We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel America

Hotel America
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel America
Save
You added Hotel America to your Saves list
La Calzada | Parque Central 2 1/2 C. Al Lago, Granada 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Granada
Colwyn Bay
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here as part of a group. Despite being in a central location it was quiet and comfortable with aircon and hot water in the en suite shower. The free breakfast was typical Nicaragua with eggs, rice and beans. Excellent laundry service around the corner.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a complicated situation with not being able to find our other hotel. So, in the rain we were scrambling to find something else. The man at the front desk of Hotel America was friendly and helpful plus the price was right.

While we did have air conditioning, the room itself was filthy. There were cobwebs on the ceiling fan, dead bugs on the sheets and more bugs/cobwebs in the shower. The floor could have been dirt instead of old tile because it was so filthy. The toilet did not flush appropriately either.

For breakfast, we had two pieces of white toast and coffee. That's it. We were told we'd have a traditional Nicaraguan breakfast but we ended up going to a restaurant.

We liked the wi-fi and the friendly people. However, we won't be returning because it was so filthy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had booked at another hotel but when we got there the price had somehow managed to change so we decided to walk around a bit and found this place. It is right on the main street in a good location and the people at the front were really friendly and went out of their way to help us out. Our room was really basic but clean and the A/C worked good. For the price this place is a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FLorida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Good service, good breakfast (included). Rooms are small and dark but there is hot water.

Room Tip: Back of the courtyard are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Arrived here after horror of another hotel close by. For a few more USD you got aircon, clean rooms, clean sheets, comfy beds, and a peaceful quiet oasis a doorstep away from the delightful craziness of the street outside. Best of Both worlds! Friendly service, gorgeous garden courtyard, lovely breezeway. Secure.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Saved us as our original place was plagued with bed bugs and loud! Simple but nice. Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 34 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.3 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#12 of 34 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#21 of 34 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#22 of 34 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#9 of 34 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: La Calzada | Parque Central 2 1/2 C. Al Lago, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to rest and enjoy your vacations. With an excellent location. Personalized attention. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.