We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciudad Lounge

Ciudad Lounge
Calle la Libertad | Calle La Libertad - ArtesaNic, Granada 00000, Nicaragua
+505 2552 6496
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 108 Restaurants in Granada
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Named "most exciting restaurant in Granada, Nicaragua," by the New York Times. CIUDAD LOUNGE was created for your comfort and pleasure and to elevate the culinary offerings and style in Granada, Nicaragua. We take only our food and service seriously - everything else is cool. Yes; we have a well stocked cigar lounge, but no smoke - because of our design layout. Eat, drink, smoke & feel like a king, or Snow White.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great food, great service, great ambiance - unfortunately a bit expensive. We will come for sure again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william l, Owner at Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Distinct Guest.

We are a fine dinning restaurant that welcomes people of great taste, such as you.

Best for the Best.

Your Hosts
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
g r a n a d a, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    20
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular food, the experimental style a bit off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The food was absolutely stunning: top quality ingredients beautifully presented; portions generous without being obscene; and incredibly flavorful and original. I cannot speak highly enough of the food and the chef, Esteban Blanco. Estaban is Spanish with a Manhattan accent, and a world-rich background, which reflects well in his cooking. The menu changes each Thursday and is diverse despite being fairly short. Everything from appetizers to dessert was truly a delight, world class, easily on par with the best restaurants in the U.S.

We spent an afternoon with the owner of Ciudad Lounge learning about the restaurant's goals, and later ate dinner there. I was glad to learn why things were done certain ways, because otherwise I think it would not have made much sense.

The owner, William, is seeking to create an ambiance and scene that are unique, relaxing, special, and very, very comfortable. For the most part, he has succeeded. The place is beautiful, spacious, comfortable, and elegant. The service is attentive and thorough. The restaurant is several blocks away from the tourist district, and in an odd location, but once you come through the doors, you are enveloped in an oasis of rich delights. I could spend every evening there for a year.

However it's still a bit off. Most seating is in lounge chairs with coffee tables, and that's an awkward way to sit for dinner. There are only two dining room tables in the place, and we had to ask to be moved to one of them for the dinner, which was well worth it. But the end chairs are absolutely unmovable due to their weight and shape, so there is no way to get the chair under the table while you're sitting in it, or to get back out. (The good news is that if there's a hurricane, that chair won't move an inch.) So I'd recommend to William to use normal tables and chairs for all dining, and to reserve the lounge feeling for the pre-dinner drinks and a post-prandial cigar only.

Nonetheless, overall this restaurant is absolutely worth visiting. No question about that.

Suggestions for the restaurant: invest in a wine cooler, so the red wines are at cellar temperature. Go with conventional tables and chairs. William or his wife should visit each table, as they are charming, wonderful hosts who bring so much to the diner's experience.

Suggestions for guests: Come around 8 p.m. Request a normal height table. Dress for the weather, as the main lounge is open to the skies and so there is no A/C. Plan to spend several hours for your meal, as it is leisurely and relaxing. Order anything at all, as it will be incredible.

Overall: I love this restaurant, and recommend it to anyone who cares about food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to visit for a special meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We chose this place as we wanted somewhere a bit special to celebrate a joint birthday. We had a lovely evening! The service was excellent and we were made to feel very comfortable and welcome.The food was beautifully prepared and presented, particularly the appetisers. There was good attention to detail. The owners joined us for a celebratory drink after our meals and helped to make it a very memorable evening. Would definitely recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william l, Owner at Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guests.

Birthdays are a reason to celebrate with Champagne.
Glad you chose to be with friends at CIUDAD LOUNGE.

Cheers!

Your Hosts.
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
g r a n a d a, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Although at the upper end of our budget the money was well spent. Both the steak and fish were cooked to perfection. Along with an excellent bottle of south american wine and the friendly company of the hosts, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience.
Will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william l, Owner at Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Travelers.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for visiting CIUDAD LOUNGE on your brief stay in Granada, Nicaragua.

Best for the Best

Your Hosts
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
g r a n a d a, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“May be the best restaurant in Nicaragua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant many times and own a house in Granada. This is clearly the best restaurant in Granada, and perhaps in the country. Having traveled around the country extensively, I can find nothing better. The food, the design, the service the vib are all excellent; and this comes from a foodie.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william l, Owner at Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Granada Dweller.

“Among the most exciting restaurants in Nicaragua. CIUDAD LOUNGE.”
The New York Times, Published - January 13, 2013 (46 Places to go in 2013 List).

Thank you for your support of the growth of cuisine with style in Granada.

Best for the Best

Your Hosts
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
g r a n a d a, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciudad Lounge also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Ciudad Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciudad Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.