing and serving food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We tried everything once, and then started working our way back through the menu because it was all so good! Mind you, we did have four nights there to perform that feat, but we did eat something there each and every day. The little tamales: succulent; the crunchy potato balls: goo-tastic; the sliders: splendid; and both desserts: just off the hook good. The 2-for-one Happy Hour Macua cocktails were dangerously delicious. The only sad thing to report is they are not open seven days so if you are only there for one night you may miss out. Try not to let that happen!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocadillos - Tapas Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Bocadillos - Tapas Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocadillos - Tapas Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.