We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free massage each day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion de Chocolate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion de Chocolate to your Saves list
Mansion de Chocolate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Atravesada | across from Bancentro, Granada 505, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Spa Granada)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Granada
Racine, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Free massage each day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This beautiful and charming former Spanish colonial mansion has recently been converted into a hotel. It has a beautiful infinity pool, a great breakfast buffet (included) and cafe, a free spa treatment (included each day of your day-you can upgrade for practically nothing) and a Chocolate museum where you can take a hands-on class to make your own chocolate bar from scratch. They're a little new at the hotel thing so they have some wrinkles to sort out (such as forgetting to mention they were going to charge extra for a cot), but for an economical place to stay in the heart of Granada, you can't beat it. Their artwork of local stray dogs and their collection of unusual chairs and benches (it's really art, too) adds color and character to an already beautiful surrounding.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    87
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
41
132
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We read about this hotel in Budget Travel, and it was really the first thought we had of going to Nicaragua. The hotel did not disappoint: it is a large colonial compound converted into a hotel and chocolate museum with a pool, bar, and spa treatment rooms in the back of the hotel. It is colorfully and creatively decorated with local artists works and modern stylings and furniture (though my wife didn't love all the metal furniture, she loved the wooden chairs and fixtures. I loved the dog art). The pool is a great place to sit and read or drink a smoothie. The three ducks are charming and lest anyone have concerns, the pool is kept very clean. The spa service was included with the stay (we upgraded to 1 hour massages each day). Two of the three massage therapists were very good, although I did have one who did not seem to have the same amount of experience/training as the others. My recommendation: if you have a bad massage ask the front desk for the head therapist - she was incredible. My wife had a woman named Ana and said she was very good. The hotel breakfast is included and is filling and delicious. They serve crepes, pancakes, french toast, eggs, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice and good coffee. The US owner was very nice and interested in our feedback and experience at his hotel.

We were in the Corazon (heart) suite. It was an amazingly huge room (20+ foot ceilings!) with a king bed. My wife thought the sheets were polyester, which she didn't like but we both agreed the mattress was comfortable. The way the lighting fixtures are set up in the room made it dark. I believe the owner said they were working on that issue. The other thing for people to be aware of is that the shower was in the room without a shower curtain or door. This was an artistic choice as the shower area was constructed with beautiful cobble stone work, but made for a lack of privacy when showering. It's an interesting idea - especially for a tropical climate - it just may not work for everyone.

All in all, we were thoroughly charmed by the hotel and wish we had more time to stay in Granada.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This place has potential but it seems they are in the midst of a remodel/update/reopening. We had two rooms; one so small you wouldn’t believe it and another one that was huge and nice but looked like it was still a few weeks away from completion ex: there were no faucets handles with only copper pipes sticking through the sink. Sizable pool, good service, hearty breakfast and well located. Maybe worth a try in a month or two, or at least inquire about the status of the room when booking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

My husband and I spent the last 3 nights of our 10-night Nicaragua trip here, and had a wonderful time. HSG is charming, well-located, and made a great base for exploring Granada. Really enjoyed spending time at their Mombacho Beach Club (pool), and having a daily spa treatment included was such a nice extra. Overall, we had a fantastic time in Granada, and would definitely recommend the city and HSG to other travelers looking for a great value stay in a lovely colonial city!

For a much more detailed review with photos: http://travelprincessatl.blogspot.com/2010/12/nicaragua-part-5-granada.html

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

I stayed here over Christmas with my family and we had an excellent time. The staff is helpful and friendly, especially hotel owner and his wife and son. The grounds are beautiful in this old colonial house. There is a big, beautiful pool that is never too crowded but never too empty either. The rooms are lovely- full king sized beds and air conditioning. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone passing through Granada who wants an affordable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Just completed a 3 day and night stay at the Spa Granada Hotel. Excellent experience all round - from the artful interior with great art and artful furniture, the Spa Granada proved to be a terrific discovery at a wholly reasonable price. The exceptionally friendly staff and management, clean and comfortable rooms and healthy breakfast, coupled with the very central location and big swimming pool made for a happy time. The Spa services were an additional bonus, and the "Choco" therapy was a novel experience, as was the fascinating chocolate museum within the hotel - where I learned to make and eat my own, self-made Chocolate bar. Certainly a good discovery for us in Central America.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. We were really impressed with the hotel's gorgeous pool and buffet breakfast, but we were disappointed by our room. The hotel offers several different room prices, and we opted for one of the cheapest so if you're looking something special then pay a bit more for a superior room.

The hotel is on a busy street but remarkably is very quiet and calm inside. The staff seemed friendly, and there was always someone sweeping and cleaning. Some spoke good English.

The free massage was excellent, although I'll advise you to book your appointment upon arrival as we had to forego one of our complimentary spa sessions as there were no more appointments.

The pool was being repaired on our last day so was full of noisy workmen, which was a real nuisance as we had planned some relaxation time reading outside. The owner came and apologised though. The hotel is clearly still being completed so you might experience some building work throughout the day. Don't let that put you off though, it is a lovely hotel in a lovely city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion de Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion de Chocolate

Address: Calle Atravesada | across from Bancentro, Granada 505, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Spa Granada)
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mansion de Chocolate 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spa Granada is located in the center of Granada, and is housed in the largest intact surviving colonial mansion of Granada. It comprises five courtyard gardens, each with its own distinctive flavor. Decorated with edgy modern furnishings, Hotel Spa Granada has the feeling of a hip modern hotel in an authentic colonial setting, creating a unique blending of the modern and the traditional. Always benefiting from breezes from Lake Cocibolca, the large shared balconies provide an ideal vantage point from which to watch the glorious Nicaraguan sunsets. You’ll enjoy refreshing yourself in the hotel’s 60 foot swimming pool in a flowery patio with bar and snacks, and relaxing with the daily spa treatment included with all room rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mansion de Chocolate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion de Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.