We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel with a gorgeous pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spa Granada

Save Saved
You added Hotel Spa Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spa Granada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Atravesada | across from Bancentro, Granada 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 35 hotels in Granada
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Unique hotel with a gorgeous pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place is unique! We stayed for two nights for our anniversary, in an upstairs room with the green leaves on the key.

Pros:
- Rooms are each individually decorated and designed, some interesting features and art - even in the bathrooms.
- A big buffet breakfast laid on every morning in the chocolate factory - the hot sweet chocolate bean drink is heavenly as are the waffles, pancakes and everything else we ate.
- The pool is divine! With a little family of gorgeous ducks in it! When we were there, it was very quiet.
- The day that we ate at the pool, the food was great and huge.
- With the room you get one free 30 minute treatment each day. I had a massage and a facial, and the massage was surprisingly good considering (worth going for an hour!). The facial was good too - again my expectations were not high for Nicaragua but the women who delivered were lovely and professional.
- The rooms were spotless and comfortable.
- A great place to buy organic coconut oil!
- Wifi is strong and works in the rooms
- Nice
spacious courtyards
- There was a guy playing accordion while we ate breakfast!

Cons:
- Our headboard was not designed for sitting against! Random I know but we like to write in bed!
- On some days there didn't appear to be food/drink service at the pool - perhaps as it was too quiet.
- There was a fan noise during the day, luckily it stopped before the evening
- On the first night there was strong wind that shook the doors all night. We didn't sleep much! But they fixed them the next morning and the second night was restful.

What I liked about this place was that it was unique, all sorts of quirky things and art - so, a little different to a regular hotel which was a nice change.

All in all, we had a great stay and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Some of the downstairs rooms are not as nice - it is worth paying the extra for the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlapperWashington_DC, Manager at Hotel Spa Granada, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the associated services we provide!

You are right about the headboards - the marshmallow-like design does sometimes make it difficult to sit up in bed and write in a journal. We think the uniqueness of the headboards is worth the trade-off! If you visit us again, please take advantage of the amazing chairs we have throughout the hotel as a great alternative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    66
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
31
113
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
masaya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The two hour class is definitely worth your time, we get to toast the cacao beans, take off the skins, mash them into a paste and then prepare three drinks and your very own chocolate bar! Very informative and thorough explanation, nice pictures. My chocolate bar was run flavored, delicious. I am coming back, hope to get to stay in the hotel in the future, beautiful paintings everywhere (even in the bathrooms!). The pool is very very nice. If you go to Granada, this is a must!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August and loved it. It was centrally located to the rest of the town, but not on a noisy street. We could walk to restaurants and attractions easily. But the best part was the ambiance and kind staff. Breakfast and a massage were included and we loved the laid back, yet upscale feel of the hotel. The hotel is in a colonial style mansion and is attached to a chocolate museum and has lots of charm and character. The pool was beautiful but watch out for the territorial ducks!
The rooms were very charming, but basic (we booked a standard double room). We didn't have a clock or hairdryer in our hotel room, but this wasn't an issue for us. I'm sure we could have got one at the front desk if we asked. The shower was huge. The room in general was quiet - we could listen to the rain fall and birds chirp, but never heard our neighbors (not even sure if we had any).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I liked Hotel Spa Granada, but I did not love it. The staff was not all that friendly and the spa services that were included were not always available. You get a 30 minute massage included everyday, which seems to be almost garunteed, but the other services like a manicure or pedicure (yeah, I know I am a guy, but still like these things on occasion) are not always available. For the price, this place is not bad, but it does not have a restaurant, only a bar that serves terrible food. I mean, it is good for what it is, but most likely, I would not go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stopped at Hotel Spa Granada for a few days on our way to Belize from Panama. It was a nice stop over. We enjoyed the services very much. My husband received a massage and said it was the best he had ever had. I got a facial and was very pleased with the service. The breakfasts were tremendous and the mix of guests was exceptional. We would definitely return if we were in the area.

Room Tip: I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlapperWashington_DC, Manager at Hotel Spa Granada, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks, Ellie! Hopefully we'll see you back here one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa ana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are not careful they will charge you for extra nights. I stayed 3 nights and payed cash for 1 night. When I checked in, the hotel clerk took a voucher imprint of my debit card. Told me it would be returned at check out. WELL, I checked out and no copy of the voucher was returned to me. Guess what ... a charge for an extra night was debited to my card. I sent my bank statement to the owner and she isn't doing anything about this fraudulent action. It is obvious that someone at the front desk or in the accounting department took it upon themselves to pocket the cash I paid to the receptionist and to make the cash register balance out they charged the cash amount to the debit card.
FURTHERMORE, during the massage, the masseuse took it upon herself to leave the room and talk to a coworker just outside. She didn't say excuse me or anything. She was absent for about 8 minutes. AND she had the nerve to end the massage at the 30 minute mark. What ever happened to customer service? Doesn't she realize that it is the tourists who are paying her wages? How selfish of her! FURTHERMORE, as I stood on the ramp outside my room, I witnessed the maid rummaging through the pockets of my green cargo shorts. What on earth could she looking for?...let me guess...$$$$$. Stay away from this place if you don't want to be ripped off. You can't even trust the owner when you file a complaint.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlapperWashington_DC, Manager at Hotel Spa Granada, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Kevin,

Once again, we apologize for the confusion that resulted after your stay. As I stated in our lengthy email correspondence, you are mistaken about any additional charges from Hotel Spa Granada resulting from your stay. The accusations you made toward our hotel were for charges in Costa Rican currency and for multiple thousands of dollars. It is impossible for us to charge in Costa Rican currency since our hotel is located in Nicaragua. Furthermore, there are no records showing such charges with our bank, BAC, the most prestigious bank in Central America. I will suggest again that you get in touch with your bank and make sure that your card has not been compromised. Best of luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely al fresco hotel, spa and chocolate factory. The spa is organically integrated into the natural landscape. Decorating is eye-appealing and rooms must have been refurbished. I love the serenity of all spaces. The pool is in a gorgeous setting with views of the volcano. Staff is very friendly and accommodating, particularly if you speak Spanish.

The spa is modest, yet effective. I had a fantastic "Fusion" massage. Awesome. I also had a pedicure, which was very basic, but made sense for the price.

The pool is beautiful and relaxing. I was pleasantly surprised by the ducks.

The breakfast buffet is great. I've had something different each day and have yet to be displeased. Try the chocolate crepe with bananas. Yum.

This hotel is not ultra-modern, yet wonderfully unique. If you want European luxury, this is not the place for you. If you appreciate eco-friendly, sustainably and responsibly made natural beauty, you will love this place. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Spa Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Granada

Address: Calle Atravesada | across from Bancentro, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Granada 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spa Granada is located in the center of Granada, and is housed in the largest intact surviving colonial mansion of Granada. It comprises five courtyard gardens, each with its own distinctive flavor. Decorated with edgy modern furnishings, Hotel Spa Granada has the feeling of a hip modern hotel in an authentic colonial setting, creating a unique blending of the modern and the traditional. Always benefiting from breezes from Lake Cocibolca, the large shared balconies provide an ideal vantage point from which to watch the glorious Nicaraguan sunsets. You’ll enjoy refreshing yourself in the hotel’s 60 foot swimming pool in a flowery patio with bar and snacks, and relaxing with the daily spa treatment included with all room rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Spa Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spa Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.