We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is good, the chef is H-O-T” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Japanese Dining Bar KANPAI

Japanese Dining Bar KANPAI
Calle Estrada, near Hotel Oasis | In Front of Hostel Amigos de Casa Roja, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
+505 2552 3111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 112 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Japanese, Asian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Japanese food. Fresh sushi, tempura, sake and more. Japanese chef. International standards. Beautiful surroundings with ambiance and modern decor. A safe, well lit, 5-minute walk from the main tourist area (Calzada Street). Great for couples, groups and business meetings or just one. Lots of local information and advice on traveling around.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“The food is good, the chef is H-O-T”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I don't eat sushi but all my friends do and they love Kanpai. I go for the tempura, pork and other non-sushi items. It is clean, the staff are fun and the food safe and tasty. For 6 the bill was under $100, what 2 people can pay in LA. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    15
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you've got a hankering for sushi in Nicaragua, have no fear, KANPAI is here. Great sushi for a good value. If you're traveling through Granada, make sure to stop here at least once. And if you're headed there tonight, you'll see me ordering some dragon rolls.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Super good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just wandered across the road from our hostel, lost track of time so we didn't want to go far. So we thought we would give this place a try.

Turned out great!

Staff were super nice. Read the little story on the table special menu, it's cool and u can defiantly feel those vibes running through the place.

The food was fresh and had great flavour. If you are in the market for something a little different don't miss this place

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about Kanpai. Stepping into the restaurant is like stepping into a place many miles away from Granada. It is a great place to have a meal with a date, a family, or friends. The food is outstanding and authentic. The best part about restaurant, however, is the love and warmth the owners/managers, Rick and Masaya, have for the restaurant, the food, their patrons, Granada, travels, and everyone/everything in between. They're great people that are dedicated to serving a great experience. They have a wonderful story (written on cards placed at every table) and are two of the greatest people I met on my trip to Nicaragua.

I highly recommend this restaurant if you are in or near Granada. Even just stopping in for a cocktail or an ice, ice cold Toña (after a 95+ degree day) will be something you'll never regret.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A taste of home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We live in Japan, but when we're traveling it's always fun to try that country's take on Japanese food. So we usually pop into one "Japanese" restaurant. This time Kanpai was right near our hostel, so we thought "why not?"

And so we walked into.... Japan. Design, atmosphere, chef... Yoshida brothers in the CD player. We forgot we were in Nicaragua for the whole night.

True, it's impossible to get all the right ingredients here, so they've had to improvise in places, but that's why we sometimes eat Japanese food abroad. Take the gyoza - they have to make the dough by hand here, so it's got a completely different texture, and because nira is unavailable, they've come up with an awesome original dipping sauce. So recommended.

We had some maki, takuwan, tamagoyaki, miso soup, rice with nori paste and the above mentioned gyoza. Oh, and of course, hot sake. All recommended.

Thanks to all for a surprising and super fun night, for the stories (ask them how they ended up in Nicaragua when this restaurant was planned for Japan), and for the random popcorn and rubik's cube lesson.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Dining Bar KANPAI also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Japanese Dining Bar KANPAI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japanese Dining Bar KANPAI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.