We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Important Project, Interesting to See but Take a Taxi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nicaragua Butterfly Reserve

Nicaragua Butterfly Reserve
Granada, Nicaragua
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 39 things to do in Granada
Attraction details
East Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Important Project, Interesting to See but Take a Taxi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We learned about this place from the book Adventure Guide Nicaragua. It suggested taking a bus to the police station then walking. Don't do that. We only found the place because I am fluent in Spanish and saw a local woman working on her meager farm who showed us the way. She told us that we were walking on the private road of an American who sells plots of land for other ex-pats to build homes. Better, legal access is from the other direction: go to the cemetery then call the reserve to send a moto-taxi. The guy who runs the reserve is a self-taught butterfly expert. His job is to cultivate the right plants that each species of butterfly needs in each part of its life cycle. We saw tons of butterflies and he interacted really well with our kids. It was a memorable experience. I am not sure if he speaks English but he gave a very detailed tour in Spanish. Your entry fee supports his important work preserving endangered butterfly species.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Mariposario beyond the grave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Viisiting the Mariposario is an adventure comparatively few visitors take, but if you persist you may be delighted. First you have to get to Granada's great cemetery where you might find a `tuk-tuk' to take you two miles up an unprepossessing track through a string of shanties to the reserve. You then may be the only person there, but if you are lucky you might bump into Gino, a volunteer who feeds the gorgeous butterflies with rotting bananas if he is visiting from Costa Rica ,which seems a tad eccentric.The butterflies are most active during the morning In the large netted area. They are large and gloriously coloured and patterned, and you can get really close to them.

Around the reserve are a number of short, circular trails well worth taking before you hope to find a a Tuk-tuk to take you
back down the trail. Give it a go.


The butterflies are

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Wa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Went to the reserve with my 6 year old. To date it is his favorite place in Nicaragua. There were plenty of butterflies. The owner taught him how to catch and hold live butterflies The walking trails behind the reserve are well groomed and well worth walking. I did have to pay $4 for a taxi out there. If you get to the cemetery and call the reserve they will send a 3 wheel scooter that only cost about $1.25

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great - but it is important to go early in the day when butterflies are active.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Check it out online: http://nicaraguabutterflyreserve.wordpress.com
A privately funded conservation project to protect endangered butterflies. You find it by looking for a blue butterfly sign on a pole near the Granada Cemetery (which is an impressive site itself). Unless you speak English, take a cab. The cab driver can ask locals along the way for directions (in Spanish) if you make a wrong turn. You travel a dirt road that weaves around a bit. It's an adventure in itself, as you see many people on the sides of roads in front of their homes.

It is important to go early in the day. In late afternoon, which is when we went, the butterfies are less active; they start to fold up and go to sleep. The gentleman who showed us around offered to us to come back early the next day at no additional charge, because he wanted us to see more...very knowledgeable man and very nice.

We had a 2 1/2 year old with us and he loved, loved, loved it. It is a great experience. Plan on spending about 1 hour there and don't forget your camera! The entrance fee was $4 for adults and $2 for children.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow. Lots of butterflies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We used mountain bikes to get to the site; a fun, sweaty adventure in itself. Two young American volunteers greeted us warmly and offered us water. They had a very thorough knowledge of the butterfly species and their habits. They offered guidance and information, then let us enjoy on our own. My partner got some excellent photos, including a couple of a butterfly who settled on my hat for a couple minutes!! The grounds include a short circular walking trail which allows for an extension of this peaceful experience. I really enjoyed this place.
1 hr. is probably good for most people. My photography enthusiast and I were there longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicaragua Butterfly Reserve also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Nicaragua Butterfly Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicaragua Butterfly Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.