We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Colonial to your Saves list
Hotel Colonial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Del Parque Central 25 Metros Al Oeste, Calle la Libertad, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3x2 enjoy 3 nights, pay 2
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights in August. The welcome at reception was warm and friendly, the room (no2) on the ground floor was large and comfortable, although a little on the dark side. The pool and bar area was clean and the staff very friendly, and the breakfasts were very good, if a little on the large side.

The calm, quiet and serene nature of this hotel is such a welcome contrast from the noise and dust of Granada's main square just outside the front door. I had a fabulous time in this city and at this hotel and I would have no hesitation in returning or recommending it to any of my friends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    76
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
125
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Staff was great, very clean rooms, nice showers, bed was comfortable (King size). Two swimming pools. everyone working there always had a smile. I lived in Nicaragua for 5 years off and on and never been inside. i was very impressed and my children loved it as well.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masachapa, Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great hotel at a great price and located just off the main plaza in Granada. The rooms are spacious and well decorated with all the amenities you would expect. Very nice pool though small. On the day we were there size made no difference as no one was using the pool! Within the complex is a very homey bar along with outdoor table seating. The restaurant offers a varied menu though I can not comment on the quality of the food as we did not eat there. Next time... I would recommend this hotel due to its proximity to the heart of the entertainment district in Granada.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

At the end of a gruelling charity bike through Panama, Costa Rica and Nicaragua our last stop was at the Hotel Colonial. May be it was because we'd stayed in cheap digs and camped all week but it felt really luxurious to our tired bodies!

The rooms were plush and the bed super comfy. The hot water was rather hit and miss but it was warm enough not to be too much of an issue.

Lovely little pool with a bar. But it took forever to get a drink so you had to plan ahead and buy two at a time.

We had an organised meal in and this was poor but I don't think they normally do evening meals.

Breakfasts were good - great pancakes with honey and fruit.

Great central location for wandering out day and night.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hotel Colonial was right in the heart of Granada so we were easily able to explore the city while going on day excursions to the various volcanoes and canoeing in Lake Nicaragua. Most of their staff spoke English which was also helpful for us and their front desk is staffed 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

withing walking distance to central park, banks, bars, restaurants, and la calzada blvd this hotel colonial has a very friendly staff and very helpfull hotel has large rooms and a very good air conditioner a must on a hot weather city also you walk to the cathedral a very short walk for the money is the best i highly recomend this hotel ...we,ll come back again and recomend to every one it also has a travel agency that will help for city tours ask for ..julian will help you a lot and the most important 2 pools open all day to enjoy your stay

Room Tip: rooms are large and where ever you stay they all are quiet and very clean,air conditioners in every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ceiba, Atlantida, Honduras
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Located half a block from Granada's central park, within walking distance of many restaurants, bars, ATM machines, etc. two pools, pleasant colonial architecture with modern amenities. A great option in Granada!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Del Parque Central 25 Metros Al Oeste, Calle la Libertad, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. Directed by Swiss Management. It is also the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 36 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you many kind of a la carte breakfasts. The whole team tries everything that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.