We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and off the beaten path” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Colinas

Las Colinas
Calle Atravesada S of City Center past the Mercado Municipal, Granada, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 108 Restaurants in Granada
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you want to experience something away from the (fun) mayhem of La Calsada, take a cab and go there: it's delicious, especially the whole fish, as well as the roast chicken and the steak. It looks like a huge hangar with a compacted dirt floor (very clean), bright fluorescent lights, totally local and unpretentious, with helpful staff that will uncork your bottle of wine if you bring your own (their offering is pretty limited). A classic in Granada that should not be missed..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Bend, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“guapote grande”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you are looking for whole grilled guapote (rainbow bass), this is the place. Although is is a bit off the beaten trail (which is also a plus - no vendors selling their wares). We took a carriage ride and asked the driver to drop us off, but it would be quicker and cheaper to higher a taxi.
My wife and I shared a grande guapote served with fresh steamed vegetables, and it was delicious. (Don't forget the cheek meat!)
A lesson learned about eating in Granada is that sometimes they will add 10% gratuity that is shared with all the staff, sometimes they don't; but the server is always expecting additional gratuity in cash (either Cord's or US$) and you can't add it to a credit card and expect the server to get it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy fish at Las Colinas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Las Colinas is a famous restaurant in Granada, Nicaragua. Their specialty is the whole guapote fish totally and almost miraculously de-spined. Oh and man is it good! The filet-o-fish (guapote too) are really good, especially the breaded ones with the garlic sauce on the side. It is not big on atmosphere but is so popular that many ex-presidents, Alejandro Fernández and Daniel Ortega have eaten there. Daniel usually drinks Coca Zero at room temperature. His wife, Rosario, drinks orange Fanta. The waiter told me so....

See more pictures here: http://goo.gl/7jHjo9

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The best and I have no financial interest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I don't do many of these because I don't think there's usually a great difference among restaurants. I am from San Francisco and I expect food to be much better than average . You MUST go to las colinas. Simply, they are the best restaurant in granada. No equivocation. Guapote is a fish that is caught daily in lake Nicaragua. I ate the same fish at Jicaro, a luxury resort, and it was very overcooked. At las colinas, el jefe cooked it perfectly, al vapor. The salads, the sides, the vino, and everyone else was perfect. I NEVER give anything cinco estrellas, but I do for las colinas. They will pick u up and take u back, gratis. Ask at your hotel. U won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic surroundings and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This place does not look like much: plastic tables on a dirt floor in an untidy neighbourhood. But we ordered their speciality fish, which wasn't expensive and both looked and tasted amazing. We very very impressed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Colinas also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.