We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa-Tastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion De Chocolate

Save Saved
You added Mansion De Chocolate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansion De Chocolate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Atravesada | across from Bancentro, Granada 505, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Spa Granada)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Granada
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Spa-Tastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is my third trip to HotelSpaGranada, and I have to talk about the spa. Before this visit, the massages were good. But recent staffing changes have really made an impact. I admit that I am a deep-tissue massage person, the more intense the better. I had their therapeutic/sports massage every day for 7 days straight, with three different staff, and they have now truly embraced the deep tissue concept. This series of massages were the best I've had anywhere in the last 10 years. They aren't for the faint of heart but are really worth it if you love/need deep tissue work from you hair follicles down to your toenails.

Room Tip: My personal preference is Cielo. It's a good size room with a table and chairs, king-size bed, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    68
    20
    12
    9
See reviews for
32
116
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nosara, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

what I mean is, we stayed one night in the Hotel Granada, and really disliked it. too crowded and zero room style, no windows on our first floor room. Nice and close to the parqueo central, true. But when I took my daughters to the chocolate class at the spa hotel the next morning, it was so much better, airier, taller, grander... that we moved. Not fancy by any means, but appealing to this artist and her two daughters. Great interior light, tiling, plants, rooms are nice and spacious, mattresses are good. There's an old time grandeur to it that appeals to me. My massage was less than perfect, and the second floor wood floors squeak. but we all agreed we would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I found this hotel at booking .com on special rates. The reason it is such good value is it includes a spa treatment and breakfast included in the room rate. Located close to all restaurants and bars all within walking distance. The only negative I would have is the bathroom had a bad smell. Hotel is an old mansion that has been renovated very well to retain all the charm of a colonial house. Staff spoke English and everything in the room worked well. Would recommend for a stay if you can get special deals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Poorly trained staff General manager speaks zero English. Gringo owner from New York is never there and has no idea how to run a hotel. A/C problems water leaks from the bathroom sink. Could not get massages because the front desk did not schedule correctly. Staff could give a crap and laughed in my face. THERE IS A REASON THIS PLACE RANKS SO LOW. You can do much better. Don't waste your time or money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbodes, Owner at Mansion De Chocolate, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I note that approximately half of your many reviews are "terrible". I am truly sorry for you that you have made so many bad choices in life, and seem to need to enhance your self importance by demeaning the sincere efforts of others. Although it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel, I must correct your material misstatements. The General Manager does speak English, not "Zero English" as you state; but I will acknowledge that her English is not perfect. I make an extra effort to give opportunity to Nicaraguans, even providing free English classes for my staff. I assume your statement "staff could give a crap" means that our staff is not concerned with customer satisfaction, again, this is simply false. By he way, your statement "staff could give a crap" does not demonstrate an excellent command of English on your part, either. I am the "Gringo owner" who you assert "is never there". It is true that I travel from time to time, and I was on a business trip in May when you say you stayed at Hotel Spa Granada. But I spend months at a time at the hotel. Additionally, the criticism is quite bizarre, as the owners (the public shareholders) of Starwoods, the Four Seasons, and the Ritz Carlton, for example, obviously cannot spend all the time at their hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The property was very interesting. We had a large room with nice big windows but the AC wasn't working, so we moved to the only room that was vacant. Unfortunately it was very small with no windows. The clerks were very helpful and compassionate , but we had no help carrying our luggage up numerous stairs. Breakfast was poor. I would recommend eating elsewhere. The saving grace was the massages that were available on property(even though they had no record of our reservations for them). They had to squeeze us in in the morning after we put up a fuss. Unfortunately , a couple of our party couldn't get messages because of their error.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspen, colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We were led to this hotel by a local. We still haven't left! We keep adding on another night- the rooms are historic and beautiful. I received the best manicure and pedicure- $9 each. The food is very good and we will have a hard time leaving.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hotel Spa Granada was our first stop upon arriving in Nicaragua and we loved it! So much so that we returned for our final night in the country, opting for familiar comfort over hectic Managua.

The hotel had arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport and deliver us to the hotel, an inexpensive service I also recommend as taxi service in Managua is dodgy at best and dangerous at worst. The grandeur of the storied old mansion, the courtyard garden we overlooked at breakfast every morning, the complimentary breakfast served and swimming pool conspire to make it the perfect place to stay, but it's the staff who seal the deal. Delightful, helpful, patient and lovely - the lot of them.

Our first night was in a deluxe room, which was fine, but for other nights we opted for one of the king bed suites. The price is reasonable and the rooms massive so people like us - backpackers with too much stuff - can spread out and have a comfortable home base. Everywhere in Nicaragua you are close to nature, in this case, we had a mouse for a roommate a couple of nights but he didn't really bother us.

If you're looking for an excellent guide for the area, we also highly recommend Ramón Parra (English & Spanish) at No Rush Tours. Cell: 505 - 8958-0913  / E-mail: ramonparra60@yahoo.es / www.norushtoursnic.jimdo.com.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion De Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion De Chocolate

Address: Calle Atravesada | across from Bancentro, Granada 505, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Spa Granada)
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mansion De Chocolate 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spa Granada is located in the center of Granada, and is housed in the largest intact surviving colonial mansion of Granada. It comprises five courtyard gardens, each with its own distinctive flavor. Decorated with edgy modern furnishings, Hotel Spa Granada has the feeling of a hip modern hotel in an authentic colonial setting, creating a unique blending of the modern and the traditional. Always benefiting from breezes from Lake Cocibolca, the large shared balconies provide an ideal vantage point from which to watch the glorious Nicaraguan sunsets. You’ll enjoy refreshing yourself in the hotel’s 60 foot swimming pool in a flowery patio with bar and snacks, and relaxing with the daily spa treatment included with all room rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mansion De Chocolate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion De Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.