We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis-Mansion-Quaint-Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Patios Hotel

Save Saved
You added Los Patios Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Patios Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Corrales 525, Granada 00000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oasis-Mansion-Quaint-Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

There are no words to sum up how amazing this place is. I guess one should start with the staff: at the very least they were full of good information, and very professional. yet, my favorite part was how very personable they were - the truth is, when it was time to leave, we almost felt like we were leaving our new friends. Our hosts, Anna, Armando, and Xiomara, genuinely cared about us, our experience at Los Patios, and our experience in Granada.

My wife and I rented the balcony suite, and it was worth it. The view was amazing and the ambiance was exotic, tropical, peaceful, warm, all at the same time making you feel like you were at your home away from home.

The breakfast was amazing, and we had some great conversations with Eric, Ineborg's husband. The worst part about our 6 night stay was that it wasn't longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosPatiosgranada, Reception at Los Patios Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear MatthewdH,

Thank you so much for your nice words, we really appreciate you took your time writing to us about your experience here at Los Patios!

It is always a pleasure to have guests staying for a longer time just as you did! We enjoyed having you here at Los Patios, and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

We hope you had a safe and comfortable flight home!

Kind regards,
Los Patios Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
81
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This charming hotel is tucked away on a quiet street in beautiful Grenada. As others have noted, the accommodations are outstanding -- refreshing open air layout, private pool and patio, spacious rooms and bathrooms plus a delicious, hearty breakfast. (Try the Nica!)

Even with all of that, what really sets this hotel apart is the incredible staff -- throughout my stay, Xiomara, Armando, and everyone else I encountered were extremely helpful and gracious. Upon leaving, I was disappointed to discover I had left my jacket behind in my hotel room. However, after contacting Armando, he was quickly able to locate my jacket; he then went to the local post office to get a shipping quote, confirmed the price with me, and arranged to have it shipped directly to my home in the States. Although the trip certainly would have been worth one lost article of clothing, I am grateful to him and the rest of the staff for going above and beyond to make my stay perfect. For all visitors contemplating a visit to Los Patios, rest assured that you are in good hands!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosPatiosgranada, Reception at Los Patios Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Liz W,

Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, as much as we enjoyed having you here!

We are always glad to help with whatever it may be. It is good to hear that the jacket arrived in a good condition!

We hope that you will return to Los Patios Hotel one day in the near future!

All the best and thanks a lot,

Los Patios Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alta gracia . cordoba
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stood with two friends for just one night shamely, the place it´s amazingly decorated, every corner of the five patios, the living room, the dining area, the zen garden, everything is stunning. Plus Xiomara,Armando and Anne were wonderfull host, asking all the time if we need anything, allways with a smile, allways respectfully. Something to talk about is the breakfast, what a wonderfull organic coffee they serve!! don´t you hesitate about it, if you want a relaxing and private experience, this is the place, even when we were sharing the hotel with 3 more others couples we didn´t notice them, there are so many spaces!! an 11 out of 10

Room Tip: the best room is the suite, is in the top of the pool and has a bathroom the size of my house and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosPatiosgranada, Reception at Los Patios Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Tatan111,

Thank you so much for your kind words about Los Patios Hotel!

It was a pleasure having you guys here with us even though for a very short time.

We strive to keep a very relaxing and familiar atmosphere here at the hotel, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it! The fact that we are not located right in the city center makes the hotel a very calm and relaxing space.

We wish you much luck with your journey!

Kind regards,

Los Patios Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Ingeborg is the owner here and she is absolutely wonderful. The Spanish architecture of this house-turned-hotel is inspiring and the service is unlike you will find anywhere else in Nicaragua.

If you are looking for corporate schmooze, this is not your place, but if you are looking for a personalized and unique experience, this is the best place to stay in Granada. Value is incredible.

Will return and I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosPatiosgranada, Reception at Los Patios Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Gth835s,

We are very glad that you took your time to share your opinion about the hotel. Thank you very much!

