We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cubana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Cubana to your Saves list
Casa Cubana
Calle La Libertad | 2 cuadras al norte de Iglesia Xalteva, Granada 012466, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 54 Granada B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great value, great location and terrific service. The breakfast alone is worth the price of the stay! All the charms of a small operation a short walk to the center of Granada. We wished we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
90
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Casa Cubana. The rooms are spectacular! We stayed in both the Clove and Ginger suites. The suites were large with great beds, nice furnishings and baths--we were a little overwhelmed at how nice everything was since we usually stay in more rustic places. My husband took a dip in the casa's pool each day and we enjoyed reading books and planning the next day's activities in the courtyard hammocks. Esther who manages the casa is very friendly and easy to talk to. She helped us arrange taxis, guides and gave great recommendations for restaurants and things to do. She is a well seasoned traveler and host who really knows how to take care of people and make them feel at home. We stayed for two nights at the beginning of our trip and a third night two weeks later at the end of our holiday. We were thrilled to return for one more night at Cubana and would not dream of going to Nicaragua again without staying there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Clove and Ginger Suites. The Ginger suite is a bit bigger with a really nice bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at Casa Cubana. It is a small operation bed and breakfast. There are rooms around the perimeter with a central open area of flowers, trees, a small pool, and hammocks and rocking chairs. There is also an open kitchen and dining room and it actually feels like you are living inside of someone's personal and beautiful home. We stayed in the beautiful Saffron Suite which is the only upstairs room and it overlooks the central pool and courtyard. Esther was very friendly and made us feel welcome. She was also spot on with restaurant recommendations.
The location of Casa Cubana is relatively far from the city center, but still is only a 7 block walk and was actually quite nice. I would definitely recommend this location to anyone out there looking for a comfortable and spacious Bed and Breakfast as long as they don't mind walking a few blocks to get to the central square.
The breakfast that Esther prepared of yogurt, granola, fruit followed by almond banana pancakes was delicious!

Room Tip: Saffron Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights at Casa Cubana. It is a pretty short walk to the Parque Central and lots of cool churches worth seeing.

Esther was great about helping us with restaurant recommendations, transportation, etc. She has a great personality and is very friendly without overdoing it. Just the right touch.

The rooms are spacious, and very clean. Beautiful garden and pool. Great breakfasts (thanks Hazel!) really get you going in the morning. Glad we decided to stay here instead of one of the more touristy places closer to the square.

I would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Saffron room is wonderful, but they all seem to be pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in the Saffron Room and it was one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. The spacious room has two balconies overlooking the lush courtyard and you can see the Mombacho Volcano in the distance. Wifi was included and worked in the room perfectly. The casa was very inviting and the host, Esther, was very friendly and helpful. She recommended a private tour guide named David who we ended up hiring for the 3 days we were there. David was also just as friendly and his prices were reasonable. We ended up touring the Isletas, Mombacho & Masaya Volcanos and the Laguna de Apoyo. David has extensive training in these areas and his tours were informative and fun. Ask him about the local fritas, tamales and other Nicaraguan foods that the locals mainly eat. You will love the local flavors as well as the whole fried "Guapote" fish. Ask Ester where to find the best fish in town. Also, you will love the included breakfast every morning as it was different and delicious each day we were there. This was our first B&B experience and now we can't go back to regular Hotel rooms. Thank you Casa Cubana for helping us have an excellent Nicaraguan vacation.

Room Tip: For couples, the 2nd floor Saffron room seemed to be the best choice
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I highly, highly recommend staying at Casa Cubana. Esther, its manager when we stayed there last week, is the epitome of a wonderful host: she will do as much or as little as you like or need to make your stay comfortable.

All the rooms are spacious and are accurately depicted on the casa’s website, but I would recommend the Ginger, where my wife, my 2-year-old son, and I stayed. It’s slightly larger than the other rooms, and even has a loft space accessed by a spiral staircase. Sadly, the owner has not done something with this part of the room yet, but developing this area could really put the Ginger over the top someday.

Thanks to Hazel, the entire casa is immaculately clean. She also prepares delicious breakfasts, especially her omelettes. We were going to a wedding during our stay, and so she arranged for our clothes to be ironed.

The casa itself is beautiful beyond words, a classic colonial. The owner has done a nice job of restoring what needed fixing, modernizing parts such as the bathrooms, and establishing a wonderful garden around a small swimming pool. There are plenty of wooden rocking chairs and good books lying around in the large courtyard to pass the time.

The rooms do not have their own mini-fridges, and the main refrigerator can get a little tight. But Esther was fine with us keeping our child-related foods and a couple of drinks in the fridge. The casa prefers that guests not use the kitchen for cooking, but Esther was also fine with us doing little things like warming milk for the baby and what not.

The casa itself is a couple of more blocks out of the center of the action than some people might like. It usually took us about 10 minutes to walk to the central park, for example. For us, it was not a problem, it actually was nice to not be in a touristy zone such as Calzada. The neighborhood felt safe to us: we did the walk home at 10 p.m. with a small child without fear or problems. But if you don’t feel like walking, a taxi costs 10 cordobas per person during the day and 15 cordobas after dark. During our stay, the exchange was 24 cordobas to the dollar, so it’s a really inexpensive option.

Over the years, my wife and I have stayed at numerous places in the world during our travels. Casa Cubana makes our top three.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and are accurately depicted on the casa’s website, but I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband, dog and I stayed at Casa Cubana about a month ago and we totally fell in love with the place. So peaceful and inviting with its pool, hammocks and comfy beds. The best part of Casa Cubana though is the lovely hostess. Upon arrival she immediately invited us to join her in her evening plans and she continually went out of her way to make sure we were happy. We felt like we had our own private tour guide. Our one night stay turned into three and we are so happy it did. I highly recommend this beautiful hidden gem.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cubana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubana

Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 cuadras al norte de Iglesia Xalteva, Granada 012466, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cubana is a charming and elegantly restored Spanish Colonial boutique hotel in the heart of Granada, Nicaragua. We offer 4 Unique Suites priced from US $70 per night. Each suite is luxurious with a Queen bed and orthopedic mattress, large private bath, with vanity and hot water. Nutmeg Suite has a Loft bedroom and a single handcrafted daybed on the first floor for families or traveling friends. In addition to the unique suites, we also offer a wide variety of bar drinks and juices for you to enjoy. Prices include a gourmet breakfast in our open air dining area by the pool! Come join us! Wish you were here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Cubana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cubana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.