We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice in Granada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estrada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estrada to your Saves list
Hotel Estrada
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle El Arsenal, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Choice in Granada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

An oasis in the heart of Granada. Estrada maintains the warmth and comfort of a private home with gracious colonial charm.
The restaurant serves continental, french, Gourmet Cuisine in the tropical garden and coffee, cakes and drinks at the bar. We travel all Central America and find the Hotel Estrada and Granada one of our best travel experiances. Our car parkend in a safety parking lot owned by the hotel.
The friendly and charming employees made our stay most comfortable. We enjoyed our vacations in Granada very much and will choose the Estrada again with best value for our money.
Ask for the Manager Pascal with his valuable tipps for your trips.
Sigrid and Axel from Hamburg

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed here 2 days/ 1 night on my way to Rivas, and I wish I had booked for longer. the rooms are spacious, very comfortable, bathroom modern (double sink, rain shower, good water pressure) and well appointed, and the courtyard is just so charming. wifi available everywhere and free. the in-house restaurant serves very good meals and deserts and we could have happily just eaten there for our entire trip (much better than what we found elsewhere in town). and it's in a great location - 2 blocks from the central park/ cathedral so walking distance to everything in town. Note, there are no elevators, but the staff will help you with luggage.

the staff are spectacular - Emi in particular is wonderful. she speaks fluent english, which helped a lot. she arranged transport for us when our car-rental fell through and was in general very helpful in ensuring we had a pleasant stay in Nicaragua. The entire staff has this sort of wonderful attitude - quick turnaround on emails, requests, service delivered with a smile, etc.

It seems that the hotel recently underwent a renovation. They did a great job. This is not a luxury hotel but it's a wonderful boutique hotel, and I would give these guys a solid 4 or 5 stars for their staff alone. I can't comment on the issues that were experienced by others when it re-opened. But I did not experience any issues of note, and would happily stay here again and treat this as a base to explore Granada and Nicaragua.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We've stayed at a variety of hotels in Granada over the last 15 years, and this hotel is now our favorite in Granada. The rooms are lovely, and the staff very accommodating. Also, the kitchen prepares excellent meals.

It would appear that the early troubles described by the previous reviewer have now been remedied. Even though Plaza Colon overall provides arguably the best hotel accommodations in Granada - I don't require a pool, and prefer to stay at Hotel Estrada.

Room Tip: Pick a room upstairs - while the hotel itself if very quiet, upstairs may be yet a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEstrada, Manager at Hotel Estrada, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to hear that we are your favorite Hotel in Granada!! We sincerely hope that all our guests feel the same way as you do! We have worked hard to create a comfortable and enjoyable place and take pride in providing personalized attention and quality services.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We wound up here accidentally and were the first guests ever to stay in our room. We tallied a laundry list of more than a dozen small details that really needed to be attended to before opening. Small things missing but expected in a boutique hotel: bedspreads and/or blankets, soap
dishes, bottles of water, luggage rack, comfortable pillows, toiletries, hair dryer and smoke detectors. This, coupled with a 3 hour electrical outage, construction fumes through the AC and inadequate bathroom finishes, made for a challenging stay. That said, this place has the potential to be wonderful once they work out the kinks. Also, when we brought problems to their attention they tried really hard to make things right. The bar and restaurant,which has been open more than a year, is terrific; it has 2 for 1 happy hour AND best of all is air conditioned. Hopefully management will respond to this review with assurances that all is now in order. They put a lot of work into restoring this building but opened too quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelEstrada, Manager at Hotel Estrada, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks a lot for taking the time to review our Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We acknowledge that as a new hotel we are in the process of working out some details and finishing touches. As you mentioned we put a lot of work into restoring our beautiful colonial building and it is our number one priority to make sure that our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We have recently switched to our own electrical transformer to make sure power outages do not happen again. During this switch, at the time or your stay, it was necessary to turn the power off to complete the electrical work.

Again, we apologize for these inconveniences and hope to see you again very soon as we are confident your next stay will exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estrada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estrada

Address: Calle El Arsenal, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Estrada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging, Gastronomy & Arts… a unique experience in Nicaragua. Located in Granada’s historical center, our ample adobe house has been meticulously restored, creating 7 comfortable rooms that present a picturesque mix of modern design and traditional colonial architecture. Personalized attention from our kind staff and quality services accompany the elegance and serenity of our distinguished Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estrada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estrada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.