We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culture at last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Museo

Mi Museo
Calle Atravesada, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
505-2552-7614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17 Attractions in Granada
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mi Museo, Granada Collection, is a private collection of Nicaraguan Pre-Columbian ceramics that is open to the public at no charge. The collection contains more than 5000 pieces which originate from the period between 2000 BC to 1550 AD. Mi Museo is located in the historical center of the oldest colonial city on the continent, Granada , in a building dating back to 1868. The building was restored with attention to its original design and preserving as many of the original features as possible.
Manual Antonio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Culture at last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

After awhile in Costa RIca, it began to feel like history had not been made much of there. In fact, many of the artifacts they could have are in this museum, which had wonderful artifacts going back 10,000 years. The tour guide was not so amazing, but she volunteered to inform us, and she had some good information. It's free, right next to the chocolate-making place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Collection of Pre-Colombian Pottery and Artifacts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We really enjoyed the museum, it's hard to believe but there is not admission fee. We were very impressed with the size of the collection, we asked for a guide to tell us what we were seeing. I wish she would have explained more details and be more knowledgeable about the collection.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Take a look!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

There's some very nice pottery here. What's amazing is that quite a few original pieces are out in the open where anyone could touch them, etc. And there are some beautiful new pieces of pottery, too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a private collection of pre-colombian cheramics. Very impressive... And entrance is free!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing Relics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Not only one of the biggest arquelogical colections in Nicaragua but also the local guides will give a very detail description of what the ancestors of america used to do on their everyday living.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Museo also viewed

 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Mi Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Museo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.