We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Puente Palmira 1 cuadra al este, 1 cuadra al sur, 25 varas al este | Puente Palmira 1 cuadra al este, 1 cuadra al sur, 25 varas al este, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service from friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My son and I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The rooms were spotless, the garden very neat and welcoming. But the outstanding thing about this hotel was the enthusiasm and helpfulness of the ladies who manage the hotel. All in all a great place to stay for a reasonable tariff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    33
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
49
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Casa Barcelona for 6 nights in November 2012. When looking online before we booked we were a little hesitant about the 10 minute walk and whether it was safe at night, but we walked back from the central tourist area every night between 9 and 11pm and never felt at all unsafe.

As others have mentioned, the very best part about the hotel is Yexira (the owner) and Josepha - oh, and their dogs, Shakira and Apolo! They are extremely welcoming, fantastic cooks and speak excellent English. Since it was our first time in Nicaragua, we had lots of questions about everyday life and they were very happy to answer them all.

The walk to the tourist center of Granada takes 10 minutes through the market (or you can cut around the side to find quieter streets). We actually found this to be an interesting part of our day considering that the tourist area of Granada really is quite touristy. Our Spanish is pretty rudimentary, but if you were able to converse in Spanish it would probably make the walk even more interesting.

On a typical day we would walk into town in the morning, spend the day looking around/doing a tour, then return to Casa Barcelona in the afternoon, have a rest and take a shower and then head back out for dinner. I think taxis are fairly cheap (maybe 50 cents), but we never took one and just walked back and forth. Several of the tour operator who take you to Volcan Mombacho will stop by the hotel to pick you up, and probably for some of the other tours too.

Hotel Casa Barcelona was the first place we stayed in Nicaragua so we had nothing to compare it to at the time, but we stayed at a couple of different hotels in Leon and on the coast later in our trip where the rooms were the same price, but nowhere near as nice. Our room was new and nicely decorated with plenty of space to unpack our clothes. The communal areas are also very nice with "hammock chairs" to relax in.

They organized a pick up from the airport for us, and we didn't have any problems, they were there waiting for us with a sign that we saw before we exited into the main terminal.

Lastly, the food they prepared was really great. We only ate breakfast there, but it was delicious, and on our last day they made us a Nicaraguan specialty which was similar to rice pudding as well as introducing us to other Nicaraguan dishes during our stay.

We would definitely stay here again if we were visiting Granada, and the staff really are exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

First minute we walking in , we were so welcomed!The ladies were wonderful. They have two friendly dogs, Apollo and Shakira.

When we got there, we thought it was a odd neighborhood because you are 15 mins( walking distance) away from the heart of Granada. It is such a quiet spot and you have everything you need at Hotel Casa Barcelona. We had to leave at 6 am the next day so we were able to get breakfast and it was nice hearty one.

I recommend it to anybody and next time we are going back to Granada, we definitely staying there again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel Casa Barcelona is set beautifully beyond a spacious reception and dining area in a lush garden in a quiet part of town. From the moment we walked in the staff assisted us with local information, even calling around on our behalf to find the best prices for activities, not to mention tips on places to visit and eat in the area.

We traveled as a couple and a single with rooms each and found the level of service in particular to the rooms was 5 star hotel standard. They were thoroughly cleaned every day, towels and items arranged neatly and nicely, like the room was made up for new guests. Our friend had some sores from having climbed Volcano Maderas several days prior. The staff boiled up an anti-septic natural tea that she could use on her sores, which helped immensely. They also helped with her unsettled stomach by providing ginger tea. Even the laundry service was amazing, they managed to remove stains from t-shirts that were otherwise immoveable.

Given the hotels proximity to the center of town, it's best to get taxi's back late at night, but we did on some occasions eat at the hotel, which was great. The Carbonara is particuarly good. As are the breakfasts.

The hotel is within walking distance to the main tourist center. It's probably a 10-15 minute walk through the market and busier, more local areas of Granada. Those seeking an authentic experience will enjoy this as there's great local shops, some great barbers for those needing a haircut, and some pharmacies as well. It can be bustling, but it's what you're here to see, real life; as Granada can often be very touristy. Having said that, both the Garden Cafe and the music cafe Imagine are great places in town to stop.

But make sure you stay here. The comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, care of the staff and quality of the food are hard to beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a night in November. The staff was excellent (very friendly!) and the room was extremely clean. We were greeted with a fresh lemonade (cold, with ice-- perfect!) and cookies. We ended up staying only a night since we weren't keen on the location-- it's not just that it's a few blocks (5 I think) off the plaza, but it is also past the street market and Pali grocery store. We preferred to be closer to the city center, which was a bummer since everything else about the place was great. One thing I should also note is that I had requested a driver to meet us at the airport in Managua, and we never saw him there so after waiting an hour we took a taxi. When we got to the hotel she said the driver was still at the airport waiting for us. Yikes! Not sure what happened but they were nice about it and it wasn't a big deal for us. Also the bed was pretty firm for our taste.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern U.S.
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Yes, it is a few minute’s walk from the hustle and bustle of the major tourism area, but that makes for a more quiet location. The owners/staff make it very clear from the onset that providing exceptional service is important to them. We walked from the bus stop (inbound from Managua) near the main square. We found signs and made our way after a few false turns. After crossing the bridge there is a very short uphill stroll where I slipped and fell on a wet slippery place. The staff took us to our room before even checking us in so I could shower the mud/dirt off. They even took my soiled clothes and laundered them for free. The rooms are extremely clean. We found the beds a bit firm, but that is a personal taste. For all of our area outings, we received great info, in English. When we elected to eat dinner one evening at a nearby restaurant, they even sent a young man to escort us to make certain we found the right place. Great experience!
Addendum: If you arrive after dark, take a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Other than the location, this is a great little place. Very friendly, a great breakfast and nice rooms. Unfortunately the location lets it down…although central Granada’s pretty touristy and very quaint, get a little outside of it and it goes downhill (probably a bit harsh…you just swap tourists and clean streets for locals and chaos!!) which means that you’re always a little on edge when walking home from a bar or dinner after dark. We never saw anything bad or had any reason to suspect anything bad but I’d definitely not recommend this place to a solo traveller or a couple of girls – purely because of the location. A shame as it’s a lovely place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Barcelona

Address: Puente Palmira 1 cuadra al este, 1 cuadra al sur, 25 varas al este | Puente Palmira 1 cuadra al este, 1 cuadra al sur, 25 varas al este, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Barcelona is the perfect place to stay in Granada for your holidays or business trips. Our accommodation is clean, familiar friendly and safe. It is also the perfect starting point for countless tours and explore the rest of this extraordinary country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Casa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.