It makes us happy that you enjoyed the familiar and tranquil atmosphere here at our hotel even though it was for a short time! We hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

All the best,

Los Patios Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is misleading from the outside. Driving down the road getting further and further away from the historic centre I started to think "bugger", I've booked at an inconvenient location. On arrival, the small street frontage gives one no indication of what lies behind the doors and that's what makes this place so beautiful and unique.
On entry one discovers a magnificent boutique hotel that is beautifully done with sizeable and comfortable rooms and generous social spaces including a pool. The hotel used to be the home of a Danish family that has moved back to Denmark although they have left their "Scandinavian chic" design imprint on the hotel!
As mentioned, rooms are large with AC, wifi and modern bathrooms.
The Hotel is made up of a series of deep shade patios (as the name suggests) with various lounging areas including the pool. There is an honesty bar in the main lounge area which also doubles up as the breakfast area and a welcome retreat from the heat of the day to swim, read and rest.
Location turned out to not be as bad as anticipated as it was only 4 or so blocks away from the main street and centre and walkable within minutes through a safe neighbourhood that might "look" dodgy (as with many neighbourhoods in Granada) although is friendly and filled with families.
Highly recommended although misleading at first!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosPatiosgranada, Reception at Los Patios Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Griffin257,

We are really happy to read your review, and your experience and opinion of the hotel!

As you mentioned, the hotel doesn´t show from outside what it has to offer when you get inside the hotel.
We are located in a very calm and secure area of the city, and the fact that we are located a little walk from the main street with all the bars and restaurants makes this as you said "an oasis" where you will find tranquility and a relaxing feeling!

We enjoyed having you here with us, and we hope that your journey continues bringing you lots of interesting experiences exploring new places of the world!!


All the best,

Los Patios Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Bali
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The location is not for the faint of heart. However, it's architecture, interior design, and wonderful staff is Nicafabulous! I loved every detail of this hotel from the tiles, the faucets and expansive courtyards with life size chess board, and a game of Mills is truly modern. Stepping inside is a treasure trove of Hip modernity. Our suite had the best view in house as it overlooked the Mombacho Volcano, Cathedral and Lago Cocibola. It's super quiet and the staff are helpful but not overwhelmingly in your face. Our breakfast was included and the "Nicaraguan sampler" was delicious. French press coffee a plus. It reminded me of Mexico city's Downtown Hotel.
Stay here!! You will not regret! It's within walking distance to the Malecon and calle calzada.

Room Tip: Suite Please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosPatiosgranada, Reception at Los Patios Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Balinesque,

We are very happy to read your fantastic review of the hotel. We enjoyed having you here and are very glad to hear that you loved your stay in our suite.

We hope to see you back at Los Patios some day in the future!

Best wishes,
Los Patios Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Possibly one of the best places I've ever stayed! The location is perfect...in walking distance to the main square. The neighborhood is save and it was great to stay in a location surrounded by the local culture. We stayed in the master suite of this gorgeous hotel. The interior patios are beautiful...the entire place is so clean, calm and relaxing. The breakfast included in our stay was made that morning specifically for us...fresh fruit, eggs French press coffee. The pool was crystal clear. An unbelievable place to stay...I highly recommend it. We only stayed one night and did not have time to try the spa and get messages. But the hotel did organize a tour with a local who brought us to market in Masaya and to the Masaya Volcano.

Room Tip: Request the master suite with balcony. Waking up to view out the balcony was a highlight of my vacat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosPatiosgranada, Reception at Los Patios Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jennifer G,

What a nice review! We very much appreciate that you took your time to share your opinion and experiences of the hotel and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed it as much as you did.

It was a pleasure having you here, and we hope to see you back at Los Patios - and next time hopefully for a bit longer time!

Best wishes,
Los Patios Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Patios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Patios Hotel

Address: Calle Corrales 525, Granada 00000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Patios Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Patios Hotel is a boutique design hotel located in Granada, considered the most beautiful city in Nicaragua. The hotel features five patios, an outdoor lap pool with natural spring water and a recently built Spa area. In designing the hotel, the Danish owners blended the modernity of Scandinavian style with the tradition of Spanish colonial style.Amenities in each of the five hotel rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable tv, wireless internet service, as well as many other details to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Our deluxe suite features its own personal balcony with a magnificent view of the Cocibolca Lake and its islands, the Mombacho volcano, the Cathedral and the mountain chain of Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Los Patios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Patios Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.