We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Ireland in Granada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Agua

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa del Agua
Save
You added Casa del Agua to your Saves list
Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 Granada B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“A Taste of Ireland in Granada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Gerry, the owner is from Ireland, but knows his way around Granada that it makes ones stay exceptional. Staying here is like staying with family that you really like and want to stay with. When he is not around, he posts his whereabouts on the whiteboard in the common area.

The kitchen area is exceptionally equipped. How many places have a hot dog cooker and popcorn machine? There is plenty of counter space for multiple people to fix food without an issue.

Gerry provides filtered water, bikes without a rental and has his staff run errands if really needed.

Our room was next to the pool, but everyone respected the rule that although the pool is 24/7, you need to be respectful of others at night. Never a problem.

Room Tip: Opt to pay the additional $10 for A/C. There was a floor fan and ceiling fan, but I think our sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
100
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quepos, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I am writing this review before I even leave because im already certain it deserves everything I have to say. We arrived past scheduled time due to bus mishaps on our end, and yet Gerry was at the gate to greet us with a smile. Hes a jolly fellow and know his business like the back of his hand. Basically, how it works is, he tells you where everything is and a coule of obvious rules of the house and then its yours. "Mi casa su casa", That's what hell tell you. Perfect place to pull a book off the shelf and sit by the pool and drift away and yet also a great place strike a conversation with a new friend as you share the kitchen or atrium space. Gerry will give you his thoughts on where you might want to eat or walk or party but then leaves you to find yourself in this perfect little town. I do plan on coming back to Granada often and will find it very difficult to even consider staying elsewhere. Than you Gerry

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic time at Casa del Agua with our kids (5 and 6) - Jerry was a great host and very helpful, the kids loved the pool and it was great to have the opportunity to use the kitchen!
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed at Casa del Agua in December 2013 and enjoyed everything! Perfect location as it is one block from the main square and within short walking distance to all attractions in Granada.

Gerry, the owner, is welcoming and provides guests with great information about Granada and the restaurants and bars. Casa del Agua is well kept and the rooms are situated around a common courtyard which enables guests to socialize in the main area.

I stayed in the balcony room, and this option worked well for me. I had the option of adding air conditioning ($10) but realized on my first night it wasn't necessary as there were two fans in the room as well as windows that provided nice air flow. Perhaps at another time of year airconditioning would be helpful but that is a personal preference.

I liked the fact there was water, coffee, and beer available. Beer cost about 1.25. I had the opportunity to go out with Gerry a couple of times for a meal and enjoyed his company and entertaining stories.

Security in the area is very good and the house itself is secured with a gate and guests are provided a key.

If visiting Granada do not pass up the chance to stay with Gerry at Casa del Agua!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent a night here and very close to everything. Gerry was very helpful and nice to talk to. The rooms are very clean and nice swimming pool (even though we didn't use it). Good kitchen and morning coffee.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Casa del Agua is a gem in Granada. It has a lovely open courtyard with a pristinely clean pool to lounge in and around. He has a fully stocked open concept kitchen and even has a beer fridge if you're thirsty. Gerry is incredibly helpful and so customer focused. He was kind enough to recieve my husband's lost luggage from Delta before we arrived.

Our room was the balcony room that overlooks the courtyard - highly recommend. (4 poster bed with an extra platform bed) The extra for A/C is well worth it!

We will stay here again when we're back in Granada.

Gerry recommended a day trip to Laguana Opoyo that was a highlight of our trip. (he also recommended a couple of local restaurants that we loved!)

Thank you Gerry and staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Definately reserve the balcony room. A few dollars more but well worth it. We also decided on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent our first 3 nights in Nicaragua at Casa de Agua. It was wonderful and Gerry was helpful, welcoming and friendly. There is a clean shared outdoor kitchen that is fully stocked with everything you would need to prepare any meal. There is even a hot dog spinner and pop corn maker. There is cold drinking water, hot water for tea and even cold beer in the fridge for $1.25
I had read a review about the kitchen being old and this is simply not the case. It is a lovely Nicaragua kitchen with tiled counter tops and solid wood cupboards is clean and tidy and has everything you need.
The location is hard to beat being 1/2 block from the central plaza and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We stayed in the family room and our little ones loved the bunk beds.
We would stay there again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Granada.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Agua

Address: Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Agua is located in the beautiful and historical colonial town of Granada, Nicaragua. Just 30mts south of the Catheral in central park. Your ideally located to explore the heartbeat of the town, with it's many bars, clubs and fine food eateries. This self catering guesthouse is a must for all travelers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Agua Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Agua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.