We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place & great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Almirante

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Almirante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Almirante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Corrales 111 | 1/2 cuadra de la Ferreteria Datisa al lago, Granada, Nicaragua (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Almirante)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 35 hotels in Granada
Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My daughters and I stayed 3 nights. We had a great time all the staff were fantastic and the food was superb!!! The one thing that could use some improvement is the wifi in order for us to use it we had to be out near the desk. We will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Recepcionist at Hotel El Almirante, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thanks, your opinion is very important for us.
We are checking and resolving this problem with the wifi internet .
All Client´s suggestion or complaints help us for better our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
31
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were in Granada for one night. We were supposed to be picked up the next day to return to Costa Rica but our bus failed to show and our flights home were the next day! The hotel staff were amazing. Harvey, the manager DROVE us to the border no less, to meet our re-arranged pick up. The staff here really are amazing and we cannot thank them enough. The rooms are excellent. It's a lovely traditional colonial property with a pool. Lovely courtyard, the rooms are very clean and cool when needed. And the location is second to none. We've travelled a lot and it's the small things that make all the difference. This is a very good setup!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Receptionist at Hotel El Almirante, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Mr.

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Angela Sirias
Receptionist
BEST WESTERN El Almirante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We went during off season and I think were the only ones staying there. Everyone was very friendly and the service was great!! Would def stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Receptionist at Hotel El Almirante, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Mrs. Sharon.

Thank you for completing the survey regarding about your stay at our property.

Your opinion is very important to us and we value your review. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Angela Sirias
Receptionist
BEST WESTERN El Almirante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Ok, My friend knew the owner so I got my room at 1/2 price but I would stay full price anytime. The front half of the hotel is historic. I remember seeing pictures of the bad shape this place was in before they bought the property and OMG did they do a beautiful job. Everything was perfect. The pool was inviting, rooms spacious, clean, & quiet. I have zero complaints regardless of my hook-up.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Receptionist at Hotel El Almirante, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding about your stay at our property.

Your opinion is very important to us and we value your review. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Angela Sirias
Receptionist
BEST WESTERN El Almirante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a really great place to stay in Granada.The hotel is very clean, food is very good and the owner(Bendt) has the best staff. Our friend forgot some money in her room when we were checking out and the staff returned it to the front desk. She got her money back before we left the hotel. A nice pool to cool off, in the heat of the day.We will definitely stay here when we visit in 2013. Me gusto Nicaragua muy mucho

Room Tip: Try to get a room with exterior window for natural air if you don't like air conditioners
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Receptionist at Hotel El Almirante, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding about your stay at our property.

Your opinion is very important to us and we value your review. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Angela Sirias
Receptionist
BEST WESTERN El Almirante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We arrived in Granada in the evening. The staff were very welcoming and helpful at first. We were woken up at 5.30am by the huge diesel powered generator underneath our room (room 19). The room was unusable as the diesel fumes entered through our closed windows and we had no choice but to vacate it at 6am. We informed the staff of this at least 4 times and although they listened to our concerns there was no apology made or offer of another room. We wandered the streets at 6am and most other hotels had generators installed well away from the rooms. We were supposed to stay there 3 nights but checked out that morning. It was an unfortunate incident and no actual fault of the staff as power cuts happen all the time in Nica. It would have been helpful to have been offered another room if there was one available.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 18 and 19 as they are above the huge diesel generator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Receptionist at Hotel El Almirante, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding about your stay at our property.

Your opinion is very important to us and we value your review. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Angela Sirias
Receptionist
BEST WESTERN El Almirante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Very good, quiet location 1.5 blocks from the main square in Old Town, close to restaurants and tourist sites. Clean bathrooms, comfy beds, hot water, A/C, refreshing pool, good food. My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in mid-Feb. Bendt, the owner, has lots of good info re the surrounding area. Very friendly and helpful staff. Recommend hiring their driver Victor for any transportation needs. Definitely would stay here again. Lovely city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Almirante

Address: Calle Corrales 111 | 1/2 cuadra de la Ferreteria Datisa al lago, Granada, Nicaragua (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Almirante)
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Almirante 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is built in an old colonial house in the historical center of Granada. It opened January 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel El Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Almirante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.