We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury - a must stay in Nicaragua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada to your Saves list
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Granda Isletas, Granada 100, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay four - pay three
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Granada
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
216 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
“Pure Luxury - a must stay in Nicaragua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

What can I add to all the previous wonderful reviews. They are all true.
The location of this delightful small island near Granada is magical. Peaceful, beautiful and luxurious. The accommodation is attractive, sympathetically built with regards to the environment and very, very comfortable. The view from our room terrace was so relaxing and the perfect location for our early morning coffees and evening sun-downers.
The food was the best that we ate in Nicaragua. It incorporated local ingredients and flavours with European flair and quality. The non-alcoholic drinks were all complimentary and the prices of the wines and other cocktails very reasonable.
The staff is great. They are friendly and efficient. The organized activities including cocktail making and cooking were great fun. The massages in the spa were excellent.
The boat transfers take about fifteen minutes. The scenery along the way was beautiful.
We didn't do much more than move between the delightful swimming pool, restaurant and our casita and still found five nights too short. If, however you need to be more active there were plenty of activities/tours on offer.
Whilst relaxing by the pool we were constantly topped up with cool drinking water, which we really appreciated.
We were also lucky enough to meet the English owner who is really committed to eco-tourism as opposed to some resorts where the description is just used as another marketing tool.
My only small negative comment is that there were too few sun loungers. Most of the time it wasn't an issue but if the resort was full the six sunbeds would not be enough.
If you visit Nicaragua, don't miss the chance of staying at Jicaro.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, just the views are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    9
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
129
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed two nights at Jicaro Island Ecolodge. There is something magical about this isleta, and the serenity, peace and wildlife that you can appreciate while there.

The casitas are immaculate and well thought-out. Comfortable, yet with everything you need. My favorite moments were waking up early and having coffee on the casita balcony -- listening to the birds and watching the lake.

The staff is wonderful and very helpful. They will arrange any excursion for you, answer any questions. Both Manuel and Octavio were friendly and knowledgeable. Everything was well organized (the pick-up from the airport, excursions, our transport to the next hotel). Also, the way they prepare your casita at night while you are at dinner is fantastic!

The food was very good - highly recommend the fish and shrimp tacos, the chayote salad, and, for breakfast, everything we tried was great!

The only downside, which was noone's fault, was that one of the days we were there, the isleta was overwhelmed with gnats -- chayules -- that were everywhere!! Other than the chayules, one should be prepared for a few bugs, in the casita and around the property, but the chayules were crazy and intense.

Otherwise, a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Casita 5, which faced the back of the isleta. It was quiet and beautiful. All casitas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Truly extraordinary! And I am most certainly NOT "spa" sort of guy... I've been recommending this wonderful retreat to all my traveller friends. I really can't think of a single negative thing to say.... The food is fantastic, and I'm a very finicky vegetarian. I learned to make local cocktails at the bar and happily sucked down frilly foo foo drinks like the banana loca every afternoon. A "must" for a trip to Nica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are ever visiting Granada Nicaragua, this is a must see!!!!!!!!!!Lake Nicaragua is the 9th largest lake in the world. Years ago the volcano caused 365 islands to form, on one of these islands lies the amazing ecolodge, Jicaro. Jicaro arranged to pick us up from our hotel in Granada and brought us to a boat which would take us to a small private island where Jicaro is located. The staff await us at the end of the dock with a refreshing all natural drink and show us around the all natural property. It is simple, beautiful, quiet and completely amazing! The rooms are all wood, a 2 story cabin on stilts overlooking the lake. A sitting area and hammock are located in the front of your room with an amazing breeze flowing through. The beds are 5 star quality and very comfortable. We spent the afternoon with Marlon, the bartender, making fresh delicious cocktails. (A FREE Class they offer) Breakfast dinner and lunch were all incredible. It literally felt as if the staff was there just for us, taking care of everything we needed. Other than the fact you have great free WiFi, it was like you were completely off the map. Time to disconnect and be one with nature :) The staff was excellent! Really cant say anything bad at all about this experience!!!! One of the most unique relaxing places I've every stayed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sunnyaroundtheworld,
Greetings from Lake Nicaragua and Jicaro Island. First of all, thanks for such a complete review of your stay with us. Your review will be very helpful for many travelers in the future. Thanks for pointing out the great things of your stay from the food to the room and bed but especially the staff and our commitment to customer service. We thrive on feedback and if it is positive like yours, even better. We hope you come back real soon and share the word about Jicaro with your friends and family. Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Staying on an island on Lake Nicaragua was just so inviting for us! This was one of the most memorable experiences I have had. Beautiful hotel, food both in taste and presentation perfection. The staff so friendly and helpful. The rooms are to die for. Falling asleep with the lake breeze naturally cooling the room was just short of heaven. Attention to detail 5 star. Afternoon class on cocktail preparation so much fun and the results were delicious! This is the perfect honeymoon or romantic destination. During the day kayak the islands, swim in the pool or take a short boat ride for a day in Granada. Late afternoon, sip a cocktail, watch the sunset and just relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: All are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I agree with all of the excellent reviews posted.

