We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in downtown Granada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colonial to your Saves list
Hotel Colonial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parque Central 25 varas al Oeste, Granada 0000, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“A great hotel in downtown Granada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed here with a group of students in May, stayed for 3 days in Nicaragua, all in Granada. The location was very clean and quite beautiful, located right downtown granada, included 2 pools which were always clean and cool to swim in and filled with welcoming plants and decorations.The rooms were comfortable, clean and had fast, free internet access. The staff there was very friendly, came over at every possible occasion to make sure that our stay was enjoyable, recommend attractions and locations to eat, and make general inquiries as to how our day was going. For me it was the staff that made the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear "BLewis"

Thank you so much for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us down south and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards to Ottawa from Granada

Jacqueline & Remo
Management
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    110
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
101
160
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlslunde, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel 9 times before during the last 11 years, 1 to 2 weeks every time. Service has always been exellent, Staff at reception, restaurant, bar always effektive with a smile. Exellent breakfast. Room always clean and the staff taking care of that makes it perfect.
When not going for a tour or visiting our family living in Granada, we spend many hours at the nice pool, small but refreshing. Annalise and Arne, Denmark

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Arne

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards Karlslunde from Granada

Jacqueline & Remo
Management
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

On our previous trip to Granada in May, we stayed at Plaza Colon and Patio del Malinche which were both excellent hotels. This time we decided to book for two weeks at Hotel Colonial. I travel to Managua each day with a driver and my wife is taking Spanish lessons. Granada is great.

In our opinion, the Hotel Colonial is the best. It is 100 feet from the Central Park. It looks like an old hotel, but was built from scratch in the old-style about eight years ago. The patios are very nice, two small suite pools, excellent breakfast and a great room. We have room eight and are very satisfied. The staff is very friendly and so is the owner. The price is reasonable.

Everything in the old city is within walking distance. The cathedral is one block across the park. The market is two blocks away. The restaurant street is two blocks away. We are enjoying ourselves a lot. Granada is a nice city that is just touristy enough to have decent hotels and restaurants, but is not overwhelmed with busloads of tourists.

We give Hotel Colonial our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear "CAK45"

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada

Jacqueline & Remo
Management
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hosts are fantastic, the pools are perfect, and the breakfasts inexpensive and yummy! We spent Easter with Hotel Colonial, and ziplined down a volcano, then toured an amazing coffee plantation. Nicaragua IS Costa Rica 30 years ago, and we felt safe and sound in our comfy beds at this gem of a hotel. Cobblestone streets, horse drawn carriages, and fire throwing street performers outside of the hotel, and a lovely sanctuary inside with fountains and pools. I loved every minute, and so did the kids!

Room Tip: The suites are great for families of 4-5 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Oceanna

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you an your family liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada up north to California

Jacqueline & Remo
Management
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with the friendliest staff. We enjoyed the swimming pool and breakfast as well as air conditioning, cable, and hot water, which was shocking compared to many hotels we stayed in in Nicaragua that did not have these amenities. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. It was just a short walk down the street to the main square and Cathedral! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Granada!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Megan

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope really to see you again at Hotel Colonial. Be always welcome

Best regards from Granada

Remo
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in Granada and this one was the best. The staff is top-notch and very helpful. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The best rooms are the ones with the garden tub--well worth the price if you like soaking in the tub. There are 2 pools to cool off in, there is a bar on site, and the restaurant serves a good full breakfast. Great location right near central park, but not too noisy. This isn't the cheapest hotel, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the garden tub if you like soaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Dirk

Thank you very much for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada

Remo
Management
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about this place, and the people who work here. Beautiful and relaxing spot right in the center of Granada. We were there in early May, and the hotel was peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Reva

Thank you for you kind comment on tripadvisor. We are happy that you did like your stay in Nicaragua and with us. ... and if one day you should come back: be always welcome at the Hotel Colonial. We would look forward seeing you again.

Kind regards towards New Jersey

Jacqueline & Remo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#5 of 35 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#7 of 35 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#10 of 35 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 35 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Granada
Hotel Granada
#25 of 35 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Parque Central 25 varas al Oeste, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.