We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Consulado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa del Consulado to your Saves list
Hotel Casa del Consulado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle El Consulado, 105 | From Banpro, 30 Feet West, Granada 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quiet with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The location is great! It's only 2 blocks from the central park which is perfect because if it was closer than it would be loud and you'd hear honking cars. Oddly enough, we were the ONLY guests staying in the hotel! This made it even quieter and more relaxed. The hotel has 2 nice courtyards and the hotel is really pretty.

Our room is very large! We were nervous it wouldn't cool down because it's so large and air conditioning is this part of the world can be sketchy, but the air conditioning was awesome!! The pool is nice and all the staff are very kind. The TV is very nice in the room. The breakfast was good, although there were no fried plantains in one of the dishes when there should have been.

I gave it 4 stars because the shower virtually stopped working one day. Only little dribbles of water came out. One day was alright but weak water pressure and the next day hardly worked. We had a lot of mosquitoes in our room and got bit a lot. Hotels can have some control over this by setting up mosquito traps or spraying.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    15
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
24
35
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed in Casa Consuado for over a month at the Masaya suite. It was a wonderful stay! The room is big and the bathroom a dream with beautiful views over la Merced. Serene nights at the balcony hammocks and late laps at the very private swimming pool; all this just steps away from the main square and the Calzada area. It was my home and my family in Granada (both owners, staff and my sweet Canadian neighbouring guests), can't wait to go back to be so well taken care once again.

Room Tip: All are big and nice, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We fell in love with Hotel Casa Consulado the moment we walked in. It's bright colors and tranquil fountains were very beautiful and inviting. The rooms (we happened to see 3) were all very dramatic and beautiful with high ceilings, huge bathrooms with stonework (ours even had a garden in it!) and a chandelier. They were also very accomodating for our family of 5 and provided us with an extra bed (not a rollaway but an actual bed). Breakfast was provided and was very delicious. Everyone working at the hotel was very kind and spoke very good English. The location is also great as it is close to the central park area. We highly recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms do not have windows which is different for us Americans but it makes for a very da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It's very attractive with beautiful courtyards a lovely clean pool and spacious, comfortable rooms. The location is very convenient for the central square, but still very quiet and peaceful. There were a good choice of breakfasts and they were very enjoyable. There was a computer with internet and wi fi for guests to use. Our only problems were with organisation as the hotel email address we used when booking had changed and they forgot to pick us up from the airport. When we managed to contact them and ask them to collect us from the then closed airport, they put us in the wrong room for the first night. However, they made the necessary changes and gave us a meal at one of their other businesses to compensate and we enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It is a pretty place and private. There are only a few rooms. We stayed in Volcano Mombacho room upstairs and it was nice. We could sit outside and relax a bit. The hotel is only few min away from the main square on a quiet street. Breakfast is ok - meets the Nicaraguan standard. There is also a small pool. Didn't see anyone using it though.

The hotel itself is lovely but the room was quite basic. There was nothing wrong with it but I guess I expected a slightly better standard. Good for Nicaraguan standards though.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs as they are more private. There are only two. We stayed in a room called Volcan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Visited this place early in February. Has WiFi and so much more! What a special atmosphere this place has. The bathroom in the room I was in had A blue and a scarlet Macaw painted on the wall. The stucco was comming apart from the wall which was sad as the painting was on this wall. i took a photo. Wished I had of taken more photo's. Right outside the room is this pool and the water is a beautiful clear blue and it is inside the hotel. Down stairs there are only 4 rooms and this place costs from $80 to $120/night. I just can stop thinking about this place and I want to go back next year for a week. I feel like a Roman in his palace while I'm here.

Room Tip: Walk in the door and pick one. None of the rooms down stairs around the pool are bad. It is so sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel was so perfect in every way. I usually do not write reviews...I'm much too lazy. However, I promised the hotel that I would sign up for tripadvisor simply to write them a review, because our experience at the hotel was so fantastic.

For the amount that we were paying, I wasn't expecting much more than a few notches above your typical hostel, but we were in for a wonderful surprise.

The accommodations were so beautiful. It had all the local quaintness with all the modern conveniences. We stayed in the Volcan Masaya suite. Walking in, there was an open area with a chaise and small table. Then, turning to the right was the sleeping area. I feel like these rooms were designed to make the best use of natural light. The bed was comfortable and clean (which doesn't happen as often as you'd think in Nica). As for the bathroom...it was roomy and gorgeous. A nice bathroom isn't usually on my list of requirements for a bathroom...but it certainly doesn't hurt! The A/C actually worked and we even had Wifi in our room.

As for the breakfasts, they were so delicious. We ate breakfasts in other towns in Nica and none of them came close. The juice was fresh and changed everyday. Passionfruit, pineapple, orange, and papaya - and every single one of them was delicious. The eggs were also exceptional. Overall, so so so good.

The location is close to main areas in Granada, however, it's located on a quiet street. You get the best of both worlds. The hotel also closes its gates once all the guests are in their rooms. There was actually a man waiting for us to come back before he closed the gates.

The front desk service was also fantastic. They helped us with whatever we needed. They made reservations for restaurants for us and helped us find reasonably priced transportation. (Random Tip: Go to Las Colinas and get the pescado in garlic sauce. Amazing)

I wish this wasn't the first place that we stayed at, because the subsequent hotels didn't even hold a torch. Great hotel, great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#5 of 35 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#9 of 35 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#7 of 35 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#10 of 35 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 35 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Consulado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Consulado

Address: Calle El Consulado, 105 | From Banpro, 30 Feet West, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Consulado 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Casa del Consulado is a unique and modern Hotel concept, where you can feel the passage of time in the city of Granada. Ideal for couples who enjoy the small details and great experiences, or people who come to do business and need a suitable place to rest and work. The 14 luxury rooms are fully equipped and each has been designed to reflect the wonderful country that is Nicaragua. Our mission is to exceed expectations, never forgetting our commitment to the environment. The Hotel also has a private pool, big screen TV with satellite (SKY) to broadcast live sporting events and movies every night. We have a Spa where massages are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Casa del Consulado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Consulado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.