We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal El Momento

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal El Momento
Save
You added Hostal El Momento to your Saves list
104 Calle el Arsenal, Granada 0010, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Granada B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I spent more than a week there, a couple of days in the dorm and the rest in different private rooms. Everything is very clean, nicely decorated, friendly and helpful staff. The food is also good - lots of Vegetarian options. It's not a party hostel - it gets very quiet after 11 p.m. - which is what I wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    44
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
47
62
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Super clean, fantastic room (private two person room) had our own washroom, tv and fan. Gorgeous little garden in the middle of the hostel, free Internet, cheap meals and drinks and a very friendly staff. It's too bad I only stayed here for one night before continuing on my trip because it was a wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in the room off the kitchen (I can't remember the number). The place was very clean, spacious, quiet and safe. It is gated and people have to be let in by an employee. They provided soap, shampoo and face clothes (A nice touch!). The location is also perfect! You are 2 mins from the main square where you will find the Cathedral, restaurants, carriage rides, etc. It is on a quiet but well lit street.

The food at the restaurant was fresh and quite good. The service was great from start to finish. We arrived a bit earlier than expected, but they already had our room ready (and the hostel was full!). Zacharias was very helpful in suggesting local restaurants/bars and help us plan our transportation to Rivas/San Jorge. The owner organized a day trip to Laguna de Apoyo for an affordable price (11$ a person, including transportation), on a Sunday - which is a hard to day to get around on in Nicaragua.

They also had a computer and 2 ipads that guest could use for free. They have great common areas, both inside (where there is a TV and a selection of movies) and outside where there are various areas with comfortable chairs and hammocks. It is easy to find a little corner to be alone or sit with other guests to chat.

They also have a kitchen with a small stove and fridge that guest can make and keep food in.

Overall, our experience was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ideally nestled in Granada's center, just two streets from the main square. The street is safe and close to several restaurants. The staff are especially friendly and helpful, so feel free to ask them for help. The room was quite OK, with no noise at all, an efficient fan, and the patio for some fresh air in the evening...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Oasis for a few nights before bring able to get a room here. So glad we got to stay. Beautiful private rooms with private baths, clean and a great vibe. Compared to any other hostel we stayed at in Granada, this is a cut above for sure. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great hostel in a safer location than many others, reasonable prices and awesome rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonyc32
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed in El Momento for three nights based on the review on TA. I stayed in the dorm.

The dorms have a number of double beds. I had one and loved it of course! Only seen double beds in dorms a handful of times on my travels and love it every time.

Location is excellent. Minutes from the Cathedral and main areas.

My friends in other hostels, which shall remain unnamed, actually left theirs to join me at El Momento.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hostel El Momento boasts an amazing courtyard are and lobby with iPads and Internet that you can use for free. Our group stayed in three private rooms that were all beautifully decorated and had their own fans. The shared bathrooms and kitchen were kept clean.

One of our favorite things was that the hostel really quieted down after 10ish so you could get a good night's sleep.

Christopher and his staff were very kind, helpful and willing to work with us! If you're looking for a hostel in Granada, I'd highly recommend El Momento.

Room Tip: The private room upstairs is fun to stay in and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal El Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Momento

Address: 104 Calle el Arsenal, Granada 0010, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 yr old Colonial House in the heart of Granada and a 2 min walk to Calzalda St. There is a bank on the same street and the others are less than 1 min away. We have a beautiful garden in the centre of the house with the bar, cafe, spa and all rooms surrounding it. We have used local artists and furniture makers to keep with this style of house.All privates have free Wifi, cable tv and secure safes.The dorms have lockers for all bags.All the bathrooms have new tiling , the beds are new with new mattresses. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal El Momento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.