We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for Granada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Agua

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa del Agua
Save
You added Casa del Agua to your Saves list
Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 Granada B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great choice for Granada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I could only spend one night in Granada and I'm glad I chose this place. The owner will make you feel right at home and explain anything you need to know about the city. The room was clean and comfortable and even if you choose not to have air conditioning there will be more than enough fans provided to keep you cool. I think Casa del Agua provides very good value for the money. The only slight dent for me: I stayed in an upstairs room; there was heavy downpour through the night and the rain was very loud hitting the roof. I had earplugs so it didn't bother me much but just keep that in mind if you're expecting to visit during the rainy season.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
100
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, RI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Beautiful colonial house, great location, interesting and informative host. Gerry, the owner, is offering a unique experience at an affordable price. You can borrow a bike, take a dip in the pool, use the computer, or just enjoy the architecture.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed in the lil apartment in the front. Was very comfortable and roomy. We stayed there for our 3 day visa trip to Granada. The owner Gerry mentioned that he gives a discount for people doing that and they stay the full 3 days with him. Nice to save some money. It's right in the heart of downtown, so walking distance to many places. Ask about the pub trivia night. We made a team with people staying at the hotel. Didn't win this time, but we did a good job! We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Casa del Agua was the best spot we found in Nicaragua. First of all, the place cannot be more beautiful. Its a colonial house, carefully decorated and with a wonderful pool that looks like heaven after a hot day in the city. The host, Gerry, is one of the nicest persons we met. He makes you feel at home. The first moment you enter casa del agua, he gives you your key set and all the indications: basically, take care of the place as if it was your house; in the same way, you have access to free bikes, free computer, coffee, pure water, even fruits if you want. The bedrooms are gorgeous, the beds cannot be more comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious and clean. If you need more towels than the ones you find in the room, you have free access to the home closet where you find tons of clean towels. Nice TVs in the bedroom in case you want to watch a movie ( free movies as well! ). Moreover, Casa del Agua is located really close to the Cathedral ( 100 meters from the main square) and la Calzada. 100% recommended!

Room Tip: bring cash!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent a week in Nicaragua and had to compare and find places to stay at in Granada, León, Poneloya Beach and San Juan del Sur. After visiting these places we have to say that the best experience was in Casa del Agua. A beautiful house with all the amenities you need (nice rooms, clean and complete kitchen, AC, Wifi, pool, bikes,very secure), close to the center of the town (half block away from the Catedral) with a great host and with a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. We even decided to go back to Casa del Agua at the end of the trip before going back home. The owner (Gerry) is a great host, when you check in he handles you a Granada Map and shows you the places you should visit. He also gives you tips about restaurants, places to go and places not to go, markets and all you need to know to start feeling that Granada is your home town. Room price is really good, you won't be disappointed. Don't go there if you're looking for a party hostel with music out loud the whole day and young backpackers drinking and chatting in the place all of the time. This is a quite place, the kind you would look for if you're planning to relax and scape from the crowd and the city noise. The only minor problem we had was with the laundry service, we asked for some clothes to be washed and we got them back with a nice smell, but they didn't look washed at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was exactly what we were looking for. Very relaxed, great service from the owner (Gerry) who told us all about Granada. We are allowed to use is computer and the kitchen for whatever we needed. Nice rooms with a great pool in the middle of the house. Also very good located, 100m from the main plaza.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Pretty small hotel very close to the central square, 5 rooms. Nice small pool, big kitchen. Room was hot n humid without AC, despite 2 fans. The owner, gerry, was friendly n helpful, relaxed. Quiet atmosphere, clean, comfortable. No lockable storage, guests lock front gate individually. Excellent tv's. Overall, highly recommended especially with AC.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Agua

Address: Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Agua is located in the beautiful and historical colonial town of Granada, Nicaragua. Just 30mts south of the Catheral in central park. Your ideally located to explore the heartbeat of the town, with it's many bars, clubs and fine food eateries. This self catering guesthouse is a must for all travelers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Agua Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Agua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.