We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Padrino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Il Padrino Hotel to your Saves list
Il Padrino Hotel
Del Convento San Francisco | 1 Cuadra 1/2 al Norte, Frente al Gimnasio Sports, Granada, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel la Mesa del Padrino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Like the previous reviewer, what can I say that hasn't already been said? This place is fantastic. Wonderful hosts, great location an easy and safe walk from the center of town, and the hotel itself is beautiful and quiet. I was a little wary about the lack of air conditioning, but I found it wasn't really necessary. I haven't stayed at many places that I'd recommend to basically anyone regardless of budget or travel interests, but this is definitely one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
32
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Previous reviews have pretty much said it all.

Great hosts, pleasant rooms (with lots of light and exposure to the garden courtyard) & good location.

I suggest reserving early as they fill their five rooms quickly

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have stayed in many small hotels and bed and breakfasts over the years but this is the first time we've felt compelled to write a review. Stephen and Toby are as been said many times are incredible hosts. We stayed for two weeks, (and may be back in the fall) and felt there was a wonderful blend of being made to feel welcome yet not feeling obliged to sit and talk everyday.

We we're able to see many parts of the countryside simply by Stephan letting us know he was running errands and asking if we wanted to tag along.

The location is perfect. Less then two safe blocks away from the main drag it allows for a very short walk to Granada's most touristed avenue or main square.

The price is amazing even for Nica standards. As has been noted there is no air-conditioning however as anyone who has traveled to Central America would attest to a well placed, quiet, and fast ceiling fan cools you off very well without the shock to your system that comes from walking out of a refrigerator when it's 34 above C.

Again HIGHLY recommended even for those who don't always travel on a budget!

Room Tip: Room 1 has no neighbors but we moved and although the hotel was full we could hear nothing from eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The owners, Stephen and Toby, are incredible hosts. We felt like we were apart of the family. They gave great suggestions, shared some drinks, and offered a few rides during our stay. The rooms have a nice balance between Spanish colonial with a modern flare. The location is in a safe area, yet close to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Solola, Guatemala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I highly recommend II Padrino! There was great thought that went into the design of this establishment and it shows in all the little details of the rooms. Everything from the lighting, to the tiles. I love the fact that much was the owners tried to retain the "Nica" feel of the hotel without making some over designed Euro/Western monstrosity.

Loved how comfy and cozy the room was. Minimalist design with some great accents. The common area is amazing during the day and the eating area (for the upcoming restaurant) is amazing. Would of loved to eaten more often in the area.

Stephen and Toby(owners/manager) went out of their way to answer any/all questions/requests. They made sure that they were available for anything but they also respected your space, and left you alone when you needed time. Stephen was also kind enough to let us invite friends over for an impromptu dinner party (and let us use his utensils/equipment). Got to talk to Stephen and Toby also for quite a bit. Great fellows! They were always down to sit and talk about everything "Nica", and the world.

The hotel is conveniently located near the central plaza but far enough from all the hustle and bustle of the tourists, and tourist traps. WE LOVE THIS PLACE!! We would of stayed longer if we could. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Rooms near the kitchen are awesome. Make use of the kitchen if you are staying long term and want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is a great hotel. The rooms are large and very clean, the ceiling fans put out so much air you don't need air conditioning and the bathrooms are huge, but none of that compares to the owners, Steven & Toby are wonderful, they treat you like family and they know all the best places to go in Nicaragua. Be sure to ask them where to go for Mojitos or better yet, get them to go with you, they know the owner and all the staff. I almost don't want to write this review because I am afraid they will get so popular I won't be able to get a room the next time I am in Granada but something this good has to be shared. The hotel is in a great location, close to the park and the "walking" street where all the tourist restaurants are. You will will not not go wrong at Il Padrino Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We were 6 people who stayed at Il Padrino for 4 nights in december 2011 and we were very glad that we choosed this place! It is very nice and clean and it feels like being in a home. We all got our creditcards hacked just before we arrived and ran out of money. Lucky for us, Stephen (the owner) offered to withdraw some money from his account that we could loan and by that we had money again: Great helpfullnes! We were also taken to a local place to eat in the back of his pickup, the first night when we didn't know where to go.
The location is also great, just 5 minutes walk from the center of the town. All in all, it was a very positive experience and I would highly reccomend this place to anyone else!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Padrino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Padrino Hotel

Address: Del Convento San Francisco | 1 Cuadra 1/2 al Norte, Frente al Gimnasio Sports, Granada, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel la Mesa del Padrino)
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel, in the centre of Granada, close to the main entertainment area in a very secure part of town. The rooms are located at the back of the building overlooking a tropical garden (an ongoing project). Swimming pool attached to the hotel and in front of a fitness centreNearly all Granada's main attractions are within easy walking distance. We can arrange transport to and from the hotel from anywhere in Nicaragua at very reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Il Padrino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Padrino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.