We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service by the manager, but good staff otherwise.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spa Granada

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spa Granada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Atravesada | across from Bancentro, Granada 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 hotels in Granada
Ferndale, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor customer service by the manager, but good staff otherwise.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We reserved the suite with another couple. When we arrived we found that the suite is two rooms with a door connecting them. That was fine with us, but after a long couple of days traveling we wanted showers. The showers in both rooms had no water pressure and no hot water. Literally, the water was dripping out of the shower head so we were not able to shower. It was afternoon so we told the staff in hopes that it could be fixed. They were very nice and said they would send someone right away. We figured it would be handled and lounged at the pool. When we went back in the evening to shower and get ready for dinner it had not been fixed. So we went without a shower and told the staff on our way out. Again we were told they would contact someone and fix it while we were out. When we returned for the night we were told that the maintenance guy was gone for the night and they would be on it first thing in the morning. Eventually the showers were fixed and worked well, but we went a good 24 hours with no access to a shower. The sink had great water pressure and hot water, but was too small to wash my hair. We were never offered another room or shower to use. When I checked out and asked for a manager and a discount I was told the manager was not in. The staff tried to call the manager, but was not able to reach him and was not authorized to give discounts. I usually do not complain about things like this, especially in a place like Granada, but we were paying over $200 per night for the suite. I thought the least they could do is discount the night we had no showers. I returned later that day, as instructed by the staff, to speak with the manager, David. He was not friendly and said there was nothing he could do because we had already checked out. He also claimed he had no idea about our problems. Since one of the friendly staff members that we had been working with was there, she explained to David that yes, we were telling the truth. We had paid in cash, so a refund for the discount would have been quite easy, but he kept insisting he could do nothing to help us. Eventually he changed his story and said he could only give us $10. I'm sure if we would have stayed longer he would have given us more, but we were tired of his treatment and decided to just leave.

All of that said, the staff members that we dealt with on a daily basis were fantastic, friendly, and very helpful. David, the manager, was the only person who was unkind and unfair, but he has certainly made us not want to return. The hotel itself was nice with a convenient spa and nice pool area. You may have a nice time at this hotel, but be warned, if anything does go wrong, you may be dealing with a very unhelpful manager.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    63
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
28
106
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a very modern, clean and beautiful hotel in a huge old colonial building. Good location, just a couple of blocks off the main square. Very helpful and friendly staff, most bilingual and they even ordered flowers and help prepare a birthday breakfast for my girlfriend.

The courtyards and open areas within the hotel are stunning, it has a few little gardens and marbled floors. It's a top end price although you get all you can eat and a very good buffet breakfast, all day pool access in a very nice pool area and 1 spa treatment included in the price.

However due to the high end price in a country as poor as Nicaragua it's only fair to highlight a couple of important points that management really need to address.

They rent the pool out to the general public at $5 a day. Obviously this is economically beneficially to the hotel but unfortunately has drawbacks for the guests as you have an influx of mainly American teens descending on the pool all day. And in the 2 days I was there I wanted to commit murder. It basically turned in to an 18-30's party with beer cans in the pool, cigar smoking in the pool and a lot of attention seeking loud behaviour with inappropriate conversation including frequent swearing. They also have 3 resident ducks, brilliant and unique but some of the less intelligent pool guests spent the day splashing, chasing and generally terrorising the poor things.

I'm sorry but if I'm paying $80 a night and don't forgets that's a fortune in Nicaragua I don't want to be surrounded by that. The other aspect I was concerned with was the resident baby monkey they have at the hotel, there is a sign stating it is being rehabilitated but they possess neither the know how or the skills to justify this. It needs to be under specialist care in a refuge with other primates not in a hotel as a pet. I suspect it will remain at the hotel as a draw card which is a shame.

J

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here two years ago on our last trip to Nicaragua and liked it enough that on our trip this year we decided to stay here again. We were in the Cocoa room, one of the superior rooms. It was very nice on the second floor in the middle court yard.

The pool is very nice after a hot day touring the city and my husband and I each had great massages at the spa. Breakfast is good - only don't really plan on it starting at 7:00 - you're on Nica time. The staff is helpful and friendly. We booked our transfer from the Managua airport through the hotel - well worth doing. This is a good starting off place to stay if you are planning on touring the country or just want to tour around Granada.

Room Tip: Book a superior room, it's worth the extra $10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel Spa Granada was our first stop in Nicaragua. The hotel staff were great with helping coordinate a ride from the airport in Managua to the hotel. We felt very safe and taken care of during our first trip to Nicaragua. The hotel itself is gorgeous and the staff are so kind and helpful. The breakfast that is provided is AMAZING, as is the coffee!! It was so cool to have a chocolate museum attached to the hotel!
We wanted to go on a kayak tour of lake Nicaragua and they set it up for us and they made us feel safe and cared for. The pool is amazing! The staff at the bar and the pool are very helpful and caring. We never felt like we were missing a thing. The rooms are huge and comfortable and cleaned each day. I had a facial at the spa and it was just so perfect and relaxing. I highly recommend this hotel/spa for any newcomer to Granada. We felt cared for and safe in a new country. Thank you especially to David for really taking care of us and making sure our stay was happy! I cannot stress how happy we were with this hotel/spa! It was a great experience and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Spent 2 days at this prorerty which were amazing.I had 2 spa treatments at a great valvue.The Pool was very nice and not crowded.Lunch was nice and freshly made.You had a bit of a wait but well worth it.The breakfast could have been better but that was the only down fall.Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The longer your stay the lower the price.Would definitely stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I feel like that pretty much sums it up! We had a beautiful room, enjoyed the pool and roof deck, LOVED breakfast, but came home late on New Year's Eve to animal droppings and what seemed like was probably a bat (or a couple of bats) nesting in the rafters. Pros and Cons, right? Expensive, but no more than Hotel Granada, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel but booked spa treatments and spent an afternoon there. We had a facial and a massage each, which weren't the most luxurious i've ever experienced but good value. It was a nice place to sit and relax, if a little crowded. The pool and the outside areas are really pretty. The drinks were over priced but the service was good. I did not see any of the bedrooms but the colonial building is spectacular (not sure about the iffy modern furniture) and the chocolate museum cafe breakfast is worth a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Spa Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Granada

Address: Calle Atravesada | across from Bancentro, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Granada 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spa Granada is located in the center of Granada, and is housed in the largest intact surviving colonial mansion of Granada. It comprises five courtyard gardens, each with its own distinctive flavor. Decorated with edgy modern furnishings, Hotel Spa Granada has the feeling of a hip modern hotel in an authentic colonial setting, creating a unique blending of the modern and the traditional. Always benefiting from breezes from Lake Cocibolca, the large shared balconies provide an ideal vantage point from which to watch the glorious Nicaraguan sunsets. You’ll enjoy refreshing yourself in the hotel’s 60 foot swimming pool in a flowery patio with bar and snacks, and relaxing with the daily spa treatment included with all room rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Spa Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spa Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Spa Granada to your Saves list