First, the good stuff:
The location is truly unique and peaceful.

The design of the resort (just 9 rooms) is comfortable without disturbing the environment. The tree house villas have a small footprint and are built between the trees, so you can imagine that not many trees were chopped in order to build. A/C was not necessary. The building materials seemed to be natural and well chosen for comfort.

The level of service and care taken by the staff are something that every hotel should strive for. We felt truly well looked after by the team at Jicaro - Howard, Manuel, Jorge Luis, Julio and the bartender (who is one of the hardest working guys on the island)!

Nice pool. Very refreshing fresh water pool. Drinks are served poolside (water appears before you even have the thought to ask for it!)

The food was fresh, delicious and beautifully prepared. Hardly anything was ever left on the plate!

We took a private tour each day - once on a boat around the islands, to the Masaya volcano, and an early morning kayak tour where we saw lots of birds and experienced the tranquility of dawn. Knowledgable and very friendly tour guides.

Massage at the resort is a definite must. The massage rooms open onto the lake but trees provide ample privacy.

There was a really great camaraderie amongst the guests. There was full occupancy during the 3 nights we stayed and we enjoyed talking with the other guests at the resort.

This resort is very special in that it is so conscious of the environment (you will not see plastic and paper), and luxury at its best without any of the guilt associated with the vast amounts of waste that a luxury hotel can produce.

Despite that I tend to be a critical traveler, there is hardly anything I can recall that the resort could do better. The only small thing is that at breakfast, the jam should come in a covered dish so as to not attract so many flies.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic view. We stayed in room 1 and then in 8. Room 9 is closest to the bar/poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived from late-night travels and were greeted by a very friendly driver, who had brought us fresh, cool water for the ride to Grananda. Despite the late hour, we were handed onto a boat and driven through the shining moonlight on the black lake to the ecolodge - and it just kept getting better from there. The staff greeted us at the boat, whisked our luggage off to our cabina, and placed cold local tea in jicaro cups in our hands. The other reviewers say it all - they have managed to nestle so many lovely sites into a small island without feeling cramped, and anticipate your needs at every corner. I would definitely recommend the sustainability tour, which answers all the questions you may have about the water systems and projects at the lodge. The real difference with Jicaro is the level of attention and attitude of the staff - it makes what could have been a great experience into a truly spectacular one. Despite the many tours and packages we offer, we didn't want to leave the island for the whole weekend - it was just too lovely sitting by the pool and enjoying tea and books on our deck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada

Address: Granda Isletas, Granada 100, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed in harmony with the surrounding nature and local community, Jicaro Island Ecolodge is Nicaragua's most upscale nature resort located on a private island in Lake Nicaragua. Nine private two-story casitas serve as the perfect setting for romantic escapes and wellness retreats on this secluded island getaway. The open kitchen serves Nicaraguan fusion cuisine using local and organic ingredients in an open air setting overlooking Mombacho volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Hotel Granada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.