We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nica Adventures tour agency” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nicaragua Adventures - Day Tours

Nicaragua Adventures - Day Tours
Calle la Libertad, From Bac 2 Blocks West | Opposite Corner to Hotel El Club, Granada, Nicaragua
+505 2552 8461
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nicaragua Adventures offers private, custom and unique tours, exclusively designed to satisfy our guest's many requests and expectations (we do not form groups!). Operating since 1999 and based in Granada, Nicaragua, we offer sightseeing, soft and more strenuous adventures, for couples, families and small-mid size groups. We offer the highlights, but also always try to include a few original activities/visits on the way, to make our itineraries more valuable and maximize time during your vacation. We also are one of the very few agencies with a license/permit to operate (Delivered by the Nicaraguan Tourism Institute INTUR, you may require it when booking with tour provider in Nicaragua). We own a fleet of vehicles (all a/c, recent and comfortable, well maintained to accommodate all group sizes from 1 person to groups, with well trained, professional and friendly drivers), allowing more flexibility and satisfaction for oour customers. Our company is recommended by New York Times, Outside Magazine, Washington Post and several other magazines, please check about us. In addition, Nicaragua Adventure's manager (Pierre, a native from France living in Nicaragua/Costa Rica since year 1996) has been awarded as the "Top Travel Specialist" for Nicaragua by Conde Nast Traveler, three years in a row since 2011. Contact us for a unique travel experience.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
San Diego, California
1 review
“Nica Adventures tour agency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

When Overseas Adventures Travel (OAT) cancelled their pre-trip group tour to Nicaragua, I booked a private tour for 5 days with Nica Adventures. I was very pleased with their services. All the arrangements were delivered on time and in full. The hotel choices were very nice; the guides were knowledgeable and courteous, the sites they selected to visit were all interesting. The highlights of our tour were the boat tour of the islands in Lake Nicaragua --- we say many birds and mammals; and the one night stay in Ometepi. The hike up to the waterfall on the Maderas volcano on Ometepi, the visit to the private museum of archaelogical artifacts and the stops at rock pictoglyphs were all wonderful. Pricewise, the private tour was little more than the group tour with OAT would have been. It had the advantage that I got much more opportunity to practice my Spanish than I did on the subsequent group tour of Costa Rica with OAT. Advance payment by wire transfer is easy with any major brokerage; sending a check by mail to Nicaragua proved totally unreliable.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent travel agency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent 12 days in Nicaragua in December 2012 through January 2013. We had booked our first three days on the Corn Islands ourselves, and were trying to do so with the rest of the trip but we couldn’t figure out the logistics of how to get where we wanted to go. Nicaragua is a country with wonderful sights and activities, but the travel infrastructure isn’t in place, which makes it difficult to get from place to place. We ended up contacting Pierre with Nica Adventures and told him where we wanted to go, how long we wanted to be there and what we wanted to do while we were there.

He planned all the details, everything happened on time and as we planned, which does not always happen in Central America. We never had to wait and wonder where our ride was, and all entry fees and ferry tickets, etc. were covered in the price we paid Nica Adventures, so we weren’t always digging into our wallets to pay for little items.

We are pretty independent when we travel, and have never used the services of a travel agency before. We had our concerns about doing so and we didn’t want to sharing tours with other groups. However, every ride that had and every tour we took was just for our family for four, which was very nice. Plus, all of the drivers and local guides that were associated with Nica Adventures were great!

Pierre and his staff did a wonderful job of listening to what we wanted to do and coming up with a great itinerary for us. They even added an activity that we wouldn’t have considered, a trip to family’s home to learn about making pottery, which turned out to be one of our favorite activities. Nica Adventures made planning the trip easier, and when we go back to Nicaragua, I won’t hesitate to contact Pierre in advance and ask him to begin planning another great vacation for us!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Zip Lining through the jungle!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wow! If you go to Nicaragua, you have to do this zip lining tour! My whole family participated (ages 6 to 75), we all loved it and saw so many beautiful views of the coastline and jungle. Tour guides were very helpful and friendly---made it all very easy and fun. Do not miss out on this!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Reliable, professional and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Pierre and his team developed a fantastic custom tour package for our time in Nicaragua and every step of the tour was also delivered professionally. We are a gay couple and we didn't know what to expect as reaction from the local people but from the drivers to the hotels to the guides, everyone was extremely friendly and respectful. They ensured everything went as smoothly as planned. We sent our payment to Pierre's bank in the US and there was no problem at all. If you want a hassle-free and safe trip that you want to enjoy the way you like, we totally recommend this local agent to help you.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Amazing experience. No wonder it is recognized as w world heritage site. Bring comfortable shoes, hat and water. Spent the day on a tour and was amazed by the old architecture.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicaragua Adventures - Day Tours also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Nicaragua Adventures - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicaragua Adventures - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.