We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cubana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Cubana to your Saves list
Casa Cubana
Calle La Libertad | 2 cuadras al norte de Iglesia Xalteva, Granada 012466, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Granada B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

What a beautiful and charming place to stay. As many places in Granada you will be surprised about what is behind the colorful walls and big wooden doors. At Casa Cubana it's not only a surprise but a delight! As you walk in you feel the nice cool air and after a few steps you discover a true little paradise.
The covered terrace and kitchen are nice places to sit in the shade, with a view on a beautiful garden that surrounds a pool.
Everything is maintained with lots of care and passion. Uli (the host) is very helpful in giving advice on places to go or to eat and does that is a very friendly and professional way.

Would love to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
78
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Casa Cubana became home away from home on my month-long trip to Nicaragua, with Granada as the 'home base'. Casa Cubana is a wonderful place in many aspects: a thoughtful and elegant renovation of the typical Granada colonial architecture, beautiful courtyard garden will small pool to cool off in, excellent location along Calle Libertad, delicious breakfasts by Hazel and a great, fun host and owner, Uli.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

It was the best accomodation we had on our 3 week Central America journey. The rooms sweet and cozy, The house with its courtyard and garden as well as small pool and seating arrangements is so lovely. Uli, the owner is very friendly, caring and patient. Always has time for his guests and is most helpful with honest advices concerning activities. The breakfast is wonderful and a family affair. We stayed 5 nights and didn´t regret a minute of it. Granada is fantastic and we loved Nicaragua! The best activity was the volcano excursion at sunset combined with bat cave. Awesome! Enjoyed steaks and seafood and good beer in various restaurants for unbelievable low prices. Ate salad as well etc, never got sick. Nicaraguan street noise starts early in the morning and can be quite impressive! Gabi and Holger from Germany

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I just did a 10 day trek through Nicaragua, and Granada was our final stop. Hands down, Casa Cubana was the best place we stayed the entire trip. If you decide to go to Granada (and you should), don't miss the chance to stay here.

Uli, the owner and current onsite manager, takes great care and pleasure of his little B&B (4 guest rooms and he lives onsite in the 5th). The old restored colonial home is absolutely gorgeous. All the rooms are unique and beautifully decorated. The A/C is DIVINE in the 90 degree heat, and the central quaint pool refreshed us 1-2 times daily! Everything is pristine and well taken care of.

Uli was so helpful in arranging taxis and trips for us, as well as suggesting bars and restaurants, as well taking us to a great German restaurant called Charly's on our final night. When you meet Uli you feel like you've met an old friend--always willing and helpful, but not intrusive on your vacation. We visited during low season, so there were no other guests (which didn't bother us!)

Every morning, Hazel brewed up excellent coffee (I was so happy to get actual milk not dried creamer!) and whipped up wonderful breakfasts (her banana pancakes....oh my!). The B&B is located just slightly off the Parque Central, so it's quieter (which was nice) but still a very safe and easy walk to bars, restaurants, sites, bus stations, and even a really nice grocery store.

We requested the Saffron Room, which I would recommend as it's the only room located on the second level, so you are off the street. However, we peeked at all the rooms, and honestly each was fabulous. You can't go wrong.

I always prefer small B&B's over hotels and Uli's place reminds me why. I hope to stay there again someday!

Room Tip: Try for the Saffron Room, it's the only room located on the second level, so you are off the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Unfortantely, we only had one night in Granada. But we were fortunate enough to have spent it at Casa Cubana. It's a beautiful home with a lovely pool and garden. Uli is a great host with lots of information on the town and Nicaragua in general. It's a short and pleasant walk to the Parque Central but if you're not up for it you can always take a taxi. Granada is a very charming town with lots of character. We hope to come back to Nicaragua again very soon and if we're in Granada we will defintely stay here. Thanks Uli!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Casa Cubana during a trip through Central America and had an awesome time. Casa Cubana was the perfect oasis of relaxation and comfort. We loved the open air layout of the casa which circles around a refreshing pool. The bedrooms and bathrooms have every nice touch you could ask for and Uwe was a great guide and friend during our time in Nicaragua. Only regret is that we didn't have more days planned for Nicaragua which has adventures and luxury available for a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

A stay at Casa Cubana reminds you of why you choose a B&B over a hotel. Done right, as this one is, a B&B becomes part of the experience, instead of just a room to sleep in.
My daughter & I stayed at Casa Cubana in early May 2012, based on Trip Advisor reviews. This place has earned its excellent standing, without a doubt. The house itself is stunning: airy and sunny with tiled floors and gorgeous wood furniture, some of it hand made by our host, Uli (check out what Uli can do with an ordinary door, turning it into a fantastic coffee table). We stayed upstairs (I think it's the saffron room) and loved the giant French doors that opened up onto the internal courtyard, inviting enough breeze at night to lower the sizzling heat. Everything is spotless, including the pool, which sits in the middle of a lush garden. Hazel makes great breakfasts and Alan was a dedicated driver (be sure to negotiate prices with him in advance). But the real reason to go to Casa Cubana is Uli, who served not only as our host but as our travel advisor as well. Each morning Uli would suggest some activities (volcanoes, hiking, lakes, zip lining, etc.), then disappear for a few moments. He'd return with our fully booked travel itinerary. At the end of the day he'd quiz us on our experience, making sure that we'd had fun and that our tour guides had charged us fairly. Then he'd recommend restaurants for dinner.
The location is good; it's about a 10 minute walk into town, or a two-minute (one dollar) cab ride. Things get pretty noisy in town so we liked being a little off the main drag.
Casa Cubana gets an unqualified "excellent" rating.

Room Tip: See if the upstairs room is available. I think it gets the best breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cubana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubana

Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 cuadras al norte de Iglesia Xalteva, Granada 012466, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cubana is a charming and elegantly restored Spanish Colonial boutique hotel in the heart of Granada, Nicaragua. We offer 4 Unique Suites priced from US $70 per night. Each suite is luxurious with a Queen bed and orthopedic mattress, large private bath, with vanity and hot water. Nutmeg Suite has a Loft bedroom and a single handcrafted daybed on the first floor for families or traveling friends. In addition to the unique suites, we also offer a wide variety of bar drinks and juices for you to enjoy. Prices include a gourmet breakfast in our open air dining area by the pool! Come join us! Wish you were here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Cubana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cubana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.