We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very reasonable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backyard Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backyard Hostel
Save
You added Backyard Hostel to your Saves list
Calle La Libertad, 2 blocks west of Central Park, Granada ., Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“very reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I spend one night at the backyard in a dorm. The hostel is cozy has a nice pool, music all day and the owners parrot and his animals like birds and rabbits were walking / flying around. I really liked the chilled atmosphere. The offer reasonable drinks at the bar but it closes not too late you have it quiet when you like to go to sleep. and that for only $ 6.--
also it's close to the center and the busstation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
22
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed at 3 different hostels in Grendada and this one blew the others out of the water. It was very relaxing by the pool, they have a nice little bar/kitchen/dowms for an awesome price. If I come back to Grenada this will be t the top of my list and I highly recommend this spot to single people or couples.

Room Tip: The room with Will ferrell's face on the door has a private bathroom! SHHH my secret :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This place at first glance seemed to be a party hostel (and it might have been... I don't know because I went to bed at 10pm), but it seemed fine to me. There was a good community feel to this place, the kitchen was open to the guests, there was a pool, a bar and a lot of common space with hammocks and lawn furniture and places for people to congregate and chat. The beds were kind of horrible. They were clean, but very uncomfortable. My friend's description of them was "hard as a pile of bricks with a sheet on top". I would agree with this assessment. Outside of that, though, I though it had a great location only a few blocks from the Central Park, a nice vibe, they run on the honor system where you just add the things you use (beer, water, etc.) to your tab and pay on your way out, and everyone was friendly, and most importantly the place was very clean. They also have two pet rabbits running around that were very cute. Oh, and did I mention they have a pool!?! That was so nice on the hot humid days in Granada!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We warmly recommend this place, full of romantic and playful people! Discuss and you'll learn a lot about Nicaragua. We found a real home, as a place to meet people and relax. It totally fits with Granada's atmosphere! Ask for the daily program!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Enthusiastic and helpful owner. Excellent garden area with pool for chilling out. Good breakfasts. Nice wildlife running around. Pool is small but nice for a cool dip. Facilities (room, etc.) are very basic, not amazingly clean, but fit for purpose. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is probably one of the best place in Granada if you want to stay for a few days in town with a cool/backpacking ambiance (but without exaggeration, like in some hostels).
The owners from Quebec are super cool and helpful (no problems with them, in the contrary of what I have seen). And the rabbits walking everywhere..well, it's fun :)
Only thing on a personal level, I like to have private rooms in a hostel and.. 20$ without bath/etc. is a bit too expensive. They did not have anything else to offer me so I don't mind but I have stayed in much better rooms for that price.
Good luck guys, I hope the business is gonna fly!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is the first place we saw when we arrived in Granada and we decided that our search was over when we arrived. The value for money is unbeatable. There are cheap dorms and cheap private rooms with brand new matresses! There is a interior garden with parrots and cute friendly rabbits, a terrace, a pool, bar and restaurant. There´s a flat screen tv, free wifi, a guest computer, hamacs, organised tours with the owners, BBQ nights, etc. It´s close enough to the center to be in the action but far enough from it to be away from the hustle and bustle.

When we arrived in town, our original plan was to volunteer for a hostel. The two friendly owners at Backyard offered us room & board in exchange of 5 hours or so of work/day. FABULOUS!

This was the perfect place to have as a base to go explore the beautiful city of Granada and
it´s suroundings.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backyard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hostel

Address: Calle La Libertad, 2 blocks west of Central Park, Granada ., Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean style party hostel is situated in the main backpacker area of Granada. Come check out our new set up with new beds, lounge area, everyday happy hour and let's throw a nice backyard party! We will be happy to offer you the best BBQ, drinks and cocktails while chilling in the BACKYARD. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backyard Